Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Power Supplies and Power Supply Design
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools
Old 08-17-2014, 06:51 AM   #1001
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,298
Default Re: the gutless, bloated, and fried power supply hall of shame

is the case also a total pile of shit to match?
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 08:01 AM   #1002
everell
Badcaps Veteran
 
everell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
City & State: Williamsburg, Virginia
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,222
Default Re: the gutless, bloated, and fried power supply hall of shame

Quote:
Originally Posted by SIDMX View Post
This is a classic LC with the "chip-of-the-year," yeah I know, there are enough LCs here but I feel the need to post it because this one came pre-installed in a NEW computer case (TrueBasix brand) so it SHOULD BE A NEW P/S right? ...maybe a crappy one, but NEW nonetheless, well...Not this time!
It's not just old, it's used, awfully repaired, not even cleaned, corroded, and ALL caps have date codes from 2004.
Does this thing actually work? Perhaps the seller removed a good power supply from the new case and replaced it with this one because he knew no one would want it!
__________________
Old proverb say.........If you shoot at nothing, you will hit nothing (George Henry 10-14-11)
everell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 04:16 PM   #1003
SIDMX
Senior Member
 
SIDMX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
City & State: Tamaulipas
My Country: Mexico
Line Voltage: 115VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 130
Default Re: the gutless, bloated, and fried power supply hall of shame

Quote:
Originally Posted by goodpsusearch View Post
This is their 2003 design! How did it end up being sold as a 2012/2013 product?
Lack of ethics? Whoever TrueBasix's supplier is they know that TB can't verify each box (but I do), I wonder how many of these are out there actually powering a system.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc8adu View Post
is the case also a total pile of shit to match?
Not really, it's a cheapo uATX case but the quality is nowhere as bad as the P/S, these cases usually came with very low end KeyMouse units inside very similar to this one but this is the first one that I've seen with an LC.
Quote:
Originally Posted by everell View Post
Does this thing actually work? Perhaps the seller removed a good power supply from the new case and replaced it with this one because he knew no one would want it!
The box was sealed so my guess is the supplier is screwing TrueBasix from time to time, It "works" with no load and all voltages where good, but that's as far as I tested.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg sticker.jpg (144.5 KB, 60 views)
File Type: jpg TrueBasix.jpg (111.6 KB, 53 views)
SIDMX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 09:46 PM   #1004
momaka
master hoarder
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 10,862
Default Re: the gutless, bloated, and fried power supply hall of shame

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pentium4 View Post
Oh boy, what a shame with this one. It had potential! ... but my main gripe is probably easy to guess...the output filtering! Where is it?
Yes, shame indeed. Those extruded and cut heatsinks are rather good. Probably could do 300W continuous no problem. The rectifiers are good too. Would easily power a modern low or mid-end PCl, because the 12V rail has potential (wait, that's a pun! ).

That said, you could still easily make it a usable PSU again. Since there is only a single cap for the 12V and 5V rails, looks like you have a lot of space there. Maybe change those caps with 12.5 mm ones? That gives you the option to put a 3300 uF 16V cap on the 12V rail and a 3300 uF or 4700 uF on the 5V rail. The 3.3V, of course, should be more than happy with two 2200 uF caps (and if the PSU won't be powering a power-hungry motherboard, you could probably go as low as two 1500 uF caps).

As behemoth suggested, though, I too wouldn't recommend you put big filter caps on the 12V rail where the fan connectors are. With the long traces going to those connectors, you may introduce undesirable noise in other nearby traces, and that may or may not cause problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pentium4 View Post
First time I have ever seen a 5VSB filter not have a coil!
Those coils on the 5VSB probably don't make a overly-huge difference in suppressing output ripple anyways. But I'm sure it helps with the ripple current on the caps, though.
Looks like you could install one. The jumper in position L4 (or is it J9?... or J10?) right next to the output caps could be replaced with a coil.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pentium4 View Post
... or H.Q. (which does not stand for High Quality )

More likely, it stands for Horrible Quality

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pentium4 View Post
Looking at the solder side, it looks pretty darn good.
Wow, that is clean work!

