Thank you to the guys at HEGE supporting Badcaps [ HEGE ] [ HEGE DEX Chart ]

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

No back light on Samsung UN65MU6290, Need help modifying Power Supply Board.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

No back light on Samsung UN65MU6290, Need help modifying Power Supply Board.

Hello all and thanks in advance for helping me with this.

I am a novice TV repair hobbyist and just picked up this Samsung UN65MU6290 / PS board # BN44-00873C with no backlight but otherwise seemingly fully functional. My initial assumption was the LED strips were bad but upon further research apparently the Power Supply board can also be at fault for "over driving" the LED strips. On ShopJimmy they are recommending to replace some resistors and other components (transistors?) in conjunction with the LED strips (although their referenced Youtube link only demonstrates replacing the resistors):

Originally posted by SJ
    "--PLEASE NOTE: This repair is recommended only for experienced technicians. After installing these LED bars, we strongly encourage you to perform the modification on the power supply board in your TV (BN44-00873C) that can be seen here: https://youtu.be/R_KuCkW1SO4
    Replace resistors R9111 & R9211 as shown in the video with the included resistors from ShopJimmy.
    After this modification is done, the LED bars will run much cooler than the stock ones and will prolong their lifespan significantly."
    What has me especially paranoid is a comment I read from an eBay listing:
    Originally posted by Ebaydude
    “On this model most of time one led strip and power board fail at the same time, to fix this issue you must replace that failed led strip plus power board. If you install this LED strip with failed power board and turn the TV on, LED strip will fail on the spot, also if you install a good power board with bad LED strips the same thing would happen to that power board. “