Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Equipment Usage, Soldering, Techniques, and Reviews
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools
Old 06-10-2016, 08:37 AM   #161
bc989
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
City & State: My
My Country: Asia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
can you double-check those pads, they use that to program them after assembly.
Looking at the schematic and comparing to different high-res T3/T4 on google image is making me think my clone got the RESET connection wrong.

I attach 2 better pics to show difference. The 2nd pic (mine) has a via that goes to pin 30 that other T3/T4 don't use.

Thinking I should cut and reroute it to the correct pin 29.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg T3.jpg (45.9 KB, 42 views)
File Type: jpg Mine.jpg (96.7 KB, 45 views)
bc989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 08:52 AM   #162
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,425
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

there are a few bad points on that board.
i would replace the TL431 with an LM4040, and use a 3v3 regulator instead of the pair of diodes top-center.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 02:00 AM   #163
bc989
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
City & State: My
My Country: Asia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Thanks, hope a stable 3v3 will stabilize the LCD and fix the flickering while testing.

Also got the rotary encoder (green color) why it needs so much force to push down compared to original button? Surely sore fingers after many component test. Are rotary encoder this hard to press?
bc989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 03:57 AM   #164
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,425
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

you dont want it geting pressed by accident.
and it's intended to have a knob fitted.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 05:08 AM   #165
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,366
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

stj is this kit ok in your opinion
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3318737413...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 05:19 AM   #166
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,425
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

looks about the same as the banggood one, cant tell if either have protection diodes though.
but the price is very good.

i still cant understand why the chinese arent using 16MHz crystals yet.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 05:36 AM   #167
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,366
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

cheers i will order one its in a kit form so will give me something too do can these be upgraded?
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 07:20 AM   #168
bc989
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
City & State: My
My Country: Asia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

stj, finally got to test your 'T4 ESR tester (testing v1).zip' from page 6. Its not compatible on mine, just a blank screen.

The ones from the russian site are not working too.

Only after trying some more on https://github.com/svn2github/transistortester did I find 3 that displayed something except its all flipped, mirror vertically and horizontally in all ways except the right way. The one that is still readable upside down is "mega328_st7565".

Guess I need to play with the Makefile and compile it myself.

Last edited by bc989; 06-13-2016 at 07:22 AM..
bc989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 08:48 AM   #169
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,425
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

blank screen could be the contrast setting - i had that issue when i started doing this stuff.

about upgrading,
the biggest upgrade is probably the crystal.
a 16MHz crystal means you can also test crystals and resonators upto about 12MHz

other than that,
replacing the 1117 / 7805 regulator with an mcp1702 lets you run the living hell out of the battery until it's only got about 5.6v left in it!!

replacing a zener diode or 431 voltage reference with an lm4040 will increase accuracy.

the other thing i'm working on - a relay that switches a cap across the socket for testing small inductors.
sounds simple, but the cap must be stable - mine is 2%, and the relay should have a magnetic shield or it will mess with the inductor being tested.

Last edited by stj; 06-13-2016 at 08:50 AM..
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 09:00 AM   #170
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,366
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

so when i get mine i will take measurements of the crystal and voltage regulator and order upgrades do i need to programme the board for the crystal to work correctly?
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 09:04 AM   #171
GoNz0
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
City & State: Ilkeston
My Country: United Kingdom
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 28
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
blank screen could be the contrast setting - i had that issue when i started doing this stuff.

about upgrading,
the biggest upgrade is probably the crystal.
a 16MHz crystal means you can also test crystals and resonators upto about 12MHz

other than that,
replacing the 1117 / 7805 regulator with an mcp1702 lets you run the living hell out of the battery until it's only got about 5.6v left in it!!

replacing a zener diode or 431 voltage reference with an lm4040 will increase accuracy.

the other thing i'm working on - a relay that switches a cap across the socket for testing small inductors.
sounds simple, but the cap must be stable - mine is 2%, and the relay should have a magnetic shield or it will mess with the inductor being tested.
Will I be able to do all this with the banggood kit?