Last edited by momaka; 08-17-2014 at 09:52 PM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 06:23 AM   #1005
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,691
Default Re: the gutless, bloated, and fried power supply hall of shame

Well, you can put 3300uF 16V caps in D10 there as well, the Samxon RS, soon also NCC KZN…in D12,5 I think you can get as high as 3900 or 4700 uF in 16 V.
__________________
Less jewellery, more gold into electrotech industry! Half of the computer problems is caused by bad contacts

Exclusive caps, meters and more!
Hardware Insights - power supply reviews and more!
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2014, 02:45 PM   #1006
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: Idaho
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,216
Default Re: the gutless, bloated, and fried power supply hall of shame

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
More likely, it stands for Horrible Quality

Quote:
As behemoth suggested, though, I too wouldn't recommend you put big filter caps on the 12V rail where the fan connectors are. With the long traces going to those connectors, you may introduce undesirable noise in other nearby traces, and that may or may not cause problem.
Makes sense. I was mostly curious. I wonder if something like a 220F 16V Rubycon ZLH would improve the ripple at all? It's a small cap but can still handle 540mA

Quote:
Those coils on the 5VSB probably don't make a overly-huge difference in suppressing output ripple anyways. But I'm sure it helps with the ripple current on the caps, though.
Still! Just shows how cheap they are.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Behemot View Post
Well, you can put 3300uF 16V caps in D10 there as well, the Samxon RS, soon also NCC KZNin D12,5 I think you can get as high as 3900 or 4700 uF in 16 V.
I have Panasonic FR 4700F 16V D12.5mm but that might be too low for the PSU? ESR for that cap is 0.012Ω
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2014, 02:49 PM   #1007
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,691
Default Re: the gutless, bloated, and fried power supply hall of shame

Just try. As there is no Pi filter, who knows, it can probably handle a lot…
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 02:19 PM   #1008
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: Idaho
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,216
Default Coolmax CA-450

Fan seized in this thing, which was causing the computer to shut down. Man, this thing is pretty bad. Looks like it is made by ATNG? Those Y caps and X cap are safety approved. At least I'll get a few useful parts out of it The BR is 4A, NTC rated at 5A, 330F Micon primary caps (They actually read 330F too!) 13007 transistors, 33 transformer, 20A for 5V, 12A for 12V, 20A for 3.3V. Pretty lousy, no PI coil on 12V or 5V, Mostly GoldLink caps, some Micon in there too. Looking at the soldering side, how embarrassing. Maybe this thing was RMA'd and hand fixed? All those sloppy joints (one with a lifted pad) are on the 5VSB transformer. Not going to bother fixing this one, just going to take some parts and throw it away.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMAG0486.jpg (1.11 MB, 92 views)
File Type: jpg IMAG0487.jpg (1.21 MB, 125 views)
File Type: jpg IMAG0488.jpg (1.10 MB, 106 views)
File Type: jpg IMAG0492.jpg (1.16 MB, 104 views)
File Type: jpg IMAG0493.jpg (1.40 MB, 119 views)
File Type: jpg IMAG0494.jpg (2.52 MB, 75 views)
File Type: jpg IMAG0495.jpg (1.29 MB, 67 views)
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 02:28 PM   #1009
ben7
Capaholic
 
ben7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: Trenton, NJ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 240/120V 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,989
Default Re: Coolmax CA-450

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pentium4 View Post
Fan seized in this thing, which was causing the computer to shut down. Man, this thing is pretty bad. Looks like it is made by ATNG? Those Y caps and X cap are safety approved. At least I'll get a few useful parts out of it The BR is 4A, NTC rated at 5A, 330F Micon primary caps (They actually read 330F too!) 13007 transistors, 33 transformer, 20A for 5V, 12A for 12V, 20A for 3.3V. Pretty lousy, no PI coil on 12V or 5V, Mostly GoldLink caps, some Micon in there too. Looking at the soldering side, how embarrassing. Maybe this thing was RMA'd and hand fixed? All those sloppy joints (one with a lifted pad) are on the 5VSB transformer. Not going to bother fixing this one, just going to take some parts and throw it away.
HMMM, Wait, don't throw it away yet!

