Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2021, 03:58 PM   #1
repair-it
New Member
 
repair-it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
City & State: Long Island NY
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 18
Default Trying to locate this safety cap

I believe this is an x2 1uf 450v but not 100% sure. Tried to locate one and didn't have much success. Is anyone familiar? These are on a power board from a Vizio set.


thanks,
rich
Attached Images
File Type: jpg safety_cap.jpg (423.2 KB, 19 views)
repair-it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2021, 05:42 PM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,393
Default Re: Trying to locate this safety cap

its not X2 or it would say so - although it probably should be!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2021, 05:43 PM   #3
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,988
Default Re: Trying to locate this safety cap

1uf film
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2021, 07:12 PM   #4
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 7,350
Default Re: Trying to locate this safety cap

What is wrong with the cap? it is likely ok.
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2021, 09:41 AM   #5
repair-it
New Member
 
repair-it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
City & State: Long Island NY
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 18
Default Re: Trying to locate this safety cap

I have one that failed open, tested out of circuit. As I stated, I know what it is, just not able to locate a replacement other than 400v.

Last edited by repair-it; 07-15-2021 at 09:43 AM..
repair-it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2021, 12:34 PM   #6
PeteS in CA
Badcaps Veteran
 
PeteS in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: USA, Unsure of Planet
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz & 115VAC, 400Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,242
Default Re: Trying to locate this safety cap

As stj said, it's not an X2 rated capacitor. If it were it would be covered with safety agency approval markings. Maybe look into 630VDC rated film capacitors. 450V is an odd rating in my experience.
__________________
PeteS in CA

Power Supplies should be boring: No loud noises, no bright flashes, and no bad smells.
****************************
All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
- J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring
****************************
To kill personal responsibility, initiative or success, punish it by taxing it. To encourage irresponsibility, improvidence, dependence and failure, reward it by subsidizing it.
****************************
Laughable prediction, https://principia-scientific.com/doc...l-most-people/ ; Fully Vaxxed May 2021; Viva CallSJ "5K" (actually 3.26 miles), 9/19/21, 51:19; Belmont Water Dog 10K, 10/9/21, 1:52:45; 11.8 miles, 3:50:16, 9/4/21
PeteS in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2021, 01:39 PM   #7
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 7,350
Default Re: Trying to locate this safety cap

It is just a film cap across the bridge rectifier DC side, to suppress high frequency from the pfc circuit. But if you want a link to the original, here is one:
Here is a link to the original https://www-taobao-com.translate.goo...o=ajax,sc,elem
They call it a safety cap but is not.
Digikey has lots of 1f 450vdc film caps

Last edited by R_J; 07-15-2021 at 01:50 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2021, 02:58 PM   #8
repair-it
New Member
 
repair-it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
City & State: Long Island NY
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 18
Default Re: Trying to locate this box cap

ok, thanks for that info. I'm curious how you found it (China original). I tried for hours on Google.

I was considering the higher voltage version and maybe an X2 version. I have one of these that is open on the AC side and wasn't sure it was contributing to the flickering back light shut down issue, so I was considering my options as I go down the rabbit hole on this one. Possibly the IC LED driver is bad. 3 supposedly good boards - weren't- and when I finally got a good working one, I'd like to figure out where the fault is on the original since the good board fix the flicker issue.

Last edited by repair-it; 07-15-2021 at 03:04 PM..
repair-it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2021, 01:54 AM   #9
bestsystem
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 56
Default Re: Trying to locate this safety cap

May be this is a cost down safety cap without proper certification approval, a sign of Chinese cost down product.
bestsystem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2021, 03:17 AM   #10
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,393
Default Re: Trying to locate this safety cap

backlight issue is almost always the leds going bad.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2021, 01:52 PM   #11
repair-it
New Member
 
repair-it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
City & State: Long Island NY
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 18
Default Re: Trying to locate this safety cap

Yes, that was my first thought but they tested ok (tester isn't a guarantee) the behavior when the set was turned on seemed more like a shut down due to an over voltage (short) condition and once I put a working power board in, that cured the back light problem. LED driver IC is built into the power board and it may have failed on the original board, still testing that board for faults and comparing it to the working board. Legitimate working boards for this set are in high demand & hard to come by.
repair-it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2021, 02:02 AM   #12
televizora
ghettomodmaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Bulgaria
My Country: Bulgaria
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 913
Default Re: Trying to locate this safety cap

