Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Power Supplies and Power Supply Design
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2020, 05:35 AM   #1
cook
Quiet observer
 
Join Date: May 2010
City & State: Central Florida
My Country: USA
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 72
Default APC BackUPS LS-500 Schematics?

Asking for schematic and/or boardview for APC BackUPS LS-500.
Board number: 640-0236J-13
cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 02:14 PM   #2
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: APC BackUPS LS-500 Schematics?

Can you please post some pictures of the board front and back so can read part numbers
We might be able help you fix it
__________________
9 PC LCD Monitor
6 LCD Flat Screen TV
30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
1 Dell Mother Board
15 Computer Power Supply
1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *


These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board ( VFD Failure Five Years Later )
2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 05:19 PM   #3
cook
Quiet observer
 
Join Date: May 2010
City & State: Central Florida
My Country: USA
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 72
Default Re: APC BackUPS LS-500 Schematics?

The pictures are below. I tried to get the best resolution I could.

From left to right..
#1. Top Left of the board
#2. Top Right
#3. Bottom side of #1
#4. Bottom side of #2
Attached Images
File Type: jpg LS-500 Top Left Side.jpg (1.20 MB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg LS-500 Top Right Side.jpg (1.18 MB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg LS-500 Bottom of left side.jpg (1.19 MB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg LS-500 Bottom of right side.jpg (1.17 MB, 9 views)
cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 05:25 PM   #4
cook
Quiet observer
 
Join Date: May 2010
City & State: Central Florida
My Country: USA
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 72
Default Re: APC BackUPS LS-500 Schematics?

Here is the problem I am working on with this UPS. Sometimes, only for a second or 2, the 'bad battery' light flash and it will beep. I have tried different batteries, and it still does it. I have tried a brand new battery, and it still does it. It may show the fault once every 5 minutes, sometimes more frequently, sometimes less frequently. It does this when something is plugged into it, and when nothing is plugged into it. When the UPS is running I am getting a good voltage at the battery, 13.69 volts. When the new battery is unplugged from the UPS, it reads 13.7 volts. The new battery has charged for 24 hours.
Thanks
cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 03:57 AM   #5
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: APC BackUPS LS-500 Schematics?

Will this battery backup work with a 100 watt incandescent light bulb load with no 110 line voltage hooked up

It should turn if you hold power on button for about 5 second or so ———> if not try this hook it up 110 volt line voltage then after it does it self check if has one then unplug it from the wall dose the light bulb stay light if not then you have a problem with the power switch over circuit

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 07-01-2020 at 04:02 AM..
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 06:06 AM   #6
cook
Quiet observer
 
Join Date: May 2010
City & State: Central Florida
My Country: USA
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 72
Default Re: APC BackUPS LS-500 Schematics?

Yes, it works fine with a 100W light bulb running on the battery. I could see the light pulse just slightly, but it ran the bulb just fine. I ran it a few minutes.

Last edited by cook; 07-02-2020 at 07:06 AM.. Reason: Typo
cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 03:45 PM   #7
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: APC BackUPS LS-500 Schematics?

Okay

While you had the 100 watt bulb running on battery power did the low battery warning flash on or did even come on while you were doing this test

Look at the fault light wiring and trace where it goes on the circuit board until you reach a ic chip or some type of device and look up the device to see what it does then see if there is a capacitor near that device that goes to that device and replace them if there is more one capacitor

also trace the battery terminals back to some type of voltage monitor circuit on this board and if you find any capacitor replace them as well but before you buy anything mark where these capacitor are on the board

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 07-02-2020 at 03:56 PM..
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 03:52 PM   #8
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 38,051
Default Re: APC BackUPS LS-500 Schematics?

How many Watts is your actual load that you were having problem with? Notes: I am not talking about the 100W bulb.
You can also add another 100W load to see what happen.
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 05:58 AM   #9
cook
Quiet observer
 
Join Date: May 2010
City & State: Central Florida
My Country: USA
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 72
Default Re: APC BackUPS LS-500 Schematics?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sam_sam_sam View Post
Okay

While you had the 100 watt bulb running on battery power did the low battery warning flash on or did even come on while you were doing this test

Look at the fault light wiring and trace where it goes on the circuit board until you reach a ic chip or some type of device and look up the device to see what it does then see if there is a capacitor near that device that goes to that device and replace them if there is more one capacitor

also trace the battery terminals back to some type of voltage monitor circuit on this board and if you find any capacitor replace them as well but before you buy anything mark where these capacitor are on the board
The 'replace battery' light did not come on during the test.

I will get a list of the ICs on the board and post them in order to help me figure out what chip might be responsible for the 'Battery Replace' alarm. I will get that together later today. Knowing which chip might be responsible for that will give me 2 ways to track down the capacitors on the circuit -- tracing back from the LED and tracing from the IC.
cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 06:03 AM   #10
cook
Quiet observer
 
Join Date: May 2010
City & State: Central Florida
My Country: USA
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 72
Default Re: APC BackUPS LS-500 Schematics?

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
How many Watts is your actual load that you were having problem with? Notes: I am not talking about the 100W bulb.
You can also add another 100W load to see what happen.
The 'Replace Battery' alarm comes on with a load, and without any load.

I will find a more items to plug into it and run it to see if anything changes. I will run it plugged in to AC, and running on the battery.
cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 06:21 AM   #11
cook
Quiet observer
 
Join Date: May 2010
City & State: Central Florida
My Country: USA
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 72
Default Re: APC BackUPS LS-500 Schematics?

Chips On The Board
APC BackUPS LS-500 / Model BP500UC / Board number: 640-0236J-13

Below are the ICs on the board. I looked up each one and I listed what I found about them.