The other day I found a fake EMI filter inductor in my inductor box, and yours looks just like the one I found. It was quite lightweight, and when I unwound it, and took the plastic shells apart, there was no ferrite inside!!!!
__________________
Muh-soggy-knee
ben7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 02:38 PM   #1010
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,691
Default Re: the gutless, bloated, and fried power supply hall of shame

Definitelly not ATNG, some generic chinese crap, I've seen similar ones. ATNG uses different heatsinks for a start.
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 03:12 PM   #1011
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: Idaho
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,216
Default Re: the gutless, bloated, and fried power supply hall of shame

Maybe it's Long Yi Electronics.

Quote:
The other day I found a fake EMI filter inductor in my inductor box, and yours looks just like the one I found. It was quite lightweight, and when I unwound it, and took the plastic shells apart, there was no ferrite inside!!!!
Thanks for the heads up! I wasn't going to reuse it, I have plenty of ferrite coils lying around. Care to post a picture though?
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 03:24 PM   #1012
ben7
Capaholic
 
ben7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: Trenton, NJ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 240/120V 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,989
Default Re: the gutless, bloated, and fried power supply hall of shame

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pentium4 View Post
Thanks for the heads up! I wasn't going to reuse it, I have plenty of ferrite coils lying around. Care to post a picture though?
Nothing really to see, since I didn't take a picture before I unwound it...

I was sorting things and did a double-take, I realized that choke was suspiciously lightweight... inspected it, then I unwound it...
FYI, the choke needs the ferrite to work as intended, it is a common mode choke.
ben7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 08:57 PM   #1013
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: Idaho
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,216
Default Jin yuan 400z

Here's another junker. It's pretty terrible, but not the worst I've ever seen. If you add up all the rails' wattage on the label, it comes out to 275W Of course there's almost no input filtering to speak of, with the usual missing components and unapproved Y caps. The caps are 330F branded "HTC" transistors are 13007. Transformer looks like 33, it's pretty small but it's silkscreened for an even smaller transformer!!! One of the few positives, it doesn't use a 2 transistor 5VSB. Looks like it uses that single toroid for all the rails, for mega group regulation. It seems that the 5V rail and 3.3V rail share the 30A shottky and the 40A FET just steps the 5V down for the 3.3V. 12V uses a 16A ultra fast. Soldering looks good, minus on some of the silicon. The only other pro for this thing is the fan. Can't find jack shit about it though. It's hooked straight to 12V, but it's actually very silent and moves a lot of air. Plenty oil in the bearing too, and it's actually oil, not grease.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMAG0518.jpg (1.16 MB, 82 views)
File Type: jpg IMAG0519.jpg (891.8 KB, 86 views)
File Type: jpg IMAG0520.jpg (1.21 MB, 96 views)
File Type: jpg IMAG0523.jpg (832.8 KB, 78 views)
File Type: jpg IMAG0521.jpg (1.39 MB, 84 views)
File Type: jpg IMAG0524.jpg (2.28 MB, 54 views)

Last edited by Pentium4; 08-28-2014 at 08:59 PM.. Reason: Typo
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 12:44 AM   #1014
SIDMX
Senior Member
 
SIDMX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
City & State: Tamaulipas
My Country: Mexico
Line Voltage: 115VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 130
Default Re: the gutless, bloated, and fried power supply hall of shame

Yeah crappy indeed, specially the lack of output coils and/or place to install them, but, interesting in some ways like the 5VSB switcher, it has a weird numbering on it, resembling a Unisonic part but the "WY" logo is not from Unisonic, probably a knockoff, P/S controller chip it's the Silan's version of SG6105 but IIRC Silan already have one version, the SD6109 .
Samwei caps? never seen or heard that brand, seems like all caps are SGF series.
Main transformer doesn't look that bad, I mean, we all have seen smaller ones, if it weren't for the lack of output coils I could trust it to power a very low power system like those onboard atom/celeron/APU after a proper recap.

edit- I've posted all Samwei DS in the cap depot thread.

Last edited by SIDMX; 08-29-2014 at 12:56 AM.. Reason: link to ds.
SIDMX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 10:03 AM   #1015
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: Idaho
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,216
Default Re: the gutless, bloated, and fried power supply hall of shame

Wow you know what, I'm so used to seeing ChengX in that green/gold sleeve that I didn't even notice that they're SAMWEI Never seen them before either.

