Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer & Tech Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2021, 01:56 PM   #1
canadaboy25
I hate waiting!
 
canadaboy25's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
City & State: Saskatchewan
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 439
Default Drive SMART status not showing up through RAID controller?

Hey guys,

I have an Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0 motherboard with AMD RAIDXpert. I set up a 1000GB RAID1 array on it. This was about 8 years ago. Every once in a while, a power outage or something would knock one drive offline and degrade the array. After a reboot the drive would be back online and it would rebuild just fine.

Recently, a drive dropped offline and the array became degraded. I figured it was no big deal and rebooted then set it to rebuild overnight. The next morning I took a look and both drives had dropped offline at 70% rebuild. Uh oh.

I rebooted and tried rebuilding a few more times but one of the drives kept going offline. Figured it must be bad so I swapped another in and started rebuilding to it. The rebuild was almost complete when the other drive went offline.

I am currently cloning the last drive to a good drive as it does not seem likely that it will do a successful rebuild. And yes, I know RAID is not a backup. I have several backups of the drive. I am just cloning it to save me the trouble of reinstalling some programs that I didn't have at the time of the last backup.

I tossed the first failed disk in another PC while the other one was cloning to take a look at the SMART data. 7120 bad sectors. Ouch. No wonder it wouldn't rebuild.

This leads to my question. Why on earth would the RAID controller never alert me to such an unhealthy disk? This disk has obviously been going out for a long time and it was just after the second disk started going bad that I found the problem. Trying to view the SMART data on the PC when the drive is in RAID just gives "not supported".

I have another way older PC with a RAID controller that I just use as a server for some video games. I am using a hard drive with bad sectors since I really don't care if it dies abruptly. However, every time I boot that PC, it beeps and complains that one of my RAID disks are failing.

Is there something that I am doing wrong with the AMD AMD RAIDXpert that I can't see the SMART data from the OS, and that the RAID controller never complains even when there is a disk that has both feet in the grave? It seems to defeat the purpose of the RAID array... Having one disk go bad and then just swapping a new one in isn't an option when the controller waits until both disks are bad to alert me to the problem...

Let me know your thoughts.
__________________
canadaboy25

-Sometimes the light at the end of a tunnel is an on-coming train

Last edited by canadaboy25; 09-24-2021 at 02:23 PM..
canadaboy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 02:21 PM   #2
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,559
Default Re: Drive SMART status not showing up through RAID controller?

EZRAID is just software RAID, it doesn't monitor SMART.
diif is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 02:24 PM   #3
canadaboy25
I hate waiting!
 
canadaboy25's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
City & State: Saskatchewan
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 439
Default Re: Drive SMART status not showing up through RAID controller?

Quote:
Originally Posted by diif View Post
EZRAID is just software RAID, it doesn't monitor SMART.
Sorry, I don't know where I got EZRAID from. I meant to put RAIDXpert. Edited the original post.

Every time I boot, I get the raid ROM page showing that everything is healthy, even though it wasn't

I suppose RAIDXpert is just the name of the interface software. The actual controller is part of the AMD SB950 chipset.

And in either case of it being software or hardware RAID, why would either of them block the SMART data from third party programs on the OS??

Last edited by canadaboy25; 09-24-2021 at 02:27 PM..
canadaboy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 04:44 PM   #4
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,559
Default Re: Drive SMART status not showing up through RAID controller?

It's still not real RAID, have you checked in the BIOS to see if SMART is enabled ?
What program are you trying to read the SMART with ?

This video suggests RAIDXpert does record bad sectors. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ezS5svpP2XU

Last edited by diif; 09-24-2021 at 04:52 PM.. Reason: Added video.
diif is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 05:03 PM   #5
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,383
Default Re: Drive SMART status not showing up through RAID controller?

You have to watch your RAID.

Make sure your software alerts you whenever a drive gets kicked and you need to do due diligence to find out why it got kicked and make sure rebuilds succeeds each time. I don't get random power outage induced drive kicks from my software RAID5 and software RAID1.

Heck I even can poll SMART data from the disks as needed.

This is Linux mdraid of course...

Incidentally I'm suffering disk puke failures on my RAID and am carefully making sure I have backups. What's annoying is that I use a RAID1 for my backup of my RAID5 and that RAID1 had a failure... not to mention one of my RAID5 disks is starting to fail.

