Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

LG-50PQ6000 clicks and clicks and clicks

Hi guys,

Im new to this forum and it looks totally cool.

Just to explain my background. Im an audio visual engineer and have an electrical background.

BUT (and a big but) I dont have mutch experience with the inner sides of plasma screens.

I was sent to site to swap out a faulty screen and asked the customer if they wanted me to skip the old unit. Well lets just say I saw this as an opportunity to bag myself a decent TV and learn something about the inside guts at the same time.

The fault seams common it doesnt come out of standby just clicks and clicks and clicks.

I have had a good look inside and all the capasitors on the PSU board look fine. I have ran a DVM across the pins and all voltages appear to go high and then low with the clicking.

Seams to be a tiny relay clicking.

I have removed the PSU board and plugged it in and the same is happening. I dont know if this was a test or not.

It could be a number of things I just need a little prod in the right direction to fault find it a little further.

Cant wait to get stuck in and thanks in advance for any help!

Jarrett
    Repaired: LG50PQ6000

Re: LG-50PQ6000 clicks and clicks and clicks

Welcome to the forum Jarrett

Please see this thread for more info about similar problems to LG plasmas:

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=18008

From post 14 and forth, it may be the AC detection circuit that makes your set to repeately click.

Comment

Nice one imp I will check it out. :0)

Comment

Ok cool it could just be a case of shorting out the 2 optocouplers. My PSU board is different to this one. Its pcb p/n 3pagc00002a-r.

Is there a test I can do to identify the 2 optocouplers i might need to short on the PSU board I have?

Is there a way to test the optocouplers are working or not?

and what do the AC detect optocouplers do? other than detect AC :0)

Comment