Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer & Tech Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2022, 07:30 AM   #1
pfrcom
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
City & State: Melbourne, Victoria
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240v
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,067
Default Reset/erase Hynix SC210 to factory default

Some Googling made this seem straightforward, but it ainít necessarily so:

First try was Hynix Drive Manager, supposed to be able to do PSID reset

In Win7 x86 context, what shoddy software Ė this greeted me first time I clicked it from Start menu:


After wild goose chase triggered by the OpenGL bit, I tried swapping graphics cards until penny dropped when it still objected to a Radeon HD3450

How I got it work:

1. Command prompt
2. Change to install directory \Program Files\SK Hynix Drive Manager
3. Copy d3dcompiler_47.dll taken from \Program Files\Mozilla Firefox of a Win10 x86 machine
4. Run skhms-drive-gui.exe

To be fair, in Win10 environment, the POS does run without issue

But still wonít reset SSD unless one knows its password (no sign of PSID reset option)

Next I tried EasyKit_WindowsInstaller_x64.exe from:
https://www.touslesdrivers.com/index...41&v_langue=en

This did have a PSID reset option, but it was greyed-out, making me think my SC210 doesnít support that

Then I started chasing down various HDPARM rabbit holes on the Internet

It soon became apparent that Dellís password algorithm is much more sophisticated than leaving a default value for master password

Next try was a couple of Dell password generators, both originating from hpgl, Russia

Unfortunately they didnít work either:

So now Iím SOL unless I can get a Dell password that works for the SC210

Any help most appreciated
Attached Images
File Type: jpg OpenGL_2-6.jpg (56.7 KB, 62 views)
File Type: jpg HynixSC210.jpg (602.3 KB, 49 views)
File Type: jpg Dell_BIOS_Password_Hack.jpg (82.5 KB, 62 views)
__________________
better to keep quiet and be thought a fool, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt

Last edited by SMDFlea; 04-24-2022 at 06:32 AM.. Reason: Thread title changed as requested by OP
pfrcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2022, 09:14 AM   #2
TechGeek
Computer Geek
 
TechGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: Nowhereland, Texas
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120/2/[email protected]
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,989
Default Re: Wasting life trying to reset/erase Hynix SC210 to factory default

Use hdparm to send the drive an ATA_SECURE_ERASE command. This not only wipes the drive, destroying all data on it, but also clears the password on the drive.
__________________
Don't buy those $10 PSU "specials". They fail, and they have taken whole computers with them.

My computer doubles as a space heater.

Windows 10? Only if you like forced, buggy updates and 24/7 telemetry.

Samsung = Seagate = Seatrash = Trashgate
Don't buy Seagate drives. Don't use Seagate drives. If you have any in service right now, make plans to replace them ASAP.

SMR = Slow Magnetic Recording
Avoid SMR, buy CMR drives instead. SMR is easily a 15+ year step BACKWARDS in HDD speed.

Permanently Retired Systems:
RIP Advantech UNO-3072LA (2008-2021) - Decommissioned and taken out of service permanently due to lack of software support for it. Not very likely to ever be recommissioned again.



TechGeek is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2022, 08:19 PM   #3
pfrcom
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
City & State: Melbourne, Victoria
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240v
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,067
Default Re: Wasting life trying to reset/erase Hynix SC210 to factory default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TechGeek View Post
Use hdparm to send the drive an ATA_SECURE_ERASE command. This not only wipes the drive, destroying all data on it, but also clears the password on the drive.
If only it was that simple ...

Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot.jpg (108.3 KB, 49 views)
pfrcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2022, 09:54 PM   #4
TechGeek
Computer Geek
 
TechGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: Nowhereland, Texas
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120/2/[email protected]
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,989
Default Re: Wasting life trying to reset/erase Hynix SC210 to factory default

How are you connecting the drive to the computer?
TechGeek is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2022, 12:34 AM   #5
pfrcom
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
City & State: Melbourne, Victoria
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240v
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,067
Default Re: Wasting life trying to reset/erase Hynix SC210 to factory default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TechGeek View Post
How are you connecting the drive to the computer?
Sata connector usually used by DVD drive

Dell BIOS seems to accommodate that alright - note in 2nd last pic, message says "system modular bay HDD is protected by a password"
pfrcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2022, 02:11 AM   #6
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,409
Default Re: Wasting life trying to reset/erase Hynix SC210 to factory default

dell bioses can be a real pain in the ass.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2022, 06:25 PM   #7
pfrcom
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
City & State: Melbourne, Victoria
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240v
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,067
Default Re: Wasting life trying to reset/erase Hynix SC210 to factory default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
dell bioses can be a real pain in the ass.
Don't I know it ...

https://badcaps.net/forum/showpost.p...4&postcount=12
pfrcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2022, 05:46 AM   #8
pfrcom
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
City & State: Melbourne, Victoria
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240v
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,067
Default Re: Reset/erase Hynix SC210 to factory default

https://badcaps.net/forum/showpost.p...05&postcount=8
pfrcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:19 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?