Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Sony KDL-40W3000 no picture (+ possibly no sound)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sony KDL-40W3000 no picture (+ possibly no sound)

Hello all,

This is my first time diagnosing/repairing a TV and I'm looking for some guidance.

Backlight turns on
    no picture

The sound I couldn't diagnose with certainty, my mother said that when it just broke there was still sound without picture. When I tried connecting a game console to the inputs and cycling through them blind I couldn't get a sound. Was this a problem with my technique, or can I assume that sound doesn't work?

Am I right in assuming than no sound + no picture = bad main board
    and no picture + yes sound = T-con board?

I have yet to take the cover off and inspect the inside.

Before full death, the picture had a wide horizontal discolored stripe of pixels (lower brightness), but this was a long time before the final failure so I don't know if this is a separate issue or not.
    Last edited by xen0n54; 03-26-2020, 05:21 AM.

Re: Sony KDL-40W3000 no picture (+ possibly no sound)

Try test #3 below, try to do it just as instructed.

Comment

Sometimes you just need a firmware update but I did not see it on the U.S. site or the U.K. site.

Comment

Can you post clear pictures of the boards for this TV? power supply, main board and T-CON?

Do you have a multi-meter? Can you measure the voltage on either side of the T-Con fuse with respect to the chassis ground?
        -Thomas
        I'm a hardware engineer focused on networking equipment for my day job. I void warranties and fix consumer electronics for fun.

Comment

I've checked all the pin voltages coming out of the power supply like you asked.
          Here are the results

Code:
          		STBY	ON

12V		12.32	12.30
          12V		12.32	12.30
          GND		0	0
          GND		0	0
          GND		0	0
          6V		6.39	6.28

12V		12.32	12.30
          12V		12.32	12.30