Thanks.
GoNz0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 11:33 AM   #172
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,425
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

to both of you - yes.
the normal crystal is 8MHz, you just swap it out.

same with the regulator and reference - although you need to check the pinouts to get the replacement the right way around.

if you change the crystal, you need to change the software.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 12:41 AM   #173
bc989
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
City & State: My
My Country: Asia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Ok for my unknown nameless Mtester clone, I got the display back by removing from your Makefile, just this one line:

Code:
CFLAGS += -DSTRIP_GRID_BOARD
also to stop the compiler from choking, had to change function_menu.c line 133 to:

Code:
uint8_t function_menu() {
bc989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 04:57 AM   #174
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,425
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

strange, you talking about a compiler warning or a compiler error?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 05:17 AM   #175
bc989
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
City & State: My
My Country: Asia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

This is what it showed, pointing to function_menu.c, so I simply changed it.

Code:
$ make
avr-gcc  -Wall -DWITH_MENU -DWITH_CONTRAST -DWITH_ROTARY_SWITCH=2 -DCHANGE_ROTARY_DIRECTION -DFOUR_LINE_LCD -DLCD_ST7565_H_OFFSET=0 -DVOLUME_VALUE=48 -DFONT_7X12 -DICON_TYPE=3 -DBIG_TP -DSTRIP_GRID_BOARD -DWITH_SELFTEST -DAUTO_CAL -DWITH_UJT -DWITH_PUT -DWITH_AUTO_REF -DREF_C_KORR=12 -DREF_L_KORR=40 -DC_H_KORR=0 -DWITH_UART -DRMETER_WITH_L -DCAP_EMPTY_LEVEL=4 -DAUTOSCALE_ADC -DREF_R_KORR=3 -DESR_ZERO=20 -DNO_AREF_CAP -DUSE_EEPROM -DPULLUP_DISABLE -DANZ_MESS=25 -DPOWER_OFF -DBAT_CHECK -DBAT_OUT=3 -DBAT_POOR=6400 -DBAT_NUMERATOR=133 -DBAT_DENOMINATOR=33 -mcall-prologues -DLCD_ST_TYPE=7565 -DLCD_ST7565_RESISTOR_RATIO=4 -DF_CPU=8000000UL -DMHZ_CPU=8 -mmcu=atmega328p -gdwarf-2 -std=gnu99 -Os -funsigned-char -funsigned-bitfields -fpack-struct -fshort-enums -MD -MP -MT function_menu.o -MF dep/function_menu.o.d  -DSamplingADC -c  ../function_menu.c
../function_menu.c:133:6: error: conflicting types for 'function_menu'
 void function_menu() {
      ^
In file included from ../Transistortester.h:12:0,
                 from ../function_menu.c:5:
../tt_function.h:49:9: note: previous declaration of 'function_menu' was here
 uint8_t function_menu();   // menu for selecting extra function
         ^
make: *** [../finish.mk:13: function_menu.o] Error 1
Fyi I'm using Atmel toolchain.
bc989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 06:26 AM   #176
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,425
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

what gcc version?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 07:27 AM   #177
bc989
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
City & State: My
My Country: Asia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

avr-gcc.exe (AVR_8_bit_GNU_Toolchain_3.5.2_1680) 4.9.2
bc989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 07:45 AM   #178
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,425
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

hmm. i'm using 4.8.1

you need to be carefull, the newer versions create larger files.
upload your makefile.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 10:29 AM   #179
bc989
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
City & State: My
My Country: Asia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Yes its bigger by a bit.

ok Makefile attached with that 1 line remarked out and the hex/eep in case anyone with the same model as mine wants to try.
Attached Files
File Type: zip original 8MHz.zip (42.0 KB, 29 views)

Last edited by bc989; 06-14-2016 at 10:32 AM.. Reason: attachments
bc989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 10:46 AM   #180
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,425
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

is the contrast right, or do you have to fine-tune it from the menu?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:02 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?