NVIDIA GPU Memory Chip ID and Replacement

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

NVIDIA GPU Memory Chip ID and Replacement

I'm trying to repair a GTX Titan X, seems to have a bad memory chip. I have this random graphic I found online but my card is double sided, does that matter? And based on the test result, which one do I need to swap?

I am using a Tesla M40 12GB as a donor board, model number of memory chips on that one is really hard to read but I think they are the same.

As for actually swapping a memory chip from the donor board, I have never done any BGA work before. I watched this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=goViV2IYogk and it seems he is using a new memory chip, vs I want to reuse the old one. So can I just apply liquid flux, use my generic SMD hot air gun thingy to heat it up, remove the chip, do the same with the donor card, plop it on there, and reheat it? Or do I have to do something with the solder balls or wick or what on earth do I do?
    Attached Files
    Last edited by shovenose; 01-21-2023, 12:53 AM.

Re: NVIDIA GPU Memory Chip ID and Replacement

Yes, memory chips need reballing. Old solder removed from both and new balls applied.
    Northwest repair on YouTube is the one to watch.

Comment