Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Power Supplies and Power Supply Design
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2010, 11:37 AM   #21
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,630
Default Re: Can a Bestec be made good?

Quote:
Originally Posted by shovenose View Post
I meant that they work or dont. Theres no sort of working with capacitors
That isn't true either.
Most caps fail gradually over a period of time.
.
__________________
Mann-Made Global Warming.
- We should be more concerned about the Intellectual Climate.

-
Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.

- Dr Seuss
-
You can teach a man to fish and feed him for life, but if he can't handle sushi you must also teach him to cook.
-
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 01:35 PM   #22
shovenose
Send Doge Memes
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfield, California
My Country: USA
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 6,354
Default Re: Can a Bestec be made good?

Let me rephrase what i meant: a bulged cap is as bad as a leaking cap
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 06:54 PM   #23
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,630
Default Re: Can a Bestec be made good?

Third time's the charm!
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 09:05 PM   #24
shovenose
Send Doge Memes
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfield, California
My Country: USA
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 6,354
Default Re: Can a Bestec be made good?

Lol yeah im not real good at explIning stuff esp when i am usingan iphone and want ro make my message as short as possible
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 11:53 PM   #25
momaka
master hoarder
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 10,860
Default Re: Can a Bestec be made good?

Quote:
Originally Posted by shovenose View Post
Any bestec that has a model of ATX-xxx-12E (xxx=wattage) has the 5vsb.
You're right, they all have 5vsb - it is the ATX standard after all .
Stupid jokes aside, only the Bestec ATX-250 12E (and only that model) has the 2-transistor "mobo killer" 5vsb circuit. I think Everell and Severach did a pretty extensive research on that one.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 05:06 PM   #26
everell
Badcaps Veteran
 
everell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
City & State: Williamsburg, Virginia
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,222
Default Re: Can a Bestec be made good?

The Bestec ATX-250 12E is a GREAT power supply. I am still using one in one of my computers. The original 5vsb circuit has some design problems, but adding a small pc board with DM311 pwm chip takes care of that problem. Any glue that has turned brown or black must be removed (because it becomes conductive). And of course, the cheapo capacitors should be replaced. Best of all, you can install a fan on the back side of the power supply case, remove resistor R102, then install fan wires where R102 was. (If fan is too noisy just add a little series resistance in one of the fan leads) When computer is off but plugged into the wall outlet, the added fan will keep everything cool. When you power up the computer, the added fan shuts down and the original fan comes on and continues cooling the power supply. So don't say too many bad words about this really neat power supply!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Bestec 2 012.jpg (388.3 KB, 42 views)
__________________
Old proverb say.........If you shoot at nothing, you will hit nothing (George Henry 10-14-11)
everell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 11:06 PM   #27
BigTroll
Badcaps Veteran
 
BigTroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
City & State: Jefferson
My Country: LAMBDA SOND
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,256
Default Re: Can a Bestec be made good?

very impressive! i love it when someone takes a compromised design and turns it into something decent keep up the good work!
BigTroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 11:25 PM   #28
shovenose
Send Doge Memes
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfield, California
My Country: USA
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 6,354
Default Re: Can a Bestec be made good?

Nice job! Did you cut out where the fan is? I suggest you do becuase if the fan has the shove the air thorugjt the little vent slits in the psu casing there will be more noise and lower airflow
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 06:54 AM   #29
everell
Badcaps Veteran
 
everell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
City & State: Williamsburg, Virginia
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,222
Default Re: Can a Bestec be made good?

I used a nibbler tool to cut out a big hole before mounting the fan. Lots of air flow!
everell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2014, 08:53 AM   #30
mntegra01
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
City & State: Sandston
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 31
Default Re: Can a Bestec be made good?

Just chiming in here, I decided to disassemble my 2004 emachine, I don't have the specs with me right here ATM. But it has slowly become slower from what I think it should be. Loading google . com in chrome takes about 30-45 seconds.

I took it all apart and air canned the electronics and washed the plastic parts. It was extremely gross. It has a 300W PSU but again, I didnt think to get a pic. All I took a pic of was the MOBO. The Bestec 300W PSU looked fine. I did notice the CapXon 2 large caps and most of the rest were Jamicon and some black/yellow ones, which looked like a brand I have seen at Radio Shack, looked like it was a 'L' something.

This computer has been running for 10 years and of that time, I would leave it running in sleep mode or standby when I wasnt using it, I rarely shut it down. The glue has turned orange brownish. It is hard to tell how the caps are under the bundle of wires coming out of the corner.

Just wondering if the clumps of dust is making the computer slower?
Everything looking fine with the PSU does that mean it is good? It boots up fine and runs

side note, I saw some Sanyo caps on mobo, and they looked odd, it seemed like the caps were about to pop or the stress lines are deeper and more pronounced than say Rubycon. Sanyos were of a 'K' style also.
mntegra01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2014, 09:17 AM   #31
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,848
Default Re: Can a Bestec be made good?

start a new thread wih lots of foto's
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:33 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?