And here's a size comparison, that transformer is a lot smaller than the earlier pictures resemble.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMAG0528.jpg (1.14 MB, 813 views)
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 12:07 PM   #1016
SIDMX
Senior Member
 
SIDMX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
City & State: Tamaulipas
My Country: Mexico
Line Voltage: 115VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 130
Default Re: the gutless, bloated, and fried power supply hall of shame

Yeah at first sight I took them for ChengX too .
Ah!... that winding is tiny! it is using like half the space available in that core, still could be enough for Atom boards, but it is definitely crappier than I thought.
At least is not a real joke like this one that I found in an LC.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PHOTO_20140816_201449.jpg (1.35 MB, 105 views)

Last edited by SIDMX; 08-29-2014 at 12:09 PM..
SIDMX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 12:20 PM   #1017
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: Idaho
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,216
Default Re: the gutless, bloated, and fried power supply hall of shame

WHAT! That was a main transformer?! That's pitiful At least with these cheap heatsinks, I will be able to break them down into a few bridge rectifier heatsinks Also...I wonder if you could cut out just the 5VSB section with the 8 pin IC, and make an "everell style" 5VSB mod?
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 01:32 PM   #1018
SIDMX
Senior Member
 
SIDMX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
City & State: Tamaulipas
My Country: Mexico
Line Voltage: 115VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 130
Default Re: the gutless, bloated, and fried power supply hall of shame

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pentium4 View Post
...I wonder if you could cut out just the 5VSB section with the 8 pin IC, and make an "everell style" 5VSB mod?
Cutting the circuit shouldn't be a problem, but you'll need to ID that switcher and get the DS to understand what (if any) changes are needed to successfully "implant" it into another P/S, also note that the feedback for SB is done using one of the two built-in shunt regulators (TL431) in the SC6105 chip.
SIDMX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 08:48 PM   #1019
momaka
master hoarder
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 10,862
Default Re: the gutless, bloated, and fried power supply hall of shame

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pentium4 View Post
And here's a size comparison, that transformer is a lot smaller than the earlier pictures resemble.
that's not a size "35" transformer! Heck, I'll say not even 33. Looks like a "28"-er. Probably good enough for 150W continuous. 200W would be kind of pushing it.

Althoug that Jin Yuan has no space for PI coils on the secondary side, it looks like there is a lot of space next to the caps and the tracks for the rails on the solder side are wide enough, so they could technically be cut up and have a PI coil added.
But meh... why bother with that. Just use the parts to fix up a better PSU .

Quote:
Originally Posted by SIDMX
At least is not a real joke like this one that I found in an LC.
As the guy from Two Stupid Dogs would say
-Aw, isn't that cute? But it's wrong!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pentium4 View Post
At least with these cheap heatsinks, I will be able to break them down into a few bridge rectifier heatsinks
I never thought of this. Genius!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pentium4 View Post
Also...I wonder if you could cut out just the 5VSB section with the 8 pin IC, and make an "everell style" 5VSB mod?
Yes, should be possible.
The easiest way would be to take the 5VSB transformer from this PSU as well, so that way you can transfer the entire 5VSB primary side on the new PSU. As for the feedback - almost all 5VSB circuits I've seen use a 431 shunt. Usually the compensation is a simple RC network and very similar between PSUs, so you may not have to change it all, unless the 5VSB has a hard time "keeping up" or overshooting with a load.

Last edited by momaka; 09-05-2014 at 08:49 PM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 02:58 PM   #1020
everell
Badcaps Veteran
 
everell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
City & State: Williamsburg, Virginia
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,222
Default Re: the gutless, bloated, and fried power supply hall of shame

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
:Yes, should be possible.
The easiest way would be to take the 5VSB transformer from this PSU as well, so that way you can transfer the entire 5VSB primary side on the new PSU. As for the feedback - almost all 5VSB circuits I've seen use a 431 shunt. Usually the compensation is a simple RC network and very similar between PSUs, so you may not have to change it all, unless the 5VSB has a hard time "keeping up" or overshooting with a load.
Yes, I have done it several times. Much more fun to experiment, and sometimes watch it blow up, than to simply fix someone else's computer!
everell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:42 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?