Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Game Consoles & Other Weird Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2020, 09:39 PM   #21
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,742
Default Re: PS3 Super Slim PSU

I would also recommend change all three capacitors next to that ic chip “FS117”
__________________
9 PC LCD Monitor
6 LCD Flat Screen TV
30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
1 Dell Mother Board
15 Computer Power Supply
1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *


These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board ( VFD Failure Five Years Later )
2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 09:08 AM   #22
rtstorm
Badcaps Veteran
 
rtstorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: Croatia, Osijek
My Country: Croatia
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 741
Default Re: PS3 Super Slim PSU

I check those caps and they are ok, i replace most of them. Is it normal that +5VSB_RETURN is shorted to gnd? I check and it is shorted on mainboard and psu. I disconect it and test separate. And now i discovered when mainboard is not connected with psu i got +5 on +5VSB and +5v on ACIN_DET. So is the priblem with mainboard?
__________________
...the quieter you become the more you are able to hear...

Last edited by rtstorm; 03-29-2020 at 09:12 AM..
rtstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 09:42 AM   #23
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 24,987
Default Re: PS3 Super Slim PSU

RETURN is an old name for neutral or ground.
so that's o.k.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 11:41 AM   #24
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,726
Default Re: PS3 Super Slim PSU

You did pretty good so far. You discovered that the psu is loaded down by a short on the main board. The psu is fine. From here on it probably gets a little ugly.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 11:57 AM   #25
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 24,987
Default Re: PS3 Super Slim PSU

does the slim have the damned nec-tokin prodalizer ceramic caps on it??
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 12:20 PM   #26
rtstorm
Badcaps Veteran
 
rtstorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: Croatia, Osijek
My Country: Croatia
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 741
Default Re: PS3 Super Slim PSU

I think, here is the picture of mainboard.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg viber_image_2020-03-29_20-17-12.jpg (409.0 KB, 25 views)
File Type: jpg viber_image_2020-03-29_20-17-11.jpg (219.3 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg viber_image_2020-03-29_20-17-09.jpg (229.9 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg viber_image_2020-03-29_20-17-10.jpg (241.4 KB, 13 views)
rtstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 12:26 PM   #27
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,726
Default Re: PS3 Super Slim PSU

So, as soon as you plug this board in, your stby voltage disappears, correct?
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 12:38 PM   #28
rtstorm
Badcaps Veteran
 
rtstorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: Croatia, Osijek
My Country: Croatia
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 741
Default Re: PS3 Super Slim PSU

When i diconect 4-pin connector and plug in PSU in wallet i get 5.5V on +5VSB, and 5V on ACIN_DET. ACDC_STBY is 0V. When i plug in the 4-pin to mainboard i lose those 5V on both (+5VSB and ACIN_DET)
Attached Images
File Type: png 5v.png (584.9 KB, 13 views)
rtstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 12:55 PM   #29
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,726
Default Re: PS3 Super Slim PSU

Yeah, there is a short on the main board all right. Do you have tools like a constant voltage, constant current power supply, DMM, hot air etc?

Try to measure with your DMM in Ohms setting between 5vsb and 5vsb Return on the main board.

Last edited by CapLeaker; 03-29-2020 at 12:57 PM..
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 12:56 PM   #30
rtstorm
Badcaps Veteran
 
rtstorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: Croatia, Osijek
My Country: Croatia
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 741
Default Re: PS3 Super Slim PSU

Yes i have it all exept osciloscope
rtstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 01:04 PM   #31
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,726
Default Re: PS3 Super Slim PSU

If you got a lab psu, you could feed the main board 5v, one or 2 amps and try to feel with you fingers if something gets hot. You also can douse parts of the main board with IPA and see if it evaporates or bubbles in a specific section. Could be anything from IC’s to a shorted smd multilayer cap.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 01:54 PM   #32
rtstorm
Badcaps Veteran
 
rtstorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: Croatia, Osijek
My Country: Croatia
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 741
Default Re: PS3 Super Slim PSU

Ok so i connect 5V to the +5VSB and ACIN_DET and i got red light on the on/off switch. I hear some wining sound from board, and i notice that WiFI module is getting hot.
The marking on this is :
384FF0C6C3D7
Rev 1.1
AW-GM381-2-12040-0BH
rtstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 02:14 PM   #33
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,726
Default Re: PS3 Super Slim PSU

How much is the current draw?

A whiny something shouldn’t be with the ps3 off. At least I do t think so. Maybe remove the wifi module and plug the ps3 psu in.

Last edited by CapLeaker; 03-29-2020 at 02:18 PM..
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 02:26 PM   #34
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,726
Default Re: PS3 Super Slim PSU

Watch this: https://youtu.be/eEJ9zCgbg4k
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 02:36 PM   #35
rtstorm
Badcaps Veteran
 
rtstorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: Croatia, Osijek
My Country: Croatia
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 741
Default Re: PS3 Super Slim PSU

I already watch that video before. It draw 0.3A, but at first it drop my voltage to 2.3V and then come up to 5.5V. i will try to remove it and then check
rtstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 02:43 PM   #36
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,726
Default Re: PS3 Super Slim PSU

Umm something is off if the main board is working on your bench power supply only drawing 0.3A. I mean you load tested the ps3 psu at 0.5A, right?
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 03:14 PM   #37
rtstorm
Badcaps Veteran
 
rtstorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: Croatia, Osijek
My Country: Croatia
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 741
Default Re: PS3 Super Slim PSU

Sorry, dis not understand you. What do you mean by load the tested ps3 psu az 0.5A?
I noticed that at first Amps jump to 1.9A then go down to 0.3-0.5amp.

Last edited by rtstorm; 03-29-2020 at 04:04 PM..
rtstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 09:32 AM   #38
rtstorm
Badcaps Veteran
 
rtstorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: Croatia, Osijek
My Country: Croatia
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 741
Default Re: PS3 Super Slim PSU

I remove the WiFi little board and i got working But it will only work when i short +5VSB and ACIN_DET. I test the console and it boot up and run normaly (just no WiFI). Do you have any idea why it wont work without jumping wire those 2 pins?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg wifi_short.JPG (47.6 KB, 9 views)

Last edited by rtstorm; 03-30-2020 at 09:34 AM..
rtstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 09:51 AM   #39
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 24,987
Default Re: PS3 Super Slim PSU

probably needs the wifi for the initial self-test
a lot of other consoles wont boot without the module either
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 11:05 AM   #40
rtstorm
Badcaps Veteran
 
rtstorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: Croatia, Osijek
My Country: Croatia
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 741
Default Re: PS3 Super Slim PSU

Yes it could be. My controller does not work so i assume that this chip is for Bluetooh also . I thought that i could use console with LAN cable but obviously i need to replace it
rtstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:35 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?