Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2012, 08:27 AM   #21
tom66
EVs Rule
 
tom66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 32,373
Default Re: Faulty 42LG3000 Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by danjcarr1 View Post
I tired it on 2k and 20k. I have tried taking a reading from an inverter that i know works from another tv and i am getting a reading from that. Just not from either of the two inverter boards for this tv. Dan
Which of the two pins on each side were you probing... did you try different ones?

Can you plug your TV into a computer and generate a flat white image, then use this to see if any dim bar appears on the screen? If it does this could indicate a bad bulb.
__________________
Please do not PM me with questions! Questions via PM will not be answered. Post on the forums instead!
Free service manuals: http://www.toms-service-manuals.com/ -- 72 LED/LCD TVs, 5 monitors, 28 plasma TVs, and 2 AVR 6.1 amplifiers fixed! -- I repair Pioneer 9G Plasma Main Boards & KRP-M01 Media Receivers (PM me for info)

2 Pioneer KURO 9G, 12 Panasonic LCD/Plasma, 1 Sony LCD, 1 NEC Plasma, 2 Yamaha HTS, 5 Sharp LCDs, 5 Toshiba LCDs, 7 Philips Plasma/LCD, 1 Hitachi Plasma, 11 LG LCD/Plasma, 18 Samsung LED/LCD/Plasma, 1 Thomson Plasma, 1 Atec LCD, 1 Hanspree LCD, 1 Xerox LCD, 1 Harwa LCD, 2 Proview LCD, 2 Hyundai LCD, 1 "Onn" LCD, 1 Grundig LCD, 1 Dell LCD, 1 iiyama LCD, 1 Acer LED, 1 Logik LCD, 1 Baird (China) LCD, 6 Bush LCDs, 22 Vestel LCDs (Best->Worst)
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 09:00 AM   #22
danjcarr1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: Sunderland
My Country: Uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34
Default Re: Faulty 42LG3000 Help!

I did try different ones. What is the best way to generate a flat white image?
Then I will try that.

Thanks Dan
danjcarr1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 09:02 AM   #23
tom66
EVs Rule
 
tom66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 32,373
Default Re: Faulty 42LG3000 Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by danjcarr1 View Post
I did try different ones. What is the best way to generate a flat white image?
Then I will try that.

Thanks Dan
MS Paint in full screen could work.
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 09:04 AM   #24
danjcarr1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: Sunderland
My Country: Uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34
Default Re: Faulty 42LG3000 Help!

Ok thanks will try that then report back.
danjcarr1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 09:07 AM   #25
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
selldoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 7,853
Default Re: Faulty 42LG3000 Help!

I dont know if you have read the thread but we have struggled with this set before.
Eventually had to measure all pins but never bottomed out what the problem was or heard if it got fixed or not. If you look at the last post it says which pins on the inverter transformers gave a reading.

http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...light=42lg3000

Last edited by selldoor; 07-19-2012 at 09:09 AM..
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 11:46 AM   #26
danjcarr1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: Sunderland
My Country: Uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34
Default Re: Faulty 42LG3000 Help!

Yeah I did have a read through it. So hopefully I can fix it and post how I did it. Must admit that this forum is very helpfull.

Dan
danjcarr1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 02:48 PM   #27
danjcarr1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: Sunderland
My Country: Uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34
Default Re: Faulty 42LG3000 Help!

I managed to find the fault and fix it if anyone is interested
danjcarr1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 03:16 PM   #28
tom66
EVs Rule
 
tom66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 32,373
Default Re: Faulty 42LG3000 Help!

How'd you fix it?
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 08:41 PM   #29
cadiman
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
City & State: chesterland Ohio
Posts: 397
Default Re: Faulty 42LG3000 Help!

Faulty ccfls inside this panel are very common causing problems with the inverters.

Posting the fix is why we are here. I have repaired several of these panels and it would be nice to know what you found that I have not seen yet.

Also that should be a 42lg30-ua using an au-optronics panel.

The 42lg30 uses the better panel and better inverter.

Last edited by cadiman; 09-14-2012 at 08:50 PM..
cadiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 10:28 AM   #30
Jahson
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: London
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 229
Default Re: Faulty 42LG3000 Help!

You be good if this is correct fix, how do i test the ccfl's.
Jahson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 02:43 PM   #31
cadiman
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
City & State: chesterland Ohio
Posts: 397
Default Re: Faulty 42LG3000 Help!

You can tell by looking at them. You will see burn spots on the inside of the bulb (ccfl)
cadiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 02:43 PM   #32
cadiman
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
City & State: chesterland Ohio
Posts: 397
Default Re: Faulty 42LG3000 Help!

I was not sure where to post this so I did it twice.
cadiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 08:21 PM   #33
bartek200
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
City & State: chicago il
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Faulty 42LG3000 Help!

I'm dealing with the same issue, right now. Could you let me know how you fixed yours?
bartek200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 10:28 AM   #34
danjcarr1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: Sunderland
My Country: Uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34
Default Re: Faulty 42LG3000 Help!

I found a faulty ceramic capacitor on the one of the boards that the ccfls are connected too. It had burnt out completely and was visibly damaged. Replacing it brought the set back to life.
danjcarr1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 10:43 AM   #35
tom66
EVs Rule
 
tom66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 32,373
Default Re: Faulty 42LG3000 Help!

Useful info, thanks for sharing.
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2015, 06:48 AM   #36
cosmindaniel
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: bucharest
My Country: Romania
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Faulty 42LG3000 Help!

hye, i have the same problem: i can't find the fault on tv wich is 42LG3000-ZA.AEU. When i try to power-up the image is white bu the sound is fine. After 1-2 or many hours the image appear on the screen. I replace the t-con module but is the same. Some people sad the panel is broken.
Any ideeas?
Thanks in advance...............
cosmindaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2015, 12:40 PM   #37
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,632
Default Re: Faulty 42LG3000 Help!

took TWO YEARS for danjcar1's response.

Last edited by nomoresonys; 02-15-2015 at 12:42 PM..
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 10:50 AM   #38
cosmindaniel
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: bucharest
My Country: Romania
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Faulty 42LG3000 Help!

OK, but he have black screen, my screen is white, ok, no problem finally i resolve that, i put on the left side corner some sponge and all problems disappeared.
Now yhe tv its ok. I found the solution on the YOUTUBE.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OjcqxtYFsgE
GOOD LUCK.
cosmindaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 03:55 PM   #39
sintv
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
City & State: cowdenbeath
My Country: scotland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 24
Default Re: Faulty 42LG3000 Help!

My customers LG 42LG3000 sets picture was cutting out after 30 secs. In my cold workshop it stayed on for ages but I can see 3 faint lines across screen where - I assume - the ccfl tubes are low emission. Are these tubes available. Thanks
sintv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 05:17 PM   #40
wilco
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
City & State: Telemark
My Country: Norway
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Faulty 42LG3000 Help!

(kicking up older thread) Found 5 broken ccfl tubes on mine. causing it to turn of after a few seconds on high backlight. will stay on 15% tho.. anyone knows where to find those for a nice price ? or a rebuilt to lcd kit ?
wilco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:31 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?