Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2022, 03:12 PM   #1
dholley
Mr. Blinky
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Montgomery, Texas
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 87
Default Vizio TV E470VL SMPS Flucuation Output Voltage

Would someone please help troubleshoot a Vizio 47" TV Switch Mode Power Supply with 5 volt output fluctuating voltage. The voltage fluctuates at 5 the volt output and at the Pulse Switch Modulating IC at VCC. I have the following notes:

1. The 3 main filter caps all have approximately 167 volts steady
2. I have replaced 4 mosfets next to what I think is called the inventor transformer (big black transformer) pictures attached
3. I have replaced Fuse F102 with an equivalent
4. I have check all diodes and caps and they seem to be ok
5. I replaced the 431 chip at U201

Pictures attached for reference

thank you for your help!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Top of SMPS.jpg (800.8 KB, 60 views)
File Type: jpg Bottom of SMPS.jpg (719.9 KB, 29 views)
File Type: jpg Top One Third 120 Input Side.jpg (617.1 KB, 25 views)
File Type: jpg Top One Third Middle.jpg (697.0 KB, 28 views)
File Type: jpg Bottom Left.jpg (783.7 KB, 21 views)
File Type: jpg Bottom Right.jpg (727.2 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg Top One Third Opposite 120 input side.jpg (646.8 KB, 21 views)

Last edited by SMDFlea; 01-21-2022 at 02:27 AM.. Reason: E470VL
dholley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 03:29 PM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,418
Default Re: Vizio TV SMPS Flucuation Output Voltage

opto isolator(s)
feedback sets the output, if the feedback is screwed then the output will be screwed.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 04:28 PM   #3
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 7,982
Default Re: Vizio TV SMPS Flucuation Output Voltage

Is F102 the main fuse? was it open (blown)?
Have you tried replacing C104 & C105?

Last edited by R_J; 01-20-2022 at 04:35 PM..
R_J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 06:53 PM   #4
dholley
Mr. Blinky
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Montgomery, Texas
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 87
Default Re: Vizio TV SMPS Flucuation Output Voltage

F102 is not the main fuse. It was open. It is near one of the big filter capacitors, C809.
My ESR meter shows C104 & C105 to be ok. Should I test with capacitance meter?
dholley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 07:16 PM   #5
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7,659
Default Re: Vizio TV SMPS Flucuation Output Voltage

Touch up some of those solder joints.
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 07:27 PM   #6
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 7,982
Default Re: Vizio TV SMPS Flucuation Output Voltage

Ok, I see which fuse it is, What voltage do you get on the 12 volt output? It is supplied by the same transformer so maybe it is loaded down and effecting the +5 volts as well.
R_J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 07:30 PM   #7
dholley
Mr. Blinky
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Montgomery, Texas
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 87
Default Re: Vizio TV SMPS Flucuation Output Voltage

I don’t think it is on. Can you tell me how to jump the pins to turn it on or is there another place I can measure that will accommodate your request?
dholley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 07:43 PM   #8
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 7,982
Default Re: Vizio TV SMPS Flucuation Output Voltage

It is hard to trace the circuit using pictures, I will guess there is a transistor that switches the +12 volts, likely the to220 next to C201.
It would seem ic101 is shutting down, what is the number on ic101?
The pin to turn on the power supply seems to be STANDBY, but I don't know if it needs to be grounded or taken to +5v with a 1k resistor.
The ON/OFF pin seems to be for the backlight circuit
R_J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 07:47 PM   #9
dholley
Mr. Blinky
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Montgomery, Texas
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 87
Default Re: Vizio TV SMPS Flucuation Output Voltage

I just measured, there is NO 5 volt or 12 output. The 5 volt was fluctuating from 3 to 4 volts but is now 0 volts. The big capacitors were at 167 volts they are now at 171 volts. I don’t know what happened.
dholley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 08:01 PM   #10
dholley
Mr. Blinky
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Montgomery, Texas
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 87
Default Re: Vizio TV SMPS Flucuation Output Voltage

When say Ic101, do you mean U101? If yes that is the pulse modulating chip. 00465R
dholley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 08:02 PM   #11
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 7,982
Default Re: Vizio TV SMPS Flucuation Output Voltage

Did that fuse you installed go open again? Yes that should have been U101, I think that is FSQ0465R

Last edited by R_J; 01-20-2022 at 08:24 PM..
R_J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 08:22 PM   #12
dholley
Mr. Blinky
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Montgomery, Texas
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 87
Default Re: Vizio TV SMPS Flucuation Output Voltage

The fuse is good. I think you are correct Q0465R
dholley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 08:26 PM   #13
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 7,982
Default Re: Vizio TV SMPS Flucuation Output Voltage

If you have 165vdc on u101, pin 1 (drain) I suspect the ic is bad
R_J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 08:33 PM   #14
dholley
Mr. Blinky
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Montgomery, Texas
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 87
Default Re: Vizio TV SMPS Flucuation Output Voltage

Using a big cap for negative, red lead of multimeter to pin one of the IC, there is a huge fluctuation anywhere from 34 to 151 volts
dholley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 08:37 PM   #15
dholley
Mr. Blinky
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Montgomery, Texas
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 87
Default Re: Vizio TV SMPS Flucuation Output Voltage

I had the multi meter set incorrectly, the voltage is 170.1 volts
dholley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 08:40 PM   #16
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 7,982
Default Re: Vizio TV SMPS Flucuation Output Voltage

Check the u101 vcc voltage, if 0 check that zd104 zener diode is not shorted, Also check that R105 is not open

Last edited by R_J; 01-20-2022 at 08:43 PM..
R_J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 08:45 PM   #17
dholley
Mr. Blinky
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Montgomery, Texas
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 87
Default Re: Vizio TV SMPS Flucuation Output Voltage

It is a fuseable resistor at 0.10 ohms. Did You see my previous post 170.1 volts at the drain?
dholley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 08:46 PM   #18
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 7,982
Default Re: Vizio TV SMPS Flucuation Output Voltage

Quote:
Originally Posted by dholley View Post
It is a fuseable resistor at 0.10 ohms. Did You see my previous post 170.1 volts at the drain?
I edited my post after seeing yours

You can check the voltage one each side of R102 (using hot ground, main cap negative) one side will be 165vdc the other side will be the ic's str voltage that supplies the internal vcc startup cell, this needs to be above +12vdc and usually around 20vdc

Last edited by R_J; 01-20-2022 at 09:04 PM..
R_J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 09:01 PM   #19
dholley
Mr. Blinky
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Montgomery, Texas
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 87
Default Re: Vizio TV SMPS Flucuation Output Voltage

VCC Fluctuates between 9 and 11 volts, zd104 is not shorted, r105 is not open testing in circuit
dholley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 09:06 PM   #20
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 7,982
Default Re: Vizio TV SMPS Flucuation Output Voltage

Quote:
Originally Posted by dholley View Post
VCC Fluctuates between 9 and 11 volts, zd104 is not shorted, r105 is not open testing in circuit
This tells me the ic is supplying the startup vcc but T201 is not supplying the run voltage.
Check the voltage On D102 cathode, that should be around 20v
R_J is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:54 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?