Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2020, 08:52 AM   #21
jayjr1105
Senior Member
 
jayjr1105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Central PA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 197
Default Re: 3300uf 6.3v for xbox

Seems like this brown cap all the way on the left corner is in parallel with the other two caps I replaced on the lower right side. Is that possible being they are so far away?

https://prnt.sc/uabe84
__________________
--------------------------------------------------------------
Ryzen 3600x
16GB Patriot 3600MHz
MSI B450 Gaming Plus
MSI Air Boost Vega 56
Acer 32" 1440P Freesync
Rosewill Capstone 750W
--------------------------------------------------------------
Hakko FX-888D Station
FX-8802 Iron
MG Chem .8mm 63/37 RA 2.2%
jayjr1105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2020, 09:51 AM   #22
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,393
Default Re: 3300uf 6.3v for xbox

yes, the caps are often placed close to the chips that consume the most power.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2020, 10:32 AM   #23
jayjr1105
Senior Member
 
jayjr1105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Central PA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 197
Default Re: 3300uf 6.3v for xbox

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
yes, the caps are often placed close to the chips that consume the most power.
I mean, I have never seen it before where a cap is in parallel with caps far away on the board. Continuity with the positive lead determines that right?

Last edited by jayjr1105; 09-02-2020 at 10:47 AM..
jayjr1105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2020, 10:58 AM   #24
momaka
master hoarder
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 10,600
Default Re: 3300uf 6.3v for xbox

Quote:
Originally Posted by jayjr1105 View Post
I mean, I have never seen it before where a cap is in parallel with caps far away on the board. Continuity with the positive lead determines that right?
Correct.

It's actually very common for the voltage rails from the power supply to run all across the board and have parallel caps everywhere where there is high-power consumption, as stj noted. Those brown caps in particular supply that you pointed out appear to supply the VRMs. So it's normal what you see.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2020, 12:21 PM   #25
PeteS in CA
Badcaps Veteran
 
PeteS in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: USA, Unsure of Planet
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz & 115VAC, 400Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,244
Default Re: 3300uf 6.3v for xbox

Placing caps close to varying and pulsing loads decreases the trace resistance and inductance between the load and the energy stored in the capacitor. With ICs with very fast high magnitude load transients there often is a network of capacitors of different value and type, some that are very low ESR and ESL but low capacity to respond fast, some that are higher in capacity but also higher ESL to handle what the faster lower capacity caps could not handle. Sun Microsystems was doing this in the mid 1990s.
__________________
PeteS in CA

Power Supplies should be boring: No loud noises, no bright flashes, and no bad smells.
****************************
All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
- J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring
****************************
To kill personal responsibility, initiative or success, punish it by taxing it. To encourage irresponsibility, improvidence, dependence and failure, reward it by subsidizing it.
****************************
Laughable prediction, https://principia-scientific.com/doc...l-most-people/ ; Fully Vaxxed May 2021; Viva CallSJ "5K" (actually 3.26 miles), 9/19/21, 51:19; Belmont Water Dog 10K, 10/9/21, 1:52:45; 11.8 miles, 3:50:16, 9/4/21
PeteS in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2020, 12:31 PM   #26
jayjr1105
Senior Member
 
jayjr1105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Central PA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 197
Default Re: 3300uf 6.3v for xbox

Great, thanks for those explanations. My final question is, should I replace that final 3300uf brown cap with a 2200uf to match the other two? Remember I replaced the bottom right one AND populated that empty cap spot with two 2200uf 10v Panasonic FM's. A third Panasonic 2200uf on the left side would complete the original 6600uf total capacitance.


Last edited by jayjr1105; 09-02-2020 at 01:29 PM..
jayjr1105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2020, 07:07 PM   #27
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,393
Default Re: 3300uf 6.3v for xbox

no, because your decreasing the cap value.
if you replace a 3300uf cap, use a 3300uf cap or use a 2000uf polymer.

if the circuit didnt need 3300uf them M$ wouldnt have paid for one.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2020, 11:56 AM   #28
bulkchart32
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
City & State: mississippi
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10
Default Re: 3300uf 6.3v for xbox

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
if you search the forum i'v done a number of posts about this subject and how to upgrade to polymer caps
did u notice any difference in performance when upgrading to polymer caps?
bulkchart32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2020, 12:09 PM   #29
jayjr1105
Senior Member
 
jayjr1105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Central PA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 197
Default Re: 3300uf 6.3v for xbox

Quote:
Originally Posted by bulkchart32 View Post
did u notice any difference in performance when upgrading to polymer caps?
Caps either do their job or don't. You won't see any differences unless you hook it up to a scope maybe.
jayjr1105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2020, 01:11 PM   #30
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,393
Default Re: 3300uf 6.3v for xbox

well it doesnt crash - so the polymers work
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2020, 01:28 PM   #31
bulkchart32
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
City & State: mississippi
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10
Default Re: 3300uf 6.3v for xbox

Quote:
Originally Posted by jayjr1105 View Post
Caps either do their job or don't. You won't see any differences unless you hook it up to a scope maybe.
so high quality caps won't reduce the amount of frame drops while playing a stressful game?
bulkchart32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2020, 05:13 PM   #32
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,393
Default Re: 3300uf 6.3v for xbox

framedrop is because the hardware is pushed to the limit.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2020, 08:04 AM   #33
jayjr1105
Senior Member
 
jayjr1105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Central PA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 197
Default Re: 3300uf 6.3v for xbox

If you don't go the polymer route, I've concluded that these are best cheap option for 1.0-1.4 xbox's.
https://www.digikey.com/en/products/...332MHD/2598225

And these for 1.6 models since they are closer together and you should go with 10mm wide caps
https://www.digikey.com/en/products/...C10X25/6049998

Yes 27mm height is acceptable on the right side of the board, just not under the optical drive.

Both caps are very low (not quite ultra low) ESR and have adequate ripple current.
jayjr1105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2021, 11:51 PM   #34
ecordovas
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
City & State: Lima
My Country: Peru
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Smile Re: 3300uf 6.3v for xbox

Hi, I was looking information about the following:

I have an xbox 1.0, that has 5x 1500uf caps and I am wondering if can I change those by 3 x 3300uf caps? Would it be safe for the console?
ecordovas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2021, 07:56 AM   #35
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,393
Default Re: 3300uf 6.3v for xbox

yes, but using 5 polymers is better.
and the 3300uf caps are tall - so dont put one in the way of the heatsink clip
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2021, 08:41 AM   #36
ecordovas
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
City & State: Lima
My Country: Peru
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Smile Re: 3300uf 6.3v for xbox

Thank you for the quick answer @stj

I don't have many options to buy replacement components, I can only work with things in Amazon, because I live outside US and I want to fix my xbox soon.

Maybe I can order the polymer capacitors for the future, so I can replace them some months in the forward, should I use the same specs 1500uf 6.3v and 3300uf 6.3v (I have 1.0 - 1.6 xboxes)?
ecordovas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2021, 08:59 AM   #37
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,393
Default Re: 3300uf 6.3v for xbox

find my thread about fitting polymers - it has lots of links to aliexpress.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:55 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?