Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Game Consoles & Other Weird Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2022, 02:47 AM   #21
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,798
Default Re: Xbox 1.6 Motherboards and Polymer Capacitors

unless there is a jumper on the board or something, i dont know why you couldnt flash an Aladin

i will say though, i prefer the 1.0 - 1.5 models for this reason.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2022, 05:44 AM   #22
qwerty99
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
City & State: londinium
My Country: ukay
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 15
Default Re: Xbox 1.6 Motherboards and Polymer Capacitors

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
unless there is a jumper on the board or something, i dont know why you couldnt flash an Aladin

i will say though, i prefer the 1.0 - 1.5 models for this reason.
Recent Aladdins come with a different chip on them, so you can't flash them unless you have an external programmer.

Pain in the arse because it means it's another piece of equipment that I have to buy.

I don't usually mind buying tools, but an eeprom programmer is not something I'll ever likely use again once I've done the initial flash.

I'll probably end up buying one though because the Aladdins can be bought for less than $10. The Open Xenium chips are starting at around 40 to 50 not including shipping.
qwerty99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2022, 11:46 AM   #23
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,798
Default Re: Xbox 1.6 Motherboards and Polymer Capacitors

wellllll,
i dont know how your flashing them, but there are several tools
i used to install Linux, and then from linux i ran a flasher called "raincoat" or something like that.
it recognised a hell of a lot of chips and could be updated because the chip details were in a text file i think.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 01:05 AM   #24
qwerty99
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
City & State: londinium
My Country: ukay
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 15
Default Re: Xbox 1.6 Motherboards and Polymer Capacitors

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
wellllll,
i dont know how your flashing them, but there are several tools
i used to install Linux, and then from linux i ran a flasher called "raincoat" or something like that.
it recognised a hell of a lot of chips and could be updated because the chip details were in a text file i think.
I've never had to flash anything with an external programmer, so I don't have a clue about what tools and software I need.

Any tips on the best programmer to use?
qwerty99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 01:50 AM   #25
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,798
Default Re: Xbox 1.6 Motherboards and Polymer Capacitors

i'm talking about in the xbox - use xbox-linux
https://github.com/not404/raincoat

do you know the chip partnumber?
https://github.com/not404/raincoat/b...c/flashtypes.h
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 11:49 PM   #26
qwerty99
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
City & State: londinium
My Country: ukay
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 15
Default Re: Xbox 1.6 Motherboards and Polymer Capacitors

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
i'm talking about in the xbox - use xbox-linux
https://github.com/not404/raincoat

do you know the chip partnumber?
https://github.com/not404/raincoat/b...c/flashtypes.h
I think the new Aladdins contain this chip:

SST49LF002A

which, supposedly, can't be flashed without an external programmer.

I think I read it on this thread:

https://www.reddit.com/r/originalxbo...less_you_have/

SST49LF002A does appear in the raincoat file. So does this mean that these chips can be flashed while in the Xbox?

Thanks
qwerty99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2022, 02:36 AM   #27
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,798
Default Re: Xbox 1.6 Motherboards and Polymer Capacitors

yes, if the id is in the file it can flash it
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2022, 11:35 AM   #28
qwerty99
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
City & State: londinium
My Country: ukay
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 15
Default Re: Xbox 1.6 Motherboards and Polymer Capacitors

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
yes, if the id is in the file it can flash it
Interesting! I'm going to have to do some reading.
qwerty99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:38 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?