Sigh. Probably in the market for a 2TB disk RSN.
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 05:24 PM   #6
canadaboy25
I hate waiting!
 
canadaboy25's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
City & State: Saskatchewan
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 439
Default Re: Drive SMART status not showing up through RAID controller?

Quote:
Originally Posted by diif View Post
It's still not real RAID, have you checked in the BIOS to see if SMART is enabled ?
What program are you trying to read the SMART with ?

This video suggests RAIDXpert does record bad sectors. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ezS5svpP2XU
Funny, the dude has exactly the same model of failing hard drives as I do. I will check for SMART settings in the BIOS once the drive is done cloning.

In my RAIDXpert software the SMART status is "Not Available" where his is "Healthy". I have tried several different programs. The one I use the most is HDSentinel. It just gives a generic value of 75% health and no details to the disks that are part of the RAID array. I can see the SMART info for all my other drives that are not part of the RAID array.


Quote:
Originally Posted by eccerr0r View Post
You have to watch your RAID.

Make sure your software alerts you whenever a drive gets kicked and you need to do due diligence to find out why it got kicked and make sure rebuilds succeeds each time. I don't get random power outage induced drive kicks from my software RAID5 and software RAID1.

Heck I even can poll SMART data from the disks as needed.

This is Linux mdraid of course...

Incidentally I'm suffering disk puke failures on my RAID and am carefully making sure I have backups. What's annoying is that I use a RAID1 for my backup of my RAID5 and that RAID1 had a failure... not to mention one of my RAID5 disks is starting to fail.

Sigh. Probably in the market for a 2TB disk RSN.
Yes, I thought I was keeping an eye on it. Whenever a drive went offline, the RAIDXpert software popped up telling me that my array was critical. I would reboot and it would rebuild successfully.

I never thought that the drives were going bad as I was never getting any drive health warnings. Like I said, every other PC I've had with onboard RAID has given me warnings about bad disks at the BIOS ROM boot screen.

Last edited by canadaboy25; 09-24-2021 at 05:55 PM..
canadaboy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2021, 07:30 PM   #7
canadaboy25
I hate waiting!
 
canadaboy25's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
City & State: Saskatchewan
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 439
Default Re: Drive SMART status not showing up through RAID controller?

I took a look through the BIOS and SMART Reporting was enabled. However, the RAID mode was set to "Legacy ROM" and the other option was "UEFI Driver". I figured this had to be the problem. I switched the setting over and then Windows wouldn't boot because my system drive was MBR instead of GPT.

Should've been an easy fix but somehow my System Reserved boot partition was on the 1000GB RAID array that was failing and my Windows installation was on my SSD. So after days of struggling to get the system reserved partition moved and make the OS bootable again, I finally got my SSD switched over to GPT and the UEFI Driver setting enabled in the BIOS. During this process I found a 3rd bad disk in my 2000GB RAID array. Luckily the other disk in the array did not have any bad sectors yet.

To my disappointment, this didn't do anything. HDSentinel still just gives ? for the SMART status of the drives connected to the RAID controller. Even for disks that are not a part of the array such as my SSD. CrystalDiskInfo doesn't even detect the disks at all.

The drives now show a "Healthy" status in the RAIDXpert utility but this obviously means absolutely nothing. I plugged one of the bad drives into another PC to get the SMART status. I have attached a screenshot of the info. 256 bad sectors with 2576 pending bad sectors shows up as "Healthy" on the RAID utility. The other drive in the array had 16 bad sectors and 16 pending bad sectors. Not nearly as bad but it still caused the rebuild to fail at 70%. How the RAID utility considers this disk "Healthy", I have no idea.

If I boot the computer from a linux USB stick, I can read the SMART data from all the drives, even the ones that are a part of an array. The files in the array are also available in a separate volume. So obviously the RAID controller is allowing the SMART data to be read. However, I have not found any way to do so from Windows. Any ideas?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Disk.JPG (124.0 KB, 13 views)
canadaboy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2021, 08:13 PM   #8
canadaboy25
I hate waiting!
 
canadaboy25's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
City & State: Saskatchewan
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 439
Default Re: Drive SMART status not showing up through RAID controller?

