Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2021, 01:54 PM   #1
JunkmanJimbo
Senior Member
 
JunkmanJimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Mount Holly, NC
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 132
Default TCL 32S331 ribbon cable to t-con board

Can anybody tell me what type of glue or adhesive I need to reattach the ribbon cable from the screen back to a replacement t-con board on a TCL 32S331 TV? What is the process and where can I get the materials and or the tools to do this? Thanks in advance!
JunkmanJimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2021, 03:32 PM   #2
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: TCL 32S331 ribbon cable to t-con board

pictures please ..
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2021, 04:41 PM   #3
JunkmanJimbo
Senior Member
 
JunkmanJimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Mount Holly, NC
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 132
Default Re: TCL 32S331 ribbon cable to t-con board

The first picture is the defective t-con board already removed from the tv.
The second picture still has the ribbon cable attached that goes to the panel. I got this picture from Ebay.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_4480.JPG (232.5 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg s-l1600.jpg (587.5 KB, 11 views)
JunkmanJimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2021, 06:51 PM   #4
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: TCL 32S331 ribbon cable to t-con board

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=epc4Uj37TMc
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2021, 09:25 PM   #5
JunkmanJimbo
Senior Member
 
JunkmanJimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Mount Holly, NC
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 132
Default Re: TCL 32S331 ribbon cable to t-con board

Is there a way to do this without the machine in the video?
JunkmanJimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 01:19 AM   #6
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,547
Default Re: TCL 32S331 ribbon cable to t-con board

Quote:
Originally Posted by JunkmanJimbo View Post
Is there a way to do this without the machine in the video?
The machine uses a microscope for alignment and then adheres the ACF tape using heat and pressure. You're free to copy that any way you like.
diif is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 08:17 AM   #7
JunkmanJimbo
Senior Member
 
JunkmanJimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Mount Holly, NC
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 132
Default Re: TCL 32S331 ribbon cable to t-con board

Thanks diif! Any suggestions? I've been looking for ACF tape but the only place it's available is China, as far I can find. I have found a t-iron attachment on Amazon. Are there any other tapes or adhesives that can be used in place of ACF tape? Looking forward to your reply. Thank you!
JunkmanJimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 10:26 AM   #8
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,547
Default Re: TCL 32S331 ribbon cable to t-con board

No, only ACF tape can be used. It's conductive in one direction. https://www.silmantech.com/whats-acf...-does-it-work/
diif is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 12:14 PM   #9
JunkmanJimbo
Senior Member
 
JunkmanJimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Mount Holly, NC
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 132
Default Re: TCL 32S331 ribbon cable to t-con board

Are there any places to get the ACF tape in the United States? It will probably take about a month to get it from China.
JunkmanJimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 12:21 PM   #10
JunkmanJimbo
Senior Member
 
JunkmanJimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Mount Holly, NC
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 132
Default Re: TCL 32S331 ribbon cable to t-con board

Quote:
Originally Posted by diif View Post
No, only ACF tape can be used. It's conductive in one direction. https://www.silmantech.com/whats-acf...-does-it-work/

Will this work?
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...ref_=pd_gw_unk
JunkmanJimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 12:52 PM   #11
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,547
Default Re: TCL 32S331 ribbon cable to t-con board

No, it's not conductive in the way ACF tape is.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf ACF Rework.pdf (349.1 KB, 4 views)
File Type: pdf ACFInterconnect_6000575.pdf (210.7 KB, 4 views)
diif is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 01:17 PM   #12
JunkmanJimbo
Senior Member
 
JunkmanJimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Mount Holly, NC
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 132
Default Re: TCL 32S331 ribbon cable to t-con board

Any chance you might have some of this acf tape I could buy from you for this job? Or, maybe there is somebody else on here that might have it for sale that you're familiar with?
JunkmanJimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 02:24 PM   #13
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,547
Default Re: TCL 32S331 ribbon cable to t-con board

I don't have any, I have no need to be messing with that sort of work. If you put ACF tape into the search box above you can see which users have toyed with the idea and the progress they've made.
diif is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:18 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?