Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Samsung​ BN44-00703B power supply (TV turns off / on)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Samsung​ BN44-00703B power supply (TV turns off / on)

Hi guys! New around here

I have about 20 TVs that I got from a hotel.
    The model is Samsung HG40ND690DB (Hospitality TV).

These TVs are all having the same issue (presumably), that they randomly after some time turn off (and then turn on again a second later).

I am not very good with electronics, so hoping for some guidance as to
    where and how to diagnose which components of the power supply that might be failing. Don't have much else on hand than a multimeter and soldering iron.

No visible bulging on any of the capacitors.
    Have tried this already:
    - Replacing the 25v 1500uf capacitors with 35v 1500uf ones.
    - Disconnect WiFi module

- How should I measure the 2/3/4 pin mosfets with multimeter in-curcit? I'm guessing that's something I should check.

- Is this a model with known failures?
    - Which components should I continue to check (and how?)

Thank you!
    Please see attached pictures of one of the power supply boards.
    Attached Files

Re: Samsung BN44-00703B power supply (TV turns off / on)

what mainboard is used in these tvs.

Comment

If there are no swollen capacitors, then this does not mean anything that they are working, their capacitance decreases over time and ESR increases, they have both an open and a short circuit (and they look like new ones). If the Mosfet were faulty, then the power supply would not start at all.

Comment

maybe worth trying a factory reset on them too
        https://www.factoryreset.tv/reset/samsung-hg40ed690db

Comment

Check if the TV really turns off fully like you pressed the off button and then pressed the on button again or is it just the back light cutting out for a second. Monitor the PSon pin and see what that does. I wonder if the problem is on the main board or not.

Comment