Nevermind, just rebooted the system and the SMART status in RAIDXpert is back to "Not Support". So there must be something wrong with the SMART implementation in their Windows driver...
canadaboy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2021, 09:14 PM   #9
TechGeek
Computer Geek
 
TechGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: Nowhereland, Texas
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120/2/[email protected]
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,885
Default Re: Drive SMART status not showing up through RAID controller?

Protip: A drive regularly dropping out of the array is NOT NORMAL UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES. I suggest booting up Linux and checking the SMART stats with:
Code:
smartctl -d sat -a /dev/sdX
where X is the drive letter corresponding to the array member disk.

EDIT: Oops, just read that you managed to pull SMART. Junk that Seagate drive ASAP before it takes the array down for good.
__________________
Don't buy those $10 PSU "specials". They fail, and they have taken whole computers with them.

My computer doubles as a space heater.

Windows 10? Only if you like forced, buggy updates and 24/7 telemetry.

Samsung = Seagate = Seatrash = Trashgate
Don't buy Seagate drives. Don't use Seagate drives. If you have any in service right now, make plans to replace them ASAP.

SMR = Slow Magnetic Recording
Avoid SMR, buy CMR drives instead. SMR is easily a 15+ year step BACKWARDS in HDD speed.

Permanently Retired Systems:
RIP Advantech UNO-3072LA (2008-2021) - Decommissioned and taken out of service permanently due to lack of software support for it. Not very likely to ever be recommissioned again.



TechGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2021, 10:35 PM   #10
momaka
master hoarder
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 10,600
Default Re: Drive SMART status not showing up through RAID controller?

I've had good luck with HDDScan to read SMART info from drives where other softwares failed, including CrystalDisk. So perhaps give that a try and see if you can still read your drives' SMART through Windows. If not, then it likely it some kind of a limitation between Windows and the hardware you're running (like from the drivers?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TechGeek View Post
Junk that Seagate drive ASAP before it takes the array down for good.
Agreed.

If I remember correctly, those Seagate STxxxxDM003 drives are 7200.12 models or similar... but ones that weren't affected by the BSY bug (or at least Seagate never provided a Firmware update for them.) Just saw a bunch of broken ones for sale on eBay the other day too. LOL.

FWIW, I don't trust anything from Seagate past the 7200.7 and 7200.9 drives. Well, maybe can make an exception for the SCSI 10k server Cheetahs... but that's about it. With all of their newer models, this is the only thing they are good for, IMO:
https://www.badcaps.net/forum/attach...1&d=1604205421
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2021, 04:31 AM   #11
piernov
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Valbonne, 06
My Country: France
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,327
Default Re: Drive SMART status not showing up through RAID controller?

Never trust these meaningless "health percentage" or whatever. Pending/uncorrectable sectors >= 1 → dead HDD, and you already lost data.
__________________
OpenBoardview http://openboardview.org
piernov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2021, 06:15 PM   #12
canadaboy25
I hate waiting!
 
canadaboy25's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
City & State: Saskatchewan
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 439
Default Re: Drive SMART status not showing up through RAID controller?

Yes, obviously all 3 drives with bad sectors have been removed and replaced with good drives. The spares I had on hand have 40000+ hrs on them but have no bad or pending sectors so they will be fine until I find some replacements.

And yes, I was not looking at the silly "Health" value on the HDSentinel tool, but rather the ~2500 pending sectors and 256 bad sectors.

One of the RAID arrays did not survive. Since both drives had bad sectors, the array would never rebuild. I cloned the best of the two drives to a good temporary drive, deleted the array, replaced the disks, created a new array, and then cloned the partition from the backup to the new array.

I gave HDD scan a try, but it gave the same results. Could not see the SMART data of any drives connected through the RAID SATA ports on the motherboard.

I guess I will just have to boot from the linux USB once every couple weeks to check on the SMART status. It sucks a lot, but I guess it is better to go through the inconvenience and find a failing drive while the array still has potential to be rebuilt.

Very frustrating that all the SMART data can be read in linux, but nothing I can do will let me access it from Windows. Must be a driver limitation like was mentioned.
canadaboy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2021, 09:59 PM   #13
TechGeek
Computer Geek
 
TechGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: Nowhereland, Texas
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120/2/[email protected]
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,885
Default Re: Drive SMART status not showing up through RAID controller?

Also, PassMark DiskCheckup is a good Windows utility for reading SMART data (and tracking it over time)
TechGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:54 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?