This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Recommend me a MultiMeter

Hey guys im very new to the whole DIY and replacing bad Caps etc but ive managed so far to repair 2 out of 4 monitors without any problems.
    Although the 3rd one i was repairing had some bad transistors and a pico fuse. I just wanted to know what MultiMeter you guys would recommend for a newbie like me to get in order to be able to see whats good and whats bad (Capacitors, Transistors etc) rather than having to replace everything and hope for the best :P thanks in advance guys

Re: Recommend me a MultiMeter

Hi Demix

Welcome to the Forum!

Most modern digital multimeters are good enough for resistance, current and voltage checks.

There are a few things to keep in mind while shopping:

Most multimeters that have capacitance ranges do not go above 200μf. Most of the capacitors that give us trouble are rated much higher than that. I use a BK Precision 815 component tester that ranges to 20,000μ for testing capacitors.

On the subject of Capacitors, multimeters do not generally check ESR (Equivalent Series Resistance). ESR is probably the most important value to check when dealing with electrolytic capacitors. A separate ESR meter is required to check this.

If you intend to be doing much in the way of current measurements (Amps, MilliAmps) find out how much the little fuses inside the meter cost.
    Fluke, which is a very reputable brand uses insanely expensive fuses. Most other meters use much cheaper generic fuses.

Display update rate. How quickly the meter updates the display is useful for observing rapid fluctuations. Also useful is a bar-graph along the top or bottom of the display. Faster is better. Nowdays, most stuff is decently fast.