Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Cambridge Audio minix x200 CA609 Testing Caps - VLoss Changed, why?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cambridge Audio minix x200 CA609 Testing Caps - VLoss Changed, why?

Hi,

I'm a noob trying to fix my sub-woofer.
    I have obtained some simple tools and the circuit diagram, but have seen some odd behavior with one/some of the capacitors.

The problem is I don't know enough, to know what terms I should be searching for (so I can understand what happened).

Issue:
    I used a simple "multi-function Tested T7" to check some of the capacitors (in circuit). Specifically a "330uF 10V JWCO" electrolytic capacitor, with my tool stating it was:

"304uF ESR=0.39 VLoss=15%"

I know that measuring in circuit is not ideal, so I de-soldered it and tested it again. This time it measured with a "VLoss=1.6%"

I soldered the capacitor back into the circuit and tested it again. It measured with a vloss of 1.6%.

Does anyone know why (or what I should search for to explain), the measured vloss went from fifteen percent, down to one point six percent?

Or is it just a bad cap? i.e. should I just replace the capacitor with a new one?

Thanks in advance.

Re: Testing Capacitors - VLoss Changed, why?

Originally posted by Pizarro View Post
    Specifically a "330uF 10V JWCO" electrolytic capacitor, with my tool stating it was:

Or is it just a bad cap? i.e. should I just replace the capacitor with a new one?

Thanks in advance.
    Could be a bad internal connection, which comes & goes with handling; besides, JWCO is junk in general...
    "pokemon go... to hell!"

EOL it...
    Originally posted by shango066
    All style and no substance.
    Originally posted by smashstuff30
    guilty,guilty,guilty,guilty!
    guilty of being cheap-made!

Comment

vloss relates to the internal resistance,
      your first test also saw the resistance of other parts on the board.
      1.5% is about right.

Comment