Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Power Supplies and Power Supply Design
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2021, 02:49 AM   #1
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: Idaho
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,216
Default Adding Passive PFC coil to PSU?

So I want to swap another PSU into this unique case that has had the original guts fail. The PSU case was designed for a PPFC coil, so I'd like to incorporate it into the drop in.

So I really can't remember. Can't you just drop in the PPFC coil? Most PCBs are labeled for them but I really can't remember. There isn't any circuitry that needs to be added? The one in question has a polypropylene capacitor attached to it:


Would I just install this where the circled jumper is?


How much does the coil improve the PFC %, realistically?

I will make a separate thread for the case replacement.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20211213_003326.jpg (695.7 KB, 55 views)
File Type: jpg 20211213_003237.jpg (351.2 KB, 57 views)
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2021, 11:15 AM   #2
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,111
Default Re: Adding Passive PFC coil to PSU?

Yes it is as easy as you theorized.
The PF will increase from ca 0.5 to around 0.7 if you add PFC.
Here are some more details: https://www.silverstonetek.com/techt...h_pfc&area=usa
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."
Per Hansson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2021, 02:47 PM   #3
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: Idaho
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,216
Default Re: Adding Passive PFC coil to PSU?

Thanks for the link! Definitely worth it since it doesn't cost anything. It's already got the screw holes to hold it in place as well.

Do I install it at the circled jumper, or do I need to post an overhead shot and/or the bottom solder side?
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2021, 12:10 PM   #4
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,111
Default Re: Adding Passive PFC coil to PSU?

The intent is that the circled jumper is removed and then there should be a connector populated in the square of that silkscreen that your coil connects to.
Both ways would of course work fine, just verify what I say when you look under the board...
Per Hansson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2021, 07:54 PM   #5
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: Idaho
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,216
Default Re: Adding Passive PFC coil to PSU?

Do I need a connector, or is it just preferred? I don't think I have that size, so I may need to just solder it straight to the board.

Here is the bottom of the board that the PPFC coil is originally in. This PSU was set at 230V only, does that mean the coil would be in a different place than it would be if it was 115V only? I do plan on permanently setting the replacement PSU to 115V. I will post pictures of that one shortly.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20211215_164950.jpg (450.9 KB, 30 views)
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2021, 08:29 PM   #6
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: Idaho
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,216
Default Re: Adding Passive PFC coil to PSU?

Here is the PSU that I would like to put the PPFC coil into:


Side question: I'm fairly certain but since I've been out of electronics for a while, I want to be sure. The yellow line is going to each of the points where the voltage selector switch goes into the PCB. If I want this to be 115V permanently, is this where I would put a wire?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20211215_181128.jpg (494.8 KB, 30 views)
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2021, 01:39 PM   #7
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,111
Default Re: Adding Passive PFC coil to PSU?

The connector is optional of course, a directly soldered wire will always be more reliable if done well, coil will be the same for 115 vs 230v.
---
Yes that looks to be right, easy enough to verify with a multimeter in continuity mode.
Just measure when you close the switch to confirm your idea.
Per Hansson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2021, 04:36 PM   #8
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: Idaho
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,216
Default Re: Adding Passive PFC coil to PSU?

Good to know so you think that I should be able to install the coil at that jumper and it should work? I want to be sure before I try. I don't have access to PSUs like I used to so they're more difficult to come by for me these days lol
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2021, 04:19 AM   #9
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: Idaho
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,216
Default Re: Adding Passive PFC coil to PSU?

Okay so it turns out the replacement PSU won't work, the PCB is too big I have a Macron MPT-301 and another PSU. The Macron doesn't have any PFC markings at all but the other PSU does.

However, there is something that I noticed from looking at other PPFC PSUs online. Some of them have a white and black wire, as well as markings for IN and OUT. Are these for N and L? Does it matter, because this PPFC coil only has two black wires.
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2021, 09:36 AM   #10
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,111
Default Re: Adding Passive PFC coil to PSU?

No I don't think it matters, it is just a coil, not a transformer.
Per Hansson is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:23 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?