Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2020, 02:51 AM   #1
DixiePenguin
Member
 
DixiePenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
City & State: Sta. Rosa, Laguna,
My Country: Philippines
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 63
Default Bad aluminum poly cap on Gigabyte mobo

The video quit on a GA-F2A55M-DS2, on-board and dedicated card. Power reaches the fans and lights. I checked for obvious problems and found one capacitor that felt loose, it also sat higher than the ones around it. Looking though loupe I noticed what looked like a crack. Given the location of the cap I think it may be the reason for the video problem. I have tried locating a replacement with no success, even using DigiKey chat. The first photo shows the cap markings. Second photo show how it is raised from board and the apparent crack.

Any suggestions on a replacement for the cap?

Thanks in advance for the help.

Day 24 of quarantine here in Sta. Rosa, Laguna, Philippines and it beginning to get to me
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Badcap 2.jpg (42.9 KB, 37 views)
File Type: jpg Cap closeup 1.jpg (42.7 KB, 37 views)

Last edited by DixiePenguin; 05-05-2020 at 02:53 AM..
DixiePenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2020, 03:54 AM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 22,896
Default Re: Bad aluminum poly cap on Gigabyte mobo

APAQ 5K series
https://www.apaq.com.tw/en/product/C...pe/AR5K+Series
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2020, 10:32 AM   #3
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,429
Default Re: Bad aluminum poly cap on Gigabyte mobo

Nichicon FP RNS series is higher quality, lower ESR, higher ripple (could not find a 100uf but 150)

https://www.nichicon.co.jp/english/p...pdfs/e-rns.pdf

I've always disliked apaq
__________________
Cap Datasheet Depot: http://www.paullinebarger.net/DS/
^If you have datasheets not listed PM me
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2020, 01:50 PM   #4
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 118-127V 59-63.5 Hz-> actualizo: pérdido de voltaje
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,246
Default Re: Bad aluminum poly cap on Gigabyte mobo

Looks like it got bumped.

I just hope those are not fake polymers, like Sacon is known for!
__________________
MSI B450 Tomahawk

Ryzen 7 "Matisse" 3700X

16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 SDRAM

XFX Radeon RX 580 8 GB

eVGA Supernova G3 750W



Received on November 4, 2019:
MSI GF63 Thin 9SC-649US


"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Don't eat yellow snow!" -Salem

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2020, 06:36 PM   #5
DixiePenguin
Member
 
DixiePenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
City & State: Sta. Rosa, Laguna,
My Country: Philippines
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 63
Default Re: Bad aluminum poly cap on Gigabyte mobo

Thanks for the help, folks. I imagine I can chase something down now and try repairs.
DixiePenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 03:23 PM   #6
kevin!
recapping PCB.
 
kevin!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
City & State: Gerona
My Country: España
Line Voltage: 230VAC 49Hz, 2 Ph
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 174
Default Re: Bad aluminum poly cap on Gigabyte mobo

I do not like Apaq too much, but I'm going to be honest, are not fake and they are real polymers (I have not seen any Apaq spill), and the 5K series is proving to be reliable, a friend has an Asus board with Apaq 5k and the original SSD marks almost 50,000h of use, and the computer continues to operate stable.
And my uncle has in his office a computer with an asus motherboard with Apaq 5k and the original hard drive marks 60,000h (he never turns it off), the most curious thing is that the processor broke, but not the capacitors and it continues to work stable.
(The broken CPU was an AMD Sempron 145, it could never be done core unlock, possibly it came from the outer side of the less pure wafer, in the end mount another Sempron 145 and the extra core could be unlocked).
That capacitor probably suffered some accidental hit.
__________________
Gaming pc:
Gigabyte RX 580, Corsair RM750I.
Server:
PSU Corsair TX650M
HTPC:
Dell Alienware aurora r3
GTX 760, PSU Dell 875w.

Last edited by kevin!; 05-09-2020 at 03:26 PM..
kevin! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 07:28 PM   #7
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,429
Default Re: Bad aluminum poly cap on Gigabyte mobo

yeah a decent polymer is better than good lytics.

but apaq isn't bottom barrel for polys, but most used for cheaper equipment.
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:14 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?