Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Nexus 4090 Whining

Hello,
    First post... love this forum already. Great resource guys! I'm completely new to this and had no idea there were so many bad caps out there. To the chase:

Computer started taking multiple front switch attempts to power up. Switch... wait... switch again. Sometimes taking 5 minutes to finally boot. About 3 weeks go by and backlit fan controller slowly fades to blank over days... then suddenly one day gets bright again (4 pin molex 12v?). Then PC starts turning on by itself. Looked inside, mobo has blown caps around CPU and 4 pin connector. Replaced them with Rubycons from here. Mobo runs faster and more smoothly now. NEATO!

HOWEVER... noticed high pitched whine coming from PSU. Nexus 4090 about 5 years old? Entire system always entirely disassembled and cleaned thoroughly at least once every 6 months (including opening and cleaning PSU internals).

Narrowed the whine down to one of 2 larger transformers. Pitch does not change when transformer is prodded. Here's where it gets interesting...

PSU is switched on from back and begins to whine (barely audible) and comp won't power up using front switch. Then I wait for the whine to increase in pitch (2 to 5 mins?) until it gets almost inaudible and makes quick sizzling sound. THEN, system powers up from front switch. Whine returns consistently while comp is in use. Same thing with PSU disconnected from everything with Power Good line manipulated.

Now I know that the whine is coming from a specific transformer, but I'm wondering what the problem is. I do not think I see any bad caps inside and I looked under the board and although there is some brown in certain places (that stuff that assists in soldering?) all traces and joints appear fine. I can post pics eventually, but I'm trying to refrain from using that system as it is for work and my data is most important.