Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Equipment Usage, Soldering, Techniques, and Reviews
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2019, 02:15 AM   #21
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,276
Default Re: Advice for a new BGA rework station owner please

I use a universal stencil (1mm pitch 6mm balls) often. It's larger than the LG processor and there is a square inside with no balls. I just place a large piece of kaptop tape over the stencil then cut away with a scalpel where I want the balls. Takes a lot less time than an an hour and it's less fiddly than trying to remove balls.

Clean room wipes are better than cotton pads as they are lint free.
diif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 06:09 AM   #22
dicky96
Badcaps Veteran
 
dicky96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Sunny Gran Canaria
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 220V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 415
Default Re: Advice for a new BGA rework station owner please

Can't I also use specific (made for a particular BGA) 80mm or 90mm stencils with that same universal station that diif posted?

I get the idea to have some universal stencils for when i don't have the specific one and don't want to wait a month

I have a bottle of Topnik TK83 flux that I never used much. Is that any use for this sort of work?

Last edited by dicky96; 11-19-2019 at 06:13 AM..
dicky96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 07:13 AM   #23
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,276
Default Re: Advice for a new BGA rework station owner please

Yes, it holds any stencil 80 or 90mm, universal or specific.

Tacky flux is advised to hold the balls in place.
diif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 07:31 AM   #24
dicky96
Badcaps Veteran
 
dicky96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Sunny Gran Canaria
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 220V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 415
Default Re: Advice for a new BGA rework station owner please

OK, thanks diif. I like your idea of using kapton tape and cutting it to make a specific stencil from a universal one, while I am waiting for specific ones to arrive.

Including 10 universal stencils and 10x solder balls, does this kit contain everything I would want to get started? It's a bit unclear, what they call 'solder paste' looks like flux to me in the pics.


https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3304...chweb201603_55

I will get the 30 Amtech flux you first advised.

One other question - would that reball station hold a LGA socket, should I want to reball one? I can get 90mm stencils for various LGA.

Last edited by dicky96; 11-19-2019 at 07:33 AM..
dicky96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 08:40 AM   #25
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,276
Default Re: Advice for a new BGA rework station owner please

Yes, that's flux not solder paste, it should get you started yes. I initially had a much simpler holder but it only held square chips and it wasn't so easy to adjust the height of the stencil above it.

I've got an 1156 socket here to test with and whilst it's held firmly by the clamps, it's too tall and sits just a little too high for the stencil to sit just above it.

Decent braid is a must if you don't already have some, I use Chemtronics.
diif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 11:36 AM   #26
dicky96
Badcaps Veteran
 
dicky96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Sunny Gran Canaria
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 220V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 415
Default Re: Advice for a new BGA rework station owner please

OK I ordered that kit.

Actually I suppose replacement LGA sockets are pretty cheap anyway so maybe it's not even worth the effort of reballing them. I have a few motherboards lying around with problems such as can't detect RAM or cant' detect PCIe graphics card, and I've not managed to fix those ones.

I was just wondering how many of those may actually have problems with bad connections on the CPU socket (not bent pins) or North bridge.
dicky96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 01:32 PM   #27
dicky96
Badcaps Veteran
 
dicky96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Sunny Gran Canaria
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 220V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 415
Default Re: Advice for a new BGA rework station owner please

I got the Amtech Flux

I also got some Mechanics XG50 Solder paste, as I fancied trying some because I've not used paste before with SMD

This is getting to be quite a shopping list lol but I think I may have what I need now to get going

The Rework Station is one it's way now - I have tracking number and it should be here about 5-7 days time. I do hope that does not turn out to be a POS, like m4a2t0t thinks!!

Last edited by dicky96; 11-19-2019 at 01:33 PM..
dicky96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 04:36 PM   #28
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,276
Default Re: Advice for a new BGA rework station owner please

There was/is a user from here that use to reball using a toaster oven element for the bottom heater and hot air for the top.
He upgraded to a 3 zone machine similar to yours but with out the auto bit.
I doubt the one you've bought is a POS.
diif is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:38 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?