X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Diode Test

Hi, I've got a fun project going just for the heck of it
    Trying to repair a D-Link 10/100 Switch, DES-1008D

At first it did not even blink it's lights, I thought it was the cheap DC/DC converter that had failed so I swapped that for a much more higher end ST Microelectronics MC34063EC, the original was from Add Microtech AMC34063

That did not help, issue was the same, only 0.5v seen on the output...
    So I started lifting things and cutting traces, I found out that the big diode, a 1N5822 was what stopped it from working

With it lifted the LED's come on, but I noticed something burning, so I started hunting it down with my finger, bad idea, I found it lol, the small IC in the middle of the pic, think it says STM9435 but it's very difficult to make out... It becomes like hotter than my soldering iron without the diode lol

Anyway, so I measured the 1N5822 diode while it was lifted, of course since it seems to be the problem I would change it but I don't have a spare... I read nothing in the direction you should not be able to read anything
    And in the "forward" direction I read 0.17 with my DMM
    What does this value mean? Is the diode ok or not?
    "The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."

Re: Diode Test

more importantly what does it say in the reverse direction. a bit of resistance seems normal testing a few i have around.
    sigpic

(Insert witty quote here)

Comment

I hate DMM's
      it should read open circuit one direct (Very high resistance)
      near short the other
      (actually I think your reading a voltage drop across it or something..forgotten now on resistance ranges..but dont quote me on that)

Diodes mostly Fail completely
      but sure there are cases of some aspect cause problems in circuit

Type is High speed rectifier its still a diode PDF

Here the pdf on the STM9435 Appears to be a FET

Sound like that might be your problem