Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2020, 06:46 PM   #21
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 37,867
Default Re: TCL Model 55S425 - No Pic, No Backlight, No Sound - HELP!!!

BTW, I need closed up pictures of power supply board LED connector P1 (connected to the power supply board) so I can see which wire is connected to which pin of the connector.
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 07:57 PM   #22
koolx
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
City & State: ny, ny
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Re: TCL Model 55S425 - No Pic, No Backlight, No Sound - HELP!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
Please verify the TV full model number.
According to shopjimmy, the boards for the 55S425 do not show the power supply used in your TV, your power supply board is P/N 08-L14TWA2-PW220AL
There are many versions of the same TV model.
https://www.shopjimmy.com/tcl-08-l14...wer-supply.htm
According to SJ, your power supply board is used in 49S405TDAA and 55S405LGAA.
Hi bud.. the full model# is: 55S405TAAA.

I'll work on the voltage tomorrow.

.
koolx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 02:16 PM   #23
koolx
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
City & State: ny, ny
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Re: TCL Model 55S425 - No Pic, No Backlight, No Sound - HELP!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
BTW, I need closed up pictures of power supply board LED connector P1 (connected to the power supply board) so I can see which wire is connected to which pin of the connector.
HI bud. I'm now using another multimeter made by MCM Electronics, model# 72-7940. The super tested it out on my house outlet which showed around 78 volts. But he says it should read 110 - 130 volts. We tested it on most of the outlets in my house which showed the same reading. He assures me the tool is working correctly. I've posted a pic of this for you. Let me know if the dial is set correctly.

As to the boards here are updated pics. Hope they are to your liking!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20200704_155552.jpg (196.9 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20200704_160452.jpg (604.8 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20200704_161137.jpg (684.0 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20200704_161154.jpg (584.7 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20200704_161207.jpg (572.1 KB, 4 views)

Last edited by koolx; 07-04-2020 at 02:19 PM..
koolx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 02:26 PM   #24
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: TCL Model 55S405 - No Pic, No Backlight, No Sound - HELP!!!

if you put yours DM on 200 instate 300 as at yours pictures then measure the outlets
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 02:32 PM   #25
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 37,867
Default Re: TCL Model 55S405 - No Pic, No Backlight, No Sound - HELP!!!

If the Voltage is really that low, that is brownout condition which can easily damage you fridge and air conditioner. You lights will also be dim through out the house.
How about on the 200V AC scale? How about check some DC V on battery? Also check the meter's batteries. I really doubt that you are having only 79V AC at your house, if you do you better unplug your fridge. What does the Sperry meter show?
I am surprised that your computer is still working if it is truly 79V AC.
https://quickelectricity.com/protect...ing-brownouts/

Last edited by budm; 07-04-2020 at 02:51 PM..
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 04:52 PM   #26
koolx
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
City & State: ny, ny
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Re: TCL Model 55S405 - No Pic, No Backlight, No Sound - HELP!!!

Hi bud and diah. I retested it on the 300 ac scale. I get very abnormal readings that jump eccentrically from 1.0 - 155v. I think its possible that this multimeter is busted. I'll go ahead and use the sperry multimeter. But I need to buy batteries for it. I'll let you know by tonite or tomorrow when I test it. Thanks for your patience with me!
koolx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 04:55 PM   #27
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 37,867
Default Re: TCL Model 55S405 - No Pic, No Backlight, No Sound - HELP!!!

"He assures me the tool is working correctly."
So what does your supe do for living?
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 05:42 PM   #28
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,632
Default Re: TCL Model 55S405 - No Pic, No Backlight, No Sound - HELP!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
"He assures me the tool is working correctly."
So what does your supe do for living?
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 06:12 PM   #29
koolx
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
City & State: ny, ny
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Re: TCL Model 55S405 - No Pic, No Backlight, No Sound - HELP!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
"He assures me the tool is working correctly."
So what does your supe do for living?
hes a super.
koolx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 06:22 PM   #30
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 37,867
Default Re: TCL Model 55S405 - No Pic, No Backlight, No Sound - HELP!!!

Well, I expect your super to tell you right away that your AC is too low, based on the meter is GOOD, and should disconnect your appliance and call the power company right away to fix the problem.
Is he the one that is going to help you troubleshooting the TV?
Are you really show about troubleshooting this TV? I do not want anyone to get killed.

Last edited by budm; 07-04-2020 at 06:23 PM..
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 06:28 PM   #31
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 37,867
Default Re: TCL Model 55S405 - No Pic, No Backlight, No Sound - HELP!!!

BTW, Did you read my post #20 and understand what you have to do, and knowing how the count the pins correctly, etc.?
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 09:16 PM   #32
koolx
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
City & State: ny, ny
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Re: TCL Model 55S405 - No Pic, No Backlight, No Sound - HELP!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
Well, I expect your super to tell you right away that your AC is too low, based on the meter is GOOD, and should disconnect your appliance and call the power company right away to fix the problem.
Is he the one that is going to help you troubleshooting the TV?
Are you really show about troubleshooting this TV? I do not want anyone to get killed.
I'm a bit confused by your analysis. If the readings on that multimeter are sporadically inaccurate then it follows that theres something electronically wrong with the multimeter per se, not the wiring in my house. If not it would be common sense to expect all my devices to be unable to function correctly, namely my gaming PC which is sensitive to electric changes. As I've mentioned before I will buy new batteries for the other multimeter to test.