Which ones might be part of the circuit that triggers the 'Replace Battery' alert? I am thinking it is one or both of the 'LMxxx' chips maybe?

---------
BIG CHIP
The largest chip has a white APC sticker
on top of it listing it is for a 350/500/700
unit, along with a version number. So I am not
sure what that is. Maybe ROM?
---------
360-2040B
UEWJ0414
What is this?
---------
93LC46B
EEPROM
---------
SN74HC595N
8-bit, serial in, parallel out shift register
Is this for the USB connection?
---------
LM393N
Two independent voltage comparators
---------
LM324AN
Four independent operational amplifiers (op amp)
---------
4N25
Single channel phototransistor coupler
---------
cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 10:50 AM   #12
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: APC BackUPS LS-500 Schematics?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cook View Post
Chips On The Board
APC BackUPS LS-500 / Model BP500UC / Board number: 640-0236J-13

Below are the ICs on the board. I looked up each one and I listed what I found about them.

Which ones might be part of the circuit that triggers the 'Replace Battery' alert? I am thinking it is one or both of the 'LMxxx' chips maybe?

---------
BIG CHIP
The largest chip has a white APC sticker
on top of it listing it is for a 350/500/700
unit, along with a version number. So I am not
sure what that is. Maybe ROM? ( if any pin goes any devices below that I made comments about then replace all capacitors that connects to any pin on this device )
---------
360-2040B
UEWJ0414
What is this? ( does any pin of this chip go to any of following devices below if they do then replace all around this chip
---------
93LC46B
EEPROM. ————
---------
SN74HC595N
8-bit, serial in, parallel out shift register
Is this for the USB connection?
---------
LM393N
Two independent voltage comparators. ( Replace capacitors if they go to any pins on this chip )
---------
LM324AN
Four independent operational amplifiers (op amp) ( Replace any capacitor that goes any pin to this chip )
---------
4N25
Single channel phototransistor coupler ( most important capacitor to change if any pin has a capacitor to it )
---------
See above for my comments

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 07-03-2020 at 10:58 AM..
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 11:00 AM   #13
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: APC BackUPS LS-500 Schematics?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cook View Post
The 'Replace Battery' alarm comes on with a load, and without any load.

I will find a more items to plug into it and run it to see if anything changes. I will run it plugged in to AC, and running on the battery.
I was afraid of this that this might have been the case thanks for sharing this information
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 02:30 PM   #14
cook
Quiet observer
 
Join Date: May 2010
City & State: Central Florida
My Country: USA
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 72
Default Re: APC BackUPS LS-500 Schematics?

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
How many Watts is your actual load that you were having problem with? Notes: I am not talking about the 100W bulb.
You can also add another 100W load to see what happen.
I ran it connected to AC, running these lights: 40 watt incandescent, 60 watt incandescent, and a 150 watt halogen. The 'replace battery' LED came on briefly about 2 minutes into the test, then 5 minutes later, then 3 minutes later. Then I turned off the power to the AC, and it switched to battery. It runs fine on battery and the 'replace battery' LED does not go on. I ran it about 5 minutes like this and then stopped the test.
cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 01:19 PM   #15
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,504
Default Re: APC BackUPS LS-500 Schematics?

Got across this schematic today while doing backups. Hope this helps.

BTW: on your second picture there are 2 relays and 2 brown capacitors. The top brown capacitor looks to me bad.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf APC UPS500.pdf (269.8 KB, 12 views)

Last edited by CapLeaker; 07-04-2020 at 01:24 PM..
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 01:52 PM   #16
cook
Quiet observer
 
Join Date: May 2010
City & State: Central Florida
My Country: USA
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 72
Default Re: APC BackUPS LS-500 Schematics?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapLeaker View Post
Got across this schematic today while doing backups. Hope this helps.

BTW: on your second picture there are 2 relays and 2 brown capacitors. The top brown capacitor looks to me bad.
Thank you for the schematics!!

And thank you for noting that cap. I just looked closely at it, and it is has a slight depression across part of the top. It almost looks like something pushed into it because the metal on the top appears to have a small scratch or depression in the metal like something sharp pushed it in. It might even have a tiny hole in it, but I am not positive. I will certainly test that one further to see how it looks. It is a KMG Cap, ie. Nippon Chemi-Con
cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 02:12 PM   #17
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: APC BackUPS LS-500 Schematics?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapLeaker View Post
Got across this schematic today while doing backups. Hope this helps.

BTW: on your second picture there are 2 relays and 2 brown capacitors. The top brown capacitor looks to me bad.
The circuit diagram that you posted I only find one relay not two of them and I look for it for a while
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 02:32 PM   #18
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,504
Default Re: APC BackUPS LS-500 Schematics?

I know that this schematic I posted above isn't the exact match, but it should be good enough to give an idea what is going on.

For me, I'd ESR the sh*t out of them caps and replace them. I've had a run in with my small SMT a few years back, it turned itself off all the time.
https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=66277

I'd change the two brown caps, the 2 black caps next to it and C51 and retest.

Last edited by CapLeaker; 07-04-2020 at 02:39 PM..
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 02:59 PM   #19
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: APC BackUPS LS-500 Schematics?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapLeaker View Post
For me, I'd ESR the sh*t out of them caps and replace them.
I would recommend this as well I more or less said the same thing earlier
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 06:49 PM   #20
cook
Quiet observer
 
Join Date: May 2010
City & State: Central Florida
My Country: USA
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 72
Default Re: APC BackUPS LS-500 Schematics?

sam_sam_sam,

I am currently identifying what capacitors are connected to the pins on the chips.

Am I only interested in the caps that are first component I find on the trace, or should I be going further down the trace through a few components?

Last edited by cook; 07-04-2020 at 07:50 PM.. Reason: Typeo
cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:16 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?