Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Laptops, Portable, and Mobile Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2020, 09:37 AM   #1
icetech
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
City & State: Detroit Mi.
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Alienware 17 r4 bios chip location?

Hope this is in the right spot, i'm not asking for bios files just some help figuring things out

So. i have an alienware 17 r4 in with motherboard la-d751p bap10.. Dell released bios for it that bricks it and thats what happened, bad enough that bios recovery doesn't work. Laptop worked perfect until this bios upgrade..

I ordered a programmer and am reading/watching videos on how to flash it, my main question is, has anyone here done one of these and if so do you know the location of the bios chip? (I haven't pulled the board out yet but am trying to get my ducks in a row beforehand..)

Second, i haven't done chip programming before but it looks simple enough except.. should i just be able to extract the rom out of the dell bios file with -writerom (or whatever the command is) and just flash it? or do i need to do something else special?

Thanks a ton guys.. i hate to give up on a $2k laptop over something this dumb..

Last edited by icetech; 07-04-2020 at 09:38 AM..
icetech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 06:55 PM   #2
Duranitron
Badcaps Veteran
 
Duranitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
City & State: Caloocan, Manila
My Country: Philippines
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 325
Default Re: Alienware 17 r4 bios chip location?

Quote:
Originally Posted by icetech View Post
Hope this is in the right spot, i'm not asking for bios files just some help figuring things out

So. i have an alienware 17 r4 in with motherboard la-d751p bap10.. Dell released bios for it that bricks it and thats what happened, bad enough that bios recovery doesn't work. Laptop worked perfect until this bios upgrade..

I ordered a programmer and am reading/watching videos on how to flash it, my main question is, has anyone here done one of these and if so do you know the location of the bios chip? (I haven't pulled the board out yet but am trying to get my ducks in a row beforehand..)

Second, i haven't done chip programming before but it looks simple enough except.. should i just be able to extract the rom out of the dell bios file with -writerom (or whatever the command is) and just flash it? or do i need to do something else special?

Thanks a ton guys.. i hate to give up on a $2k laptop over something this dumb..
here is the location of the bios ic
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bios ic location.jpg (189.1 KB, 21 views)
__________________
Never stop LEARNING because life never stops TEACHING!
Duranitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 07:01 PM   #3
Duranitron
Badcaps Veteran
 
Duranitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
City & State: Caloocan, Manila
My Country: Philippines
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 325
Default Re: Alienware 17 r4 bios chip location?

in programming the bios always save the original bios data


Badcap bios dunp for M17 r4
https://www.badcaps.net/forum/attach...9&d=1514565945
Duranitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 08:11 AM   #4
icetech
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
City & State: Detroit Mi.
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: Alienware 17 r4 bios chip location?

Thank you sooo much! I feel much better about this now .. i searched everywhere trying to find pics of where the bios is on that board.. came up empty.
icetech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2020, 06:00 AM   #5
Duranitron
Badcaps Veteran
 
Duranitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
City & State: Caloocan, Manila
My Country: Philippines
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 325
Default Re: Alienware 17 r4 bios chip location?

you are always welcome...
Duranitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2020, 01:09 PM   #6
icetech
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
City & State: Detroit Mi.
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: Alienware 17 r4 bios chip location?

Programmer showed up, tried the file above but no post, no beeping at least, but the power LED is showing unknown CPU..

They made this laptop with a kaby and skylake cpus.. think i need to find a different bios file.
icetech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2020, 11:31 PM   #7
Duranitron
Badcaps Veteran
 
Duranitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
City & State: Caloocan, Manila
My Country: Philippines
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 325
Default Re: Alienware 17 r4 bios chip location?

try to find another bios dump make sure its the same with your motherboard model # then search it here
Duranitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 03:55 AM   #8
Duranitron
Badcaps Veteran
 
Duranitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
City & State: Caloocan, Manila
My Country: Philippines
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 325
Default Re: Alienware 17 r4 bios chip location?

try all these bios dump https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showth...51p+bap10+bios
Duranitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 03:57 AM   #9
Duranitron
Badcaps Veteran
 
Duranitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
City & State: Caloocan, Manila
My Country: Philippines
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 325
Default Re: Alienware 17 r4 bios chip location?

or if you like you can request the forum for proven working bios dump for la-d751p bap10
Duranitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 05:16 AM   #10
icetech
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
City & State: Detroit Mi.
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: Alienware 17 r4 bios chip location?

Thanks Dura, yeah all of those are for the 128 chip where this is a 80, must have made multiple versions of this mobo.. will keep looking. and made a request in the request section thanks a ton.
icetech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 12:52 PM   #11
piernov
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Valbonne, 06
My Country: France
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,295
Default Re: Alienware 17 r4 bios chip location?

SPI ROM for main BIOS is located near PCH.
__________________
OpenBoardview http://openboardview.org | IRC #[email protected]
piernov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 01:10 PM   #12
icetech
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
City & State: Detroit Mi.
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: Alienware 17 r4 bios chip location?

yeah, found it this morning.. got it sorted thanks! seems flashing the wrong chip didn't do much.
icetech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 01:46 PM   #13
SMDFlea
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,628
Default Re: Alienware 17 r4 bios chip location?

Solved, apart from F12 boot . https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=85876

Last edited by SMDFlea; 07-07-2020 at 01:49 PM..
SMDFlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 01:55 PM   #14
icetech
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
City & State: Detroit Mi.
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: Alienware 17 r4 bios chip location?

yeah.. close enough honestly at least it's not dead. thanks again!
icetech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:32 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?