Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Power Supplies and Power Supply Design
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2018, 11:20 PM   #41
shahab950122676
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
City & State: ahwaz
My Country: iran
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Powerware 9120 Online UPS

Hi
Ihave powerwave9120
Please send me schematic diyagram
shahab950122676 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2018, 11:31 PM   #42
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,610
Default Re: Powerware 9120 Online UPS

Where exactly would we get one? They don't just lay by the road…
__________________
Less jewellery, more gold into electrotech industry! Half of the computer problems is caused by bad contacts

Exclusive caps, meters and more!
Hardware Insights - power supply reviews and more!
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2021, 03:20 AM   #43
AleXis6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
City & State: Minsk
My Country: Belarus
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: Powerware 9120 Online UPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Behemot View Post
Where exactly would we get one? They don't just lay by the road…
I have the diagrams for 700, 100, 1500, 2000, 3000
Attached Files
File Type: zip 00.zip (2.44 MB, 11 views)

Last edited by AleXis6; 06-27-2021 at 03:27 AM..
AleXis6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2021, 03:03 AM   #44
AleXis6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
City & State: Minsk
My Country: Belarus
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: Powerware 9120 Online UPS

I recently bought couple rarely used 9120 3000i (it seems slightly different inside by components).
I need only one UPS (second one will be a backup).
Now I am using Line-interactive UPS but the quality of electricity is not good and I want to replace current UPS to online.
Both powerware UPS in a working condition.
I was surprised that all soldered capacitors based on their datasheets have a service life just 1000-2000 Hr (at 85C or 105C).

I am going to install automatic fan regulator and add some fans - the idea is to reduce noise and organize air flow more efficient, but the average temperature inside will be increased.

Also I think to change all capacitors to new genuine brand name caps with more longer service life and higher ripple current. Due to onboard capacitors have been made about 15-17 years ago.
May be it is a very expensive idea and I need to replace just bad capacitors.

Could you please advice.

Also a question about low leakage current series.
there are Nippon KME series onboard with extremely low leakage current (.002CV ), could you please advice which series are successor of Nippon KME . May be KZM will be ok.

please see capacitors onboard

new png image thank you
instead of 470 F * 450V I am going to buy Hitachi 680 F * 450V HP32W681MRAS7 or please advice which is the best (due to price for this nominal is to high)? I never changed such big caps before may be I wrong and existing capacitors will work long time.

Last edited by AleXis6; 09-09-2021 at 03:36 AM..
AleXis6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2021, 04:11 AM   #45
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,610
Default Re: Powerware 9120 Online UPS

Don't bother with the large caps, those rarely fail (unless there's like 80+ C and you use for for decades 24/7).

You can try to replace KME with LE, they have slightly lower ESR but still higher than low-ESR series do, that may work OK.

Doesn't the UPS drive the fan by its own regulator?
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2021, 01:26 AM   #46
AleXis6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
City & State: Minsk
My Country: Belarus
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: Powerware 9120 Online UPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Behemot View Post
Don't bother with the large caps, those rarely fail (unless there's like 80+ C and you use for for decades 24/7).
You can try to replace KME with LE,
thank you
It seems that Nippon LE just 100F as maximum for 25V.
There is also a couple 220 F onboard.
I will try to find several different low esr capacitors with 8-10k Hr service life and manually check the best low leakage current.

I think UPS has some kind of fun regulator - noisy and super noisy modes :-)

There are 2 fans onboard - each has 2 wires connected in parallel so I hope my trick will work without faults fan on a display. I am going to install 4-7 fans and regulate their rpm automatically based on nearest radiators temperature. The power of all fans will be 2-2.5 times higher at full speed, my idea is to reduce rpm in standard UPS mode and in case of high temperature inside - temporary increase air flow and after quick reducing T then return to less noisy mode.
I never used online UPS before and I found at least 2 negative points:
1. energy consumption significantly higher compared to mine line interactive UPS
2. because of the first point, the fans work very loudly to prevent the temperature of the components from exceeding the allowable limits

In parallel with the adjustment of the fans, I will try to cover the space around the UPS with car noise insulation.
AleXis6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2021, 03:59 PM   #47
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,610
Default Re: Powerware 9120 Online UPS

leakage current is the last parameter that should bother you, it's generaly very small either way and it only matters in some kinds of audio/amplifier/radio circuits, not in filtering; watch ESR so it does not differ too much, some driving circuitry is tuned to certain ESR and shifting that too much could cause unexpected behaviour

cooling adjustment is always tricky, the factory controller setting is there for some reason, changing the cooling behaviour could end very badly
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2021, 11:52 PM   #48
AleXis6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
City & State: Minsk
My Country: Belarus
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: Powerware 9120 Online UPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Behemot View Post
leakage current is the last parameter that should bother you;
watch ESR so it does not differ too much, some driving circuitry is tuned to certain ESR and shifting that too much could cause unexpected behaviour
but leakage current in theory may reduce working time on batteries isn't that?

about ESR agree with you, I repaired my old Metcal soldering station this weekend and it took me a couple of hours to pick up a capacitor. The ones with ESR less than 150 mOhm caused sync failure (although the description of the chip says the problem is <30 mOhm) as a result I put capacitor with ESR 200 mOhm

Last edited by AleXis6; 09-19-2021 at 11:54 PM..
AleXis6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2021, 02:21 AM   #49
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,610
Default Re: Powerware 9120 Online UPS

Consumption of the UPS itself is by order of several magnitudes higher than any losses through capacitor leakage. If you want some real difference, upgrading power silicon components to those with lower R(ds) is a way to go.
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:04 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?