Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Laptops, Tablets, and Mobile Devices > BIOS Requests ONLY!
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2021, 09:33 AM   #1
Zentech
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
City & State: Florida
My Country: Usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 93
Default CH341A Unable to Read BIOS Chip on DA0R53MB6E1 Motherboard

Ok, I have a laptop motherboard who does not want to turn on. So I isolated the problem to either a BIOS or KBC problem. So I'm trying to read the software from the BIOS chip, and I get a wierd file. (all F's) I'm going to attached the file to this post. I'm using CH341A miniprogrammer usb board. And for the software, I'm using AsProgrammer v1.4.1. So I'm worried that BIOS software might have come corrupted, or it also could be that it is not reading from BIOS properly due to driver issues.
Power led is on and when I press read on software, the communication led comes on. However, when I try to read, is telling me to unprotect the chip first. This is first time doing this.
Motherboard: DA0R53MB6E1 Rev E R53
board schematic: http://www.s-manuals.com/pdf/motherb...schematics.pdf
BIOS Chip: EN25Q32B
AsProgrammer https://github.com/nofeletru/UsbAsp-flash/releases
CH341A usb board: https://rb.gy/6hj9ey
Attached Images
File Type: png bios.png (132.5 KB, 41 views)
Zentech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2021, 09:45 AM   #2
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 6,006
Default Re: Unable to Read BIOS Chip on Motherboard

Are you reading the chip off the board or in circuit ?
diif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2021, 09:45 AM   #3
ACS-Repair
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
City & State: Pickering Ontario
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 110
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 110
Default Re: Unable to Read BIOS Chip on Motherboard

A BIOS chip that has all "FF" means it's either erased or the programmer is not detecting the chip properly. The default memory buffer is all "FF" as well so it's not always easy to tell which it is. The error message you are getting might be telling you that the chip selection is not right. Double check or try the "Detect my chip" option.
ACS-Repair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2021, 09:59 AM   #4
Zentech
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
City & State: Florida
My Country: Usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 93
Default Re: Unable to Read BIOS Chip on Motherboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by diif View Post
Are you reading the chip off the board or in circuit ?
I tried both with same result... but now I soldered to a small board that came with usb board
Zentech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2021, 10:01 AM   #5
Zentech
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
City & State: Florida
My Country: Usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 93
Default Re: Unable to Read BIOS Chip on Motherboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by ACS-Repair View Post
A BIOS chip that has all "FF" means it's either erased or the programmer is not detecting the chip properly. The default memory buffer is all "FF" as well so it's not always easy to tell which it is. The error message you are getting might be telling you that the chip selection is not right. Double check or try the "Detect my chip" option.
I have "verify ic" button? is that the one you're talking about?
I click on that button and it seems to be reading the ic and then it gives me all F's

Last edited by Zentech; 04-08-2021 at 10:03 AM..
Zentech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2021, 10:15 AM   #6
Zentech
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
City & State: Florida
My Country: Usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 93
Default Re: Unable to Read BIOS Chip on Motherboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by ACS-Repair View Post
A BIOS chip that has all "FF" means it's either erased or the programmer is not detecting the chip properly. The default memory buffer is all "FF" as well so it's not always easy to tell which it is. The error message you are getting might be telling you that the chip selection is not right. Double check or try the "Detect my chip" option.
I tried "read ic" button the one with "?" mark and it is not detecting... this is what I get
Code:
Current programmer: CH341
ID(9F): FFFFFF(Unknown)
ID(90): FFFF(Unknown)
ID(AB): FF(Unknown)
ID(15): FFFF(Unknown)
if I select the chip model EN25Q32B and then I select "read ic" the one with an arrow -> then the button progress bar seems to be reading the ic, and I get all F's
Zentech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2021, 11:25 AM   #7
Stevedb
Stevedb
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
City & State: Schendelbeke/ East-Flanders
My Country: Belgium
Line Voltage: 240v ac
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 370
Default Re: Unable to Read BIOS Chip on Motherboard

Did you use the programmer before. Did you put the jumper at the right place.?

You can use this programma also Colibri and Neoprogrammer.

Can you sent picture of your programmer how you set it up and you must use auto detect the chip.


