Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Equipment Usage, Soldering, Techniques, and Reviews
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools
Old 02-24-2016, 06:32 PM   #81
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,409
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

more improvements
details here:
https://github.com/svn2github/transi...commits/master
Attached Files
File Type: zip GM328A ESR tester (SVN649).zip (84.2 KB, 30 views)
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 04:59 PM   #82
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,409
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

get ready for - optocoupler testing!
soon.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 02:13 AM   #83
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,409
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

now tests optocouplers.
Attached Files
File Type: zip GM328A ESR tester (SVN656).zip (91.8 KB, 67 views)
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 12:01 PM   #84
xelectech
retired tech
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
City & State: NC
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 240/120VAC single phase 60hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 236
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
now tests optocouplers.
Dam, that's impressive! Have you thought any about selling one of those with the software loaded? How much would you want/have to get for one?
xelectech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 01:13 PM   #85
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,409
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

not worth it, if you take the china price and add European postage to forward it, you damn well ad 50% to the price before you even add the programming header & rotary encoder & crystal.

you would be doubling the original price by the time your done!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 01:27 PM   #86
xelectech
retired tech
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
City & State: NC
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 240/120VAC single phase 60hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 236
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
not worth it, if you take the china price and add European postage to forward it, you damn well ad 50% to the price before you even add the programming header & rotary encoder & crystal.

you would be doubling the original price by the time your done!
I understand - still, sounds like a totally excellent piece of test equipment!
xelectech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 04:14 PM   #87
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,409
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

maybe the chinese should include the header and faster crystal - then sell a bundle with the programmer.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 04:26 PM   #88
xelectech
retired tech
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
City & State: NC
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 240/120VAC single phase 60hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 236
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
maybe the chinese should include the header and faster crystal - then sell a bundle with the programmer.
That would be cool - the prices they pay for this kind of stuff must be mind boggling...
xelectech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 10:13 AM   #89
roko
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
City & State: Spain
My Country: Barcelona
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

hi.
When upgrade to 16 mhz crystal , need to change fuses values?
roko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 03:38 PM   #90
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,409
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

no, but if you didnt flash before then the chip will be erased to clear the locks.
fuse values are in the avrdude text file.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 03:42 PM   #91
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,409
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

here is a new build.
same code as before, but an extra version with no serial but nice fonts restored.
Attached Files
File Type: zip GM328A ESR tester (SVN656).zip (133.7 KB, 41 views)
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2016, 12:25 AM   #92
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,409
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

i have an important question to anybody using or planning to use these testers.

what frequency's do you use or need from the frequency generator?
because i'm making large changes to it to save space.
i have a private test version that just generates 50Hz, 60Hz, 100Hz, 120Hz.
these frequency's are mains derivatives that can be used when testing things that time themselves from the mains like clocks.
(or comodore 64's!)

so lets hear it - what do you need?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2016, 09:43 PM   #93
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,409
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

bugfixes & worthy stuff.
16MHz build has the big fonts and serial port back now.
Attached Files
File Type: zip GM328A ESR tester (SVN658).zip (90.3 KB, 27 views)
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2016, 07:13 AM   #94
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,052
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Would it be possible to get it to 32Mhz or is that beyond the abilities of the controller?
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."
Per Hansson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2016, 08:05 AM   #95
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,409
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

the atmel is rated at 20MHz, i know they have been o.c.'d to 40MHz+ but the problem is the slowest part - the ADC is the bit we need to work right!

in theory it could be clocked at 20MHz but the timings in the code are only for 1, 8 & 16MHz right now.
dont ask me why it's got timings for 1MHz.

*maybe it could be o.c.'d to 24MHz wihout problems - that's a nice number (8x3) so probably not to hard to work out the values needed.

Last edited by stj; 03-04-2016 at 08:07 AM..
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2016, 08:15 AM   #96
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,409
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

i emailed the master about the 24MHz idea - we shall see what he says.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 08:36 AM   #97
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,409
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

version 661
some bug fixes, + i added the instrument tuning frequency 432Hz to the generator.
Attached Files
File Type: zip GM328A ESR tester (SVN661).zip (91.7 KB, 33 views)
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 10:07 AM   #98
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,052
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Ok cool, would be really useful with a tester for 32Mhz crystals since they are so common on mainboards.
See here for an example

http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...415#post539415
Per Hansson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 11:46 AM   #99
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,409
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

for that, use a uni-t ut61E or one of these.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/181573121672

even if you overclock the atmel on the component tester to 24MHz and it works, you wont read crystals higher than about 22MHz
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 10:01 AM   #100
xelectech
retired tech
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
City & State: NC
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 240/120VAC single phase 60hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 236
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Could someone tell me if the following item could be used to program one of the atmega168
or atmega328 chips?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Basic-Starte...-/331675682733

TIA
xelectech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:22 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?