Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need help with a Samsung UN60EH6003

Hello All,

I'm a hobbyist at best, I've built a few radio kits (I'm a Ham), but other than that I'm a newbie at electronics.

A friend gave me a Samsung UN60EH6003 that works about 50% of the time. Specifically, it demonstrates the common Samsung dreaded dead screen and blinking standby light when you try to turn it on. To be more specific, 50% of the time when you press the power button it starts normally, 50% of the time when you press it the screen does not come on, there is no startup tune sounded, and the red standby light blinks slowly.

When it does not start, I'm able to start it occasionally by unplugging and pressing the power button to dump any charge in the capacitors (at least I think that is what I'm doing) for about 30 seconds during which the standby light goes off, then plugging it back in and pressing the power button. Other times if I leave it plugged in and try to start it hours later it starts up, sometimes not.

I believe the unit utilizes the BN44-00500B power board. When I unplug the power board from the mainboard the pannels backlight comes on. This is the pinout graphic on the board next to where the jack for the cable from the powerboard to the mainboard is located.

When the cable to the mainboard is unplugged these pins read as:
    Pin 14: 3.387
    Pin 13: 5.398
    Pin 12: 5.398
    Pin 11: 5.398
    Pin 10: 0
    Pin 9: 0
    Pin 8: 0
    Pin 7: 12.77
    Pin 6: 2.99
    Pin 5: 12.76
    Pin 4: 12.76
    Pin 3: 12.76
    Pin 2: 3.013
    Pin 1: 12.77

When the cable to the mainboard is plugged in these pins read as:
    Pin 13: 2.4
    Pin 11: 2.4
    Pin 9: 0
    Pin 7: 0
    Pin 5: 0
    Pin 3: 0
    Pin 1: 0
    I haven't removed the powerboard from the pannel's backplate so I haven't gotten the even pin readings as they are only accessible from the backside of the board when the cable is plugged in.