Good luck

Best regards

Steve
Attached Files
File Type: zip NeoProgrammer_2.1.0.19.zip (2.45 MB, 130 views)
File Type: rar Colibri.rar (1.34 MB, 172 views)
Stevedb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2021, 01:39 PM   #8
Zentech
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
City & State: Florida
My Country: Usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 93
Default Re: Unable to Read BIOS Chip on Motherboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevedb View Post
Did you use the programmer before. Did you put the jumper at the right place.?
I watched a few videos on youtube that addressed the jumper issue and I believe is on the right place... I will attached pic
Quote:
You can use this programma also Colibri and Neoprogrammer.
I will give those a try next
Quote:
Can you sent picture of your programmer how you set it up and you must use auto detect the chip.
I don't see an auto detect button on AsProgrammer
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 61HkzjHf0GL._AC_SL1001_.jpg (71.5 KB, 90 views)

Last edited by Zentech; 04-08-2021 at 01:46 PM..
Zentech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2021, 02:08 PM   #9
Zentech
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
City & State: Florida
My Country: Usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 93
Default Re: Unable to Read BIOS Chip on Motherboard

wouldn't be better to buy it already programmed.. I have not found anyone who offer the service. This has proven to be something that it doesn't work very stable.
Zentech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2021, 02:13 PM   #10
Zentech
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
City & State: Florida
My Country: Usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 93
Default Re: Unable to Read BIOS Chip on Motherboard

ok, I'm giving NeoProgrammer a go and I'm getting this message
Code:
Programmer for MCU, AVR, SPI FLASH/EEPROM, I2C, Microwire,  v2.1.0.19
Current programmer: CH341
IC not responding
Zentech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2021, 02:45 PM   #11
Stevedb
Stevedb
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
City & State: Schendelbeke/ East-Flanders
My Country: Belgium
Line Voltage: 240v ac
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 370
Default Re: Unable to Read BIOS Chip on Motherboard

Hi

Yes the jumper is on the right place. It is very strange that he didn't see your chip. Do light the lights on your usb programmer. Did you try also read another bioschip? Maybe this chip is faulty.

I got never had problems wit not reading the chip.
Stevedb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2021, 06:48 PM   #12
ACS-Repair
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
City & State: Pickering Ontario
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 110
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 110
Default Re: Unable to Read BIOS Chip on Motherboard

I haven't used the programmer you are using. I bought another inexpensive one on ebay called EZP2019. It's really more for hobby use but it has worked well for me.
ACS-Repair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2021, 02:52 AM   #13
Guilty_2121
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
City & State: Osmaniye
My Country: Türkiye
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 43
Default Re: Unable to Read BIOS Chip on Motherboard

if you are using cable between ch341a and chip, use it less than 3cm, check connections good. Don't let any weak pin connetions. when connections good you have to try other programs like neoprogrammer, asprogrammer or ch341 but different versions.
Guilty_2121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2021, 03:12 AM   #14
SMDFlea
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10,078
Default Re: Unable to Read BIOS Chip on Motherboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zentech View Post
ok, I'm giving NeoProgrammer a go and I'm getting this message
Code:
Programmer for MCU, AVR, SPI FLASH/EEPROM, I2C, Microwire,  v2.1.0.19
Current programmer: CH341
IC not responding
Have you checked if the board needs the 3.3V mod . https://www.chucknemeth.com/usb-devi.../3v-ch341a-mod
SMDFlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2021, 07:34 AM   #15
Zentech
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
City & State: Florida
My Country: Usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 93
Default Re: Unable to Read BIOS Chip on Motherboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guilty_2121 View Post
if you are using cable between ch341a and chip, use it less than 3cm, check connections good. Don't let any weak pin connetions. when connections good you have to try other programs like neoprogrammer, asprogrammer or ch341 but different versions.
I solder the chip onto the board that comes with the usb board, instead of using the cable. I tested continuity with the meter and is good, but it is not recognized by the program...
Zentech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2021, 11:41 AM   #16
j.bisous
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
City & State: Paris
My Country: France
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12
Default Re: Unable to Read BIOS Chip on Motherboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zentech View Post
I solder the chip onto the board that comes with the usb board, instead of using the cable. I tested continuity with the meter and is good, but it is not recognized by the program...
Did you checked the continuity between your board and the CH431A socket too? It can happen that there is a bad connection at this point. Try not to push it completely into the socket so it can fit properly when you close it.

Good luck.
j.bisous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2021, 08:16 AM   #17
Zentech
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
City & State: Florida
My Country: Usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 93
Default Re: Unable to Read BIOS Chip on Motherboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by SMDFlea View Post
Have you checked if the board needs the 3.3V mod . https://www.chucknemeth.com/usb-devi.../3v-ch341a-mod
I did the modification but still not reading/detecting the chip... any other ideas
Zentech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2021, 08:46 AM   #18
Zentech
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
City & State: Florida
My Country: Usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 93
Default Re: Unable to Read BIOS Chip on Motherboard

is there any way to verify on the programmer board that it is working?... does anyone has the schematic for ch341a
Zentech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2021, 08:58 AM   #19
Zentech
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
City & State: Florida
My Country: Usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 93
Default Re: Unable to Read BIOS Chip on Motherboard

I double checked the voltages of the chip while connected to ch341a and it has 3.3V in ping 8,7,3.. as specified on schematic... from there I don't know what else to check
Zentech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2021, 11:58 AM   #20
Zentech
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
City & State: Florida
My Country: Usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 93
Default Re: Unable to Read BIOS Chip on Motherboard

Finally got it working... thank all
Zentech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:23 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?