Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Troubleshooting B&W Original Powersupply

Hello all,

I just registered on this forum and hope that someone might be able to help me. I am trying to repair an older B&W Zeppelin for my parents. The status light is blinking red which according to B&W means that it need a repair. I searched a little bit around the internet and the power supply of this product seems to be a common problem.

I decided to open it up and take out the power supply. The first thing I noticed was that all the caps seems to be of good quality. Rubycon on the dc side and Panasonic on the ac side. (Excuse my terminology I am very much a beginner here).

However one of the caps a rubycon 2200 uF 16 VDC seems to slightly be bulging. Also there seems to be several burned spots on the backside of the pcb.

So as I see it there are two options:

- Replace some caps?
    - Replace the power supply board for a new one (expensive)

Replacing the whole power supply will be quite expensive however might be worth it if this is where the fault lies. But how sure can I be that it is the psu? Also I have never replaced caps before at all so I am very much a beginner. Please keep that in mind.

I have attached some pictures of the board. Any help will be appreciated. The name and make of the psu is Abletec ALP0050-0000-H. Specs: +25V max 1A continuous 2.2A FTC/+5V max 1.5A continuous.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Delirious; 09-02-2016, 05:29 AM.

Re: Troubleshooting B&W Original Powersupply

nothing is burned, the brown is flux.

that cap top-right is bad, as you dont have an esr meter, yuo may as well change the whole group of 4 to be sure.
    what exactly do they say on them?

Comment

Going by the just-visible markings, i'd say that bulged(?) cap is a Rubycon ZL(H?), 2200u / 16v.

The bigger cap on the bottom right is a ZL 1000u / 35v, so it's a safe-enough bet the suspect one's a ZL as well.