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteS in CA View Post
As stj said, it's not an X2 rated capacitor. If it were it would be covered with safety agency approval markings. Maybe look into 630VDC rated film capacitors. 450V is an odd rating in my experience.
450v is not odd rating at all. 230x1.44(square root 2) means that the amplitude of the voltage in 230V AC grid(230v effective) can go up to 331.2V. If the device is not region specific and can operate from 120 to 240V, then 450V is ideal capacitor voltage. In worst case scenario can be eventually replaced with 400V if you know that the peak voltage wont go beyond 380-390V
__________________
Useful conversions. I don't "speak" imperial. Please use metric, if you want to address me.
1km=1000m=100000cm, 1inch=2.54cm, 1mile=1609.344meters, 1ft=30.48cm 1gal(US)=3.785liters, 1lb=453grams, 1oz=28.34grams

Last edited by televizora; 07-18-2021 at 02:04 AM..
televizora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2021, 03:03 AM   #13
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,393
Default Re: Trying to locate this safety cap

but what if it has a pfc voltage booster?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2021, 09:52 AM   #14
televizora
ghettomodmaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Bulgaria
My Country: Bulgaria
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 913
Default Re: Trying to locate this safety cap

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
but what if it has a pfc voltage booster?
1. The capacitor which the author mentioned is most likely input noise filter capacitor. Have to see a picture of the whole board.
2. There are different types of PSU-s. There are quite a lot with serious PFC circuits, other are with much simpler design.
There are PSU-s with simple filter capacitors after the rectification stage, there are some with serious APFC circuits.
In some cases 450V can be replaced with 400V. In other cases - it cannot be replaced with 400V. Depends.
If PFC voltage booster is used, then 450V is a must and cant be replaced with 400V.

Last edited by televizora; 07-18-2021 at 10:09 AM..
televizora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2021, 10:32 PM   #15
TechGeek
Computer Geek
 
TechGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: Nowhereland, Texas
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120/2/[email protected]
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,885
Default Re: Trying to locate this safety cap

This is very likely an RFI filter cap. Open filter = excessive line noise. Excessive line noise = weird and generally bizarre behavior, up to and including microprocessor lockups, watchdog timeouts, and/or firmware corruption. Change the filter and see if problems disappear.
__________________
Don't buy those $10 PSU "specials". They fail, and they have taken whole computers with them.

My computer doubles as a space heater.

Windows 10? Only if you like forced, buggy updates and 24/7 telemetry.

Samsung = Seagate = Seatrash = Trashgate
Don't buy Seagate drives. Don't use Seagate drives. If you have any in service right now, make plans to replace them ASAP.

SMR = Slow Magnetic Recording
Avoid SMR, buy CMR drives instead. SMR is easily a 15+ year step BACKWARDS in HDD speed.

Permanently Retired Systems:
RIP Advantech UNO-3072LA (2008-2021) - Decommissioned and taken out of service permanently due to lack of software support for it. Not very likely to ever be recommissioned again.



TechGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2021, 04:50 PM   #16
repair-it
New Member
 
repair-it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
City & State: Long Island NY
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 18
Default Re: Trying to locate this safety cap

Figured out the 'flickering back light' issue. The Regulator shunt AS431BZ was bad. It was almost the last component to be tested as I went down the rabbit hole on this one - a good lesson though.🤔 Vizio e601i-A3. Board dated 7/13/12. Unfortunately, the panel is/went bad.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg e601i_main board.jpg (733.1 KB, 12 views)
repair-it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2021, 02:20 AM   #17
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,393
Default Re: Trying to locate this safety cap

interesting,
i'v never seen a 431 fail personally.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2021, 10:24 AM   #18
repair-it
New Member
 
repair-it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
City & State: Long Island NY
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 18
Default Re: Trying to locate this safety cap

Well, if I tested it properly? As suggested in this article - I did get a small reading when I tested the last step. I assume when he says no reading, my meter should not move at all?

https://jestineyong.com/how-to-test-...gulator-tl431/
repair-it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2021, 02:38 AM   #19
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,842
Default Re: Trying to locate this safety cap

Well if replacing the TL431 got your device working again it can be a safe bet that was it.
But if you are interested in testing it properly you need to build a small circuit with it.
This was the simplest one I managed to find with a quick search:
https://diodnik.com/en/kak-proverit-tl431/
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2021, 12:58 PM   #20
repair-it
New Member
 
repair-it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
City & State: Long Island NY
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 18
Default Re: Trying to locate this safety cap

Interesting...thank you, always learning.
repair-it is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:32 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?