Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Computer Displays
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2019, 01:34 PM   #81
roadrash
Badcaps Veteran
 
roadrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
City & State: Cambridgeshire
My Country: U.K.
Line Voltage: 240VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 298
Default Re: Help with dead Commodore 1802

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
just a thought, check the mains smoothing cap - the big electrolytic.
I temoved it and my component tester says consistanty its around 54nf when it should be 150uf 400wv. I still have this resistor showing a dead short that isba red,purple,silver,silver

Last edited by roadrash; 11-16-2019 at 01:37 PM..
roadrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 04:18 PM   #82
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,548
Default Re: Help with dead Commodore 1802

red purple silver silver is 2.7ohms 10% i think - that's probably less than your test-leads, so it's fine
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 04:28 PM   #83
roadrash
Badcaps Veteran
 
roadrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
City & State: Cambridgeshire
My Country: U.K.
Line Voltage: 240VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 298
Default Re: Help with dead Commodore 1802

So if that filter cap is 54nf is it ok? Its marked as 150uf and 400wv. Isn't 54nf nano farad?
roadrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 04:47 PM   #84
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,548
Default Re: Help with dead Commodore 1802

yes, it's fuckered as AVE would say!
that could have been the fault.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 08:51 PM   #85
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,871
Default Re: Help with dead Commodore 1802

That main cap. being open would cause the problem. I had a power smps recently that had a near open main filter and it would blow the main fuse even though everything else (fet etc.) checked ok. All I needed to replace was the main filter and the power supply worked.
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 03:24 PM   #86
roadrash
Badcaps Veteran
 
roadrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
City & State: Cambridgeshire
My Country: U.K.
Line Voltage: 240VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 298
Default Re: Help with dead Commodore 1802

Right so I just use a 150uf 400v one then?
What is 400wv or is that just volts?
roadrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 03:27 PM   #87
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,871
Default Re: Help with dead Commodore 1802

WV= Working Voltage. Thats how they some were marked in the past. it just means Voltage rating of the cap.
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 04:26 PM   #88
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,548
Default Re: Help with dead Commodore 1802

you can use 450v if it helps it fit the board better

a rubicon BXW series is probably a good choice if the size matches.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 06:55 PM   #89
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,630
Default Re: Help with dead Commodore 1802

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
WV= Working Voltage. Thats how they some were marked in the past. it just means Voltage rating of the cap.
Some older capacitors may also have two voltage markings; WV for Working Voltage, and SV for Surge Voltage.
__________________
"Tantalum for the brave, Solid Aluminium for the wise, Wet Electrolytic for the adventurous"
-David VanHorn
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 03:19 PM   #90
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,548
Default Re: Help with dead Commodore 1802

try tweeking the focus control - if you know your cables are well shielded
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 08:09 PM   #91
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,548
Default Re: Help with dead Commodore 1802

focus can drift as components age - try ajusting it.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:50 AM   #92
roadrash
Badcaps Veteran
 
roadrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
City & State: Cambridgeshire
My Country: U.K.
Line Voltage: 240VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 298
Default Re: Help with dead Commodore 1802

At last the replacement capacitor arrived.
Ive soldered it in a plugged it in and nothong happened and neither of the light bulbs we soldered in lit up. Should they have? Should i remove that bulb bridging where the resistor was and solder back in the resistor now.
roadrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:56 AM   #93
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,548
Default Re: Help with dead Commodore 1802

check your fuses - the lamps should do something even if the cap was not fitted
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:14 AM   #94
roadrash
Badcaps Veteran
 
roadrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
City & State: Cambridgeshire
My Country: U.K.
Line Voltage: 240VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 298
Default Re: Help with dead Commodore 1802

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
check your fuses - the lamps should do something even if the cap was not fitted
There is 250v ac entering the psu and the fuse is ok.
roadrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:17 PM   #95
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,548
Default Re: Help with dead Commodore 1802

refit / connect everything other than the big resistor and try.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:26 AM   #96
roadrash
Badcaps Veteran
 
roadrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
City & State: Cambridgeshire
My Country: U.K.
Line Voltage: 240VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 298
Default Re: Help with dead Commodore 1802

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
refit / connect everything other than the big resistor and try.
Ok done that and it powered up without blowing anything but can see anything like the power light iluminate but at least i dont think anything blew.
roadrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:58 PM   #97
roadrash
Badcaps Veteran
 
roadrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
City & State: Cambridgeshire
My Country: U.K.
Line Voltage: 240VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 298
Default Re: Help with dead Commodore 1802

Quote:
Originally Posted by roadrash View Post
Ok done that and it powered up without blowing anything but can see anything like the power light iluminate but at least i dont think anything blew.
That was a bit unclear. Ive plugged it in and its taken power without blowing anything so thats got to be good. I still have the light bulb in place instead of the big resistor but I removed the light bulb and soldered back in the coil. I can sometimes faintly hear something when i turn it on but otherwise it doesnt do anything.
roadrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 02:22 PM   #98
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,548
Default Re: Help with dead Commodore 1802

so the only lamp is inplace of the inrush resistor?
then it should be glowing.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 02:58 PM   #99
roadrash
Badcaps Veteran
 
roadrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
City & State: Cambridgeshire
My Country: U.K.
Line Voltage: 240VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 298
Default Re: Help with dead Commodore 1802

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
so the only lamp is inplace of the inrush resistor?
then it should be glowing.
No the lamp thats in place of the resistor doesnt glow and the heater on the tube isnt glowing either.
roadrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:20 PM   #100
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,548
Default Re: Help with dead Commodore 1802

i'll go over the schematic again on saturday
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:38 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?