Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2017, 05:40 PM   #1
nelson6861
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: syracuse
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 61
Default Sharp LC-70C8570U

I have a sharp tv with a blink code of 2 blinks and 5 flashes. I have no back lights when it is powered on.
I removed the back and tested all back light. They all work.
I took reading and it seem everything points to the main board. Any help... im also thinking i will need schematics for this tv and a reset to get rid of fault code.
The tcon board looks like it had some thermal issues from pictures
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20171130_211407.jpg (538.1 KB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg 1512170866415457085741.jpg (617.3 KB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg 1512170901987772154580.jpg (805.3 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg 1512170922494427097759.jpg (964.8 KB, 16 views)
nelson6861 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 05:46 PM   #2
freakaftr8
Badcaps Veteran
 
freakaftr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: Folsom, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120vac 60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,720
Default Re: Sharp LC-70C8570U

1st of all how did you test the backlights did you remove the LCD panel in physically power the backlights with a dmm?

If you look on this forum you will see many postings about faults with sharp LCD TV's especially the 70 Inch panel. When you 1st power the TV do you get a solid light light before the 2 - 5 Flash? Do you see any indication of the back lights coming on even briefly before shutdown? Also we would watch your monitor voltage to the tcon. you should be getting 12 v to the connector
__________________
Did I leave the soldering iron on?

Last edited by freakaftr8; 12-01-2017 at 05:49 PM..
freakaftr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 06:30 PM   #3
attainteddragon
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: victoria
My Country: australia
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 711
Default Re: Sharp LC-70C8570U

pin 15 stby voltage is present, but pin 14 ps/on command is missing.

so right now you are not getting your on command from the main board to turn on the ps.
__________________
WHY CAN'T PHILIPS USE PHILLIPS HEAD SCREWS?
attainteddragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 06:42 PM   #4
freakaftr8
Badcaps Veteran
 
freakaftr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: Folsom, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120vac 60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,720
Default Re: Sharp LC-70C8570U

Hold down ch+ vol- power while plugging it in. Or try ch- vol+ power.
freakaftr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 06:51 PM   #5
budwich
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Kanata Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,168
Default Re: Sharp LC-70C8570U

if your attempted "power checking" was done with the tcon disconnected as shown in your pictures, then it is unlikely that you will get "ps-on"... you need to have at least one "side" of the tcon connected to something (ie. two cables).
budwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 07:04 PM   #6
freakaftr8
Badcaps Veteran
 
freakaftr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: Folsom, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120vac 60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,720
Default Re: Sharp LC-70C8570U

Quote:
Originally Posted by budwich View Post
if your attempted "power checking" was done with the tcon disconnected as shown in your pictures, then it is unlikely that you will get "ps-on"... you need to have at least one "side" of the tcon connected to something (ie. two cables).

I believe sharp tcon will function without the panel connected is long as a tcon is connected
freakaftr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 09:05 AM   #7
nelson6861
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: syracuse
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 61
Default Re: Sharp LC-70C8570U

I have a led backup light tester for leds.
I removed led and tested then individually.
When i power on tv, i got nothing from panel no lights.
I tried the fault re set combo but may be im doin it wrong.
nelson6861 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 09:19 AM   #8
nelson6861
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: syracuse
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 61
Default Re: Sharp LC-70C8570U

Also plugged tcon board back in...
Measure 0v tcon connection on main board also
nelson6861 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 09:23 AM   #9
nelson6861
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: syracuse
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 61
Default Re: Sharp LC-70C8570U

Sorry.. i miss spoke..
No 0v on tcon board should be 12v
nelson6861 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 09:31 AM   #10
nelson6861
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: syracuse
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 61
Default Re: Sharp LC-70C8570U

I am suspecting main board....
Any schematics or where i might find...
This board is expensive and hard to find...
Dkeymf953fm01... or would fm06 or other versions work
nelson6861 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 10:03 AM   #11
nelson6861
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: syracuse
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 61
Default Re: Sharp LC-70C8570U

Ok retested and used the right fault reset
Vol down and input..
Had 12v on tcon board....
nelson6861 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 10:05 AM   #12
nelson6861
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: syracuse
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 61
Default Re: Sharp LC-70C8570U

Green led light is flashing on main board...
I am goin to retest power supply point..
Still same fault code 2/5 no leds light up and they were tested good
nelson6861 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 10:40 AM   #13
nelson6861
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: syracuse
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 61
Default Re: Sharp LC-70C8570U

Ok results from power supply reading.
Also reading from Led connector 83 volts.
This is with power ON condition
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20171203_113556.jpg (520.3 KB, 11 views)
nelson6861 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 11:42 AM   #14
nelson6861
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: syracuse
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 61
Default Re: Sharp LC-70C8570U

Ok new reading from bridge rectifier and regulators on the board... i think i am getting close
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20171203_123424.jpg (467.8 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg 20171203_121455.jpg (921.4 KB, 11 views)
nelson6861 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 12:48 PM   #15
freakaftr8
Badcaps Veteran
 
freakaftr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: Folsom, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120vac 60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,720
Default Re: Sharp LC-70C8570U

Okay all this is going on with the panel connected to the T con or not?
freakaftr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 12:59 PM   #16
nelson6861
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: syracuse
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 61
Default Re: Sharp LC-70C8570U

Yes all connections are made on tv
nelson6861 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 01:05 PM   #17
nelson6861
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: syracuse
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 61
Default Re: Sharp LC-70C8570U

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakaftr8 View Post
Okay all this is going on with the panel connected to the T con or not?
Yes t con board is connected
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1512327687335829083853.jpg (767.0 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg 15123277173901865171186.jpg (1,013.7 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg 15123277426731771904619.jpg (906.1 KB, 5 views)
nelson6861 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 02:10 PM   #18
freakaftr8
Badcaps Veteran
 
freakaftr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: Folsom, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120vac 60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,720
Default Re: Sharp LC-70C8570U

Ok try the same procedure with all 4 ribbons disconnected from tcon to panel. That you will still have the tcon connected to mainboard Then try just the left two thenr the right two
freakaftr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 05:20 PM   #19
nelson6861
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: syracuse
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 61
Default Re: Sharp LC-70C8570U

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakaftr8 View Post
Ok try the same procedure with all 4 ribbons disconnected from tcon to panel. That you will still have the tcon connected to mainboard Then try just the left two thenr the right two
Ok i will
nelson6861 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 06:06 PM   #20
nelson6861
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: syracuse
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 61
Default Re: Sharp LC-70C8570U

Right ribbon cable disconnected /left connected to t-con board.
-no fault code flashes
-no picture or backlights

Left ribbon cable disconnected / right connected to tcon board
- 2/5 flash fault code
- no picture or backlights
nelson6861 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:40 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?