Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer & Tech Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2019, 06:33 PM   #61
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,957
Default Re: Ratdude's Main Rig V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdude747 View Post
I did read of people BIOS modding the liscenses in... but that screams trouble. I've already fought the BIOS gods and lost on this board, and I don't quite have the cojones to go there, especially since it's not a well documented mod and I'm not an x86 assembly expert.
If it ain't fucked, don't fix it and post #15 suggests ; the unlucky fairies come to play quite often/the devil makes work for idle hands.

I've only known one person with an SLI installation. I don't remember the cards but there was lots of faff getting it set right and the gains weren't great.
diif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 02:10 PM   #62
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 118-127V 59-63.5 Hz-> actualizo: pérdido de voltaje
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,300
Default Re: Ratdude's Main Rig V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
I wouldn't say that....more along the lines of what diif said... They aren't targeting the gamer crowd, and hence, not a lot of demand for SLI support amongst their target audience. I was only doing it to tinker around....I had no intention of actually using that system for anything gaming and/or productive.
It was the directory the X58 drivers are in on their web site, LOL
__________________
MSI B450 Tomahawk

Ryzen 7 "Matisse" 3700X

16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 SDRAM

XFX Radeon RX 580 8 GB

eVGA Supernova G3 750W






"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Don't eat yellow snow!" -Salem

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 12:33 AM   #63
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,216
Default Re: Ratdude's Main Rig V6

For a variety of reasons, I moved this system to windows 10 tonight.

Good news:

-Activation worked out.
-Most things work out of the box.
-Once I installed classic shell and reconfigured some things, it seems to be OK to use.

Bad news:

-Intel network teaming is not supported. Not that I was really gaining anything from using such. Bummer though.

If this works I may do the same with my other systems new enough to be compatible... I remembered what happened when XP lost support... at least for me stuff seemed to get infected a bunch all of the sudden (don't know why, I don't go to BS sites or the like). Hence why I migrated to W7 at that point.
__________________


(Insert witty quote here)
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2020, 06:48 PM   #64
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,216
Default Re: Ratdude's Main Rig V6

While working on another build, I've discovered an issue:

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?p=955091

The issue is my GPU is lagging/bottlnecking like a SOB. I've played musical GPUs, and the issue is the system, not the GPUs.

In novabench, I should be getting around 60FPS... I'm getting around 13-15. consistently.

Also, I'm having intermittent keyboard lag, but I suspect that might be a logitech unifying issue. I might swap the keyboard and mouse for wired units as a test to see if anything changes.
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2020, 07:18 PM   #65
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,957
Default Re: Ratdude's Main Rig V6

Possibly a chipset driver issue.
diif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2020, 09:18 AM   #66
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,216
Default Re: Ratdude's Main Rig V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by diif View Post
Possibly a chipset driver issue.
...and Intel has none listed for windows 10, nor does SM. It uses dual Intel 5520 chipsets. Windows is using default drivers dated to 2006.

However, I did some digging and apparently the windows 7 drivers are also marked for windows 8 and 8.1... and successfully installed.

Rebooting, will try again.
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2020, 09:26 AM   #67
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,216
Default Re: Ratdude's Main Rig V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdude747 View Post
...and Intel has none listed for windows 10, nor does SM. It uses dual Intel 5520 chipsets. Windows is using default drivers dated to 2006.

However, I did some digging and apparently the windows 7 drivers are also marked for windows 8 and 8.1... and successfully installed.

Rebooting, will try again.
Nope, no change in FPS.

Might need to scour the BIOS settings... this is lame.
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2020, 09:41 AM   #68
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 118-127V 59-63.5 Hz-> actualizo: pérdido de voltaje
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,300
Default Re: Ratdude's Main Rig V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdude747 View Post
Windows is using default drivers dated to 2006.
Windows, since Vista, usually shows 2006, even Windows 10, for Vista's sake! LOL!
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2020, 10:20 PM   #69
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,552
Default Re: Ratdude's Main Rig V6

No, it is not for Vistas sake: it is so that if you have a third party driver it will be newer than the Windows in-box driver.
And so Windows should not try to overwrite it with the in-box driver.
P.S: This worked fine up until the train-wreck known as Windows 10.
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2020, 12:20 PM   #70
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,216
Default Re: Ratdude's Main Rig V6

I think the issue is Novabench, not the system.

Ran catzilla, and got a very good score:



I've been getting scores in the 11000-13000 range on my other GTX970 based systems... this one is the fastest, and the benchmark shows it.

Go figure.
Attached Images
File Type: png catzilla.png (419.7 KB, 18 views)
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:47 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?