Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-02-2017, 09:22 PM   #1
Ltank
Badcaps Veteran

City & State: Florien, La
My Country: USA
I'm a: Professional Tech
Default Small home TV doesn't seem worth the effort anymore

I have been repairing TV sets for about 4 years now. TV's have gotten much cheaper now, Main Boards and Power Supplies are sometimes expensive. Manufacturers aren't making replacement parts at a decent price. I am considering closing my home shop. I have a good number of spare boards, I don't know what to do with.
I have some specialized test equipment. I am undecided at this time.
I WANT TO THANK EVERYONE ON THIS SITE THAT HELPED ME LEARN SOO MUCH! THANKS GUYS & GALS.
Ltank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 09:54 PM   #2
martino
Not so "senior"

City & State: alberta
My Country: canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Default Re: Small home TV doesn't seem worth the effort anymore

Thought that many times,stuck to it and happy I did. Yes,it's not as good as it used to be for sure.but a few adjustments on business policy and it can still be fun.
Maybe just step back for a bit? Don't sell anything to hasty that you will regret later on.

Our website and passion:http://hollenhundshepherds.com/
martino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 10:33 PM   #3
Dgtech
E. Technician

City & State: Pittsburgh
My Country: Steeler
Line Voltage: 120 VAC 60Hz

I shut down my repairs. I still have the same set on the bench that I had from 2 years ago now. It needs a simple fix but it is no longer worth my time to work on it. I already gave family members enough freebies as I needed to. I was going to fix it for a spare set for the house but I'd rather give it away for free on CL.