I am grateful for your concern for my safety. Just so you know, I doubt I have a GFCI outlet in my bathroom. As such I will ask my super for his supervision over testing the tv and will try to find a surge protector for extra precaution. Will let you know tomorrow. Thanks.

Last edited by koolx; 07-04-2020 at 09:17 PM..
koolx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 09:49 PM   #33
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 37,867
Default Re: TCL Model 55S405 - No Pic, No Backlight, No Sound - HELP!!!

What I am saying is that you are told that the meter is good 'He assures me the tool is working correctly' but when you take the readings and the meter only shows 79V, then if I am the supe I would have great doubt that the meter is good by looking at the lights and appliance in your house, that would have giving the clue that the meter is wrong. How did the supe figure out that the meter is working correctly?
Surge protector is not safety device for preventing you from being electrocuted, it is for protecting the connected equipment.
Did you look all the outlets in your house to see if there is GFCI outlet in your house some where, my house is built in 1986 and required to have GFCI for both of my bath room and the kitchen, I do not know how old your house is
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 10:16 PM   #34
koolx
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
City & State: ny, ny
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Re: TCL Model 55S405 - No Pic, No Backlight, No Sound - HELP!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
What I am saying is that you are told that the meter is good 'He assures me the tool is working correctly' but when you take the readings and the meter only shows 79V, then if I am the supe I would have great doubt that the meter is good by looking at the lights and appliance in your house, that would have giving the clue that the meter is wrong. How did the supe figure out that the meter is working correctly?
Surge protector is not safety device for preventing you from being electrocuted, it is for protecting the connected equipment.
Did you look all the outlets in your house to see if there is GFCI outlet in your house some where, my house is built in 1986 and required to have GFCI for both of my bath room and the kitchen, I do not know how old your house is
When the super handed me the multimeter he said I should swap out the batteries if I encounter poor performance with emphasis to switch it off when not in use. Although the digital read doesnt seem to be fading as an indicator of poor battery, I'm not taking any chances. Most of my house's outlets were checked. I even tested it at my neighbors. Same result. Henceforth I am stamping it as defective.

Regarding GFCI, my apartment building was built all the back in 1906 known as a pre-war building. About 18 years ago the bathroom outlet had trouble and was replaced by the super. I really dont think its GFCI capable but will ask the super if it is nonetheless to be sure.

Will test with the other multimeter tomorrow when i land fresh batteries. Thanks bud!
koolx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 04:54 AM   #35
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,632
Default Re: TCL Model 55S405 - No Pic, No Backlight, No Sound - HELP!!!

Pretty simple to check for accuracy, just take a battery from something that you have relatively fresh batteries in, like a remote control maybe and check voltage, looking for about 1.5 volts.
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 02:42 PM   #36
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: TCL Model 55S405 - No Pic, No Backlight, No Sound - HELP!!!

80th years ago i had faced this isuue when i visted friends at his old house with 2 stage. at the top stage was the outlet read funny.. inspect his bathroom and i did found like heater with cabling hidden inside the wall.. be careful and take budum advice first to be safe you and yours families member
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 04:09 PM   #37
neilc6
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
City & State: BC
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 850
Default Re: TCL Model 55S405 - No Pic, No Backlight, No Sound - HELP!!!

Budm is trying to guide you into a procedure of checking the voltages to the LED strips before the delicate and risky task of removing the panel.

Flash of backlights on power up is a symptom of bad backlights and the protection circuit shutting them down. If you remove the panel and record the flash and go frame by frame, you should be able to see with ones are out. Better to replace them all with new to prevent future problems.
neilc6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 06:40 PM   #38
koolx
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
City & State: ny, ny
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Re: TCL Model 55S405 - No Pic, No Backlight, No Sound - HELP!!!

Hello to all you guys and bud. So I went out to buy batteries for my multimeter. The store that carries it is closed today sunday but will open tomorrow. Tomorrow I will buy them when they open and will begin testing! Excuse the delay and appreciate all your patience.
koolx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 12:18 PM   #39
koolx
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
City & State: ny, ny
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Re: TCL Model 55S405 - No Pic, No Backlight, No Sound - HELP!!!

Hey bud.. and to the rest of the guys. I found a TCL tv (TCL 55R625) with broken screen with same size screen (55") but different model. Is it possible to take the display from my TCL 55S405 and replace the broken one in the TCL 55R625? Will it fit??
koolx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 12:44 PM   #40
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,632
Default Re: TCL Model 55S405 - No Pic, No Backlight, No Sound - HELP!!!

Check the sticker numbers on the panel/back chassis see if they match.
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:21 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?