Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2022, 02:27 PM   #1
SluggerB
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
City & State: Philadelphia, PA
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 557
Default 2 LG TV's in same room, one remote turns both on or off ...

I have 2 LG TV's in a room. It seems the power button is the only IR button on the remote, since pressing the power button on either remote turns on/off both TV's. Once turned on, the remotes only work on their respective TV's (that is a setting I set on each, I gave each it's own ID)


I have "solved" the issue by putting electrical tape over most of the sensor on front of the TV's so they dont pick up the other remote's signal, but I was wondering of there was a more elegant electrical fix that could be done on the board of the remote and/or TV to make the remotes power button truly independant

Last edited by SluggerB; 05-22-2022 at 02:31 PM..
SluggerB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2022, 02:54 PM   #2
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,547
Default Re: 2 LG TV's in same room, one remote turns both on or off ...

hahah this is really funny project.. open each RC and put black plastic ring ( should cover the end of LED ) on the IR LED so it will be focused at straight direction LOL
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2022, 08:07 PM   #3
SluggerB
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
City & State: Philadelphia, PA
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 557
Default Re: 2 LG TV's in same room, one remote turns both on or off ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diah View Post
hahah this is really funny project.. open each RC and put black plastic ring ( should cover the end of LED ) on the IR LED so it will be focused at straight direction LOL
I accomplished basically the same thing by taping over the reciever. I was wondering if there was a way to replace a component in the remote and/or TV to make it distinct
SluggerB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:37 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?