Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2017, 02:20 PM   #1
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,610
Default Another custom C(r)apXon in FSP unit!!

So when I finally got the Rubycons ZLQ 1200/16 and 2200/6.3 in D8 stocked, I thought I at least have something better than CrapXon for a while with the 1200/16, as they make custom 2200/6.3 for some time now, but been still only seeing 1000/16 in D8.

Umm, guess not! FSP has just another custom KF crap, this time 1500/16 in D825 mm! This won't ever stop, will it?
__________________
Less jewellery, more gold into electrotech industry! Half of the computer problems is caused by bad contacts

Exclusive caps, meters and more!
Hardware Insights - power supply reviews and more!
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2020, 07:45 AM   #2
pc7fan
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
City & State: Maritimes
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 250V Split-phased, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 49
Default Re: Another custom C(r)apXon in FSP unit!!

Seen 16V 470uF custom CrapXons in 6.3x20 in FSP too, got to love it...
pc7fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2020, 04:38 AM   #3
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,610
Default Re: Another custom C(r)apXon in FSP unit!!

You're right, I've seen those too in some newer units.
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 01:30 AM   #4
momaka
master hoarder
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 10,583
Default Re: Another custom C(r)apXon in FSP unit!!

Lol. Talk about a cat and mouse game.

This is why I much rather work on HiPro PSUs instead. Units like this one are just so much easier to recap. The 5V rail already has spots for 12.5 mm caps. But even the other cap spots that are only 10 mm diameter... most of these will easily accommodate 12.5 mm caps. Also, the 5VSB rail 2nd cap is 8 mm dia. but will take 10 mm cap fine too. HiPro / Chicony left so much space on the secondary side that I literally put whatever cap I have the most in stock at the time that fits the specs of the originals.

Last edited by momaka; 11-21-2020 at 01:31 AM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2020, 11:16 AM   #5
televizora
ghettomodmaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Bulgaria
My Country: Bulgaria
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 913
Default Re: Another custom C(r)apXon in FSP unit!!

Just don't replace them with Su'scon.
__________________
Useful conversions. I don't "speak" imperial. Please use metric, if you want to address me.
1km=1000m=100000cm, 1inch=2.54cm, 1mile=1609.344meters, 1ft=30.48cm 1gal(US)=3.785liters, 1lb=453grams, 1oz=28.34grams
televizora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2020, 02:14 PM   #6
BigTroll
Badcaps Veteran
 
BigTroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
City & State: Jefferson
My Country: LAMBDA SOND
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,251
Default Re: Another custom C(r)apXon in FSP unit!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by televizora View Post
Just don't replace them with Su'scon.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BYNOuqRwR3M
__________________
My Computer: AMD Ryzen 9 3900X, Asrock X370 Killer SLI/AC, 32GB G.SKILL TRIDENT Z RGB DDR4 3200, 500GB WD Black NVME and 2TB Toshiba HD,Geforce RTX 3080 FOUNDERS Edition, In-Win 303 White, EVGA SuperNova 750 G3, Windows 10 Pro
BigTroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2020, 07:56 PM   #7
momaka
master hoarder
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 10,583
Default Re: Another custom C(r)apXon in FSP unit!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by televizora View Post
Just don't replace them with Su'scon.
Well, fortunately I don't have any Su'scon caps in stock (not new anyways... and the old ones I have are for testing stuff only if they're still in spec.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTroll View Post
Lol, that 3D render intro was trippy - like it came out a 90's movie
(Speaking of which, anyone remember those 3D renders in Jonny Quest? They seemed so realistic at the times. Now... not so much... though still a blast to see. )

Anyways, at least Su'scon's got a video. CapXon don't have even that.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:47 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?