Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tools - Order of purchase

Hey guys,

I am new to the electronics repair game & have stumbled into some tools to get my workshop (garage) started.

I managed to get my hands on a low budget multi-meter, soldering iron, de-soldering gun, oscilloscope and a variable voltage/amperage DC power supply.

With this being a new hobby i am thinking of investing in some tools to make it a little easier.

When i get paid next i was thinking of buying a Peak Atlas ESR 70 gold.

I am after suggestions on what order to buy things because i don't have the money to buy everything all at once.

I have most tools like screw drivers, pliers, sockets/spanners etc.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

I have been mostly tinkering with broken machines / appliances so far have not really got my hands on any computers or phones that require working at an extra small scale.

Thanks.

Re: Tools - Order of purchase

Make yourself something called a dim bulb tester. Very useful to have. Also if your oscilloscope that plugs into power mains circuit, you want an isolation transformer. Other than that, you should be kittet out pretty darn good for starters. Not so sure what you mean by low cost DMM… you may want a second and a bit better quality DMM. A electronic microscope is also important, depending on your eyesight and component size.

Comment

Nice bit of kit the Peak but a cheap component tester from ali/ebay will measure your caps to let you know which are faulty.

Comment

"Any suggestions would be appreciated."

If you plan to work with smd (nowadays is almost all that), then hotair station and some magnification, fine pick and tweezers, fine hammer, files... little brushess for cleaning, ipa, little organiser for screws...

Cheap transistor testers work wery well for me... no point to buy expensive one?
        Think about a eprom programmer, if you unsure, a low cost is ch341a always handy to have.