Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Nintendo Switch draws 470mA one side on 5v only and boots ...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Nintendo Switch draws 470mA one side on 5v only and boots ...

Hello
    I have done some Nintendo Switch Consoles, but this one is getting to me.

I am a few years from 'retirement' and things are getting hectic - just to get on with daily repairs I do to get to the 'retiring' time!

I am no expert on consoles but here it is and I am not much on forums, although I would love to - I have not time, with family commitments too - everybody always asking for something!
    It came with its charging port 'snapped' from its welded anchor plate.
    I believe customer had previous problems and wiggled connector for a long time before it stopped charging - I wish he came earlier!
    The connector itself was holding onto 8 side B [top] pads only, and both anchors on the front disappeared, then found one inside!

What I have done is:

1. First attempted fixing pads - all 15-16 of them!
    It was working, but I noticed one in particular was naughty and I re-done it. Same problem.

2. This time I approached the preferred method of wiring it, but not having enough knowledge and I not having a working one at the time, I browsed internet to find connecting points.
    Anyway, found info [hopefully correct] and wired it.
    Then replaced M92 + PI13 + BQ chips and now it does charge at 0.470A only on 5v - nothing drawn from 15v both sides. (a classic I believe but ...)

[B]3.[.B] I have taken diode arrays off and replaced M92 again + PI3 too
    No change
    4. I charged original battery and my new battery living it for quit a few hours.
    5. I also taken 'all' Voltages and diode mode measurements twice [from internet pages I found] and checked for short 'everywhere' 7 times or more in the long run !!!