Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer & Tech Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-24-2020, 12:49 AM   #21
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 118-127V 59-63.5 Hz-> actualizo: pérdido de voltaje
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,295
Default Re: apple dumps intel as chip provider for macs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
Especially when you see an Intel-based Mac running Windows....I always chuckled at that.

I'm one of those..... 6 cores @ 3.46GHz + a good GPU, name one thing it can't do over something newer....
I want to get mine working properly again. I'm thinking of taking off the Asetek cooler block and then the CPU to check for a pin that I might be able to realign. Maybe, it's just loose contacts on one of the RAM slots.

Maybe, I should of just moved that extra stick to another black slot. The stick that gives me at least 10 GB (and 14 GB with an 8 GB stick) added with the 3x 2 GB sticks. Those RAM sticks were totally stable on my Asus P6T Deluxe, but unstable with RAM-related BSOD error codes on my Asus P6T6 WS Revolution, even with the timings at 9-9-9-24 and 666/667 Mhz x2 (1333)
__________________
MSI B450 Tomahawk

Ryzen 7 "Matisse" 3700X

16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 SDRAM

XFX Radeon RX 580 8 GB

eVGA Supernova G3 750W






"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Don't eat yellow snow!" -Salem

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747

Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 06-24-2020 at 12:52 AM..
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 06:12 AM   #22
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,216
Default Re: apple dumps intel as chip provider for macs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
I have a few of the last PPC-based iMac's that still have the startup chime.....these are circa 2006-ish. They were polymod cap experiments. Not really worth anything, but they fit in nice with my retro fleet. One of them has Ubuntu for PPC on it.
Still have mine... but it's on the shelf as I have no good use for it.

We still have one of the late Powermac G5's in service at Church as the audio computer in the AV booth. Have a second that's been demoted to a spare unit (fluky PSU, haven't been bothered to crack open). And a bunch of old iMacs which I'm pretty sure are last model G5's as well. AV setup was redone in early 2006 and the pastor at the time had a son who worked for Apple... Worst possible time to buy macs!
__________________


(Insert witty quote here)
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 10:45 AM   #23
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 13,403
Default Re: apple dumps intel as chip provider for macs

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdude747 View Post
Still have mine... but it's on the shelf as I have no good use for it.
Sadly, mine are in the same boat. On a high shelf, basically display pieces in my office now.
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 02:15 PM   #24
ChaosLegionnaire
HC Overclocker
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,351
Default Re: apple dumps intel as chip provider for macs

ah well... so i guess this is more control freak behaviour from apple and the late steve jobs to tie u into their ecosystem...

as for ipods, during the height of the portable mp3 player wars from 2002-2005, i was not convinced of the audio quality of apple's ipod because they are not known for their audio products, so i went with creative's mp3 players instead. i still have a few of the creative zen x-fi2 mp3 players. one of the best sounding mp3 players around.
ChaosLegionnaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 03:11 PM   #25
dmill89
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Harrisburg, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: apple dumps intel as chip provider for macs

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosLegionnaire View Post
as for ipods, during the height of the portable mp3 player wars from 2002-2005, i was not convinced of the audio quality of apple's ipod because they are not known for their audio products, so i went with creative's mp3 players instead. i still have a few of the creative zen x-fi2 mp3 players. one of the best sounding mp3 players around.
The Ipods with the Wolfson DACs are fairly good sounding, but the later models with Cirrus Logic DACs are very lack luster and sound no better than $50 generic MP3 players from the same era.

I have 2 Ipods with Wolfson DACs (2nd gen. Nano and 5th. gen Classic) and 2 with the Cirrus Logic DACs (4th gen. Nano, 7th gen. Nano) and there is a very obvious difference in sound quality.
dmill89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 07:49 PM   #26
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 13,403
Default Re: apple dumps intel as chip provider for macs

I figured by now "MP3 collections" were out of style...
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 08:32 PM   #27
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 118-127V 59-63.5 Hz-> actualizo: pérdido de voltaje
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,295
Default Re: apple dumps intel as chip provider for macs

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
i have not seen apple themselves actually say that yet.
and a LOT of big company's are now pushing the RiSC5 development because it has no patents to worry about.
Speaking about patents, I got bad news!

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showth...110#post970110

I guess we should go back to plasma, if not CRT as well! Of course, all major CRT patents are expired now! Then we should be able to do stuff without a patent cat fight!

(*-me hearing JOLED meowing and hissing, followed by Samsung doing the same type of deal!)

Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 06-24-2020 at 09:26 PM..
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 10:53 PM   #28
BigTroll
Badcaps Veteran
 
BigTroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
City & State: Jefferson
My Country: LAMBDA SOND
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,072
Default Re: apple dumps intel as chip provider for macs

I think a retro crt would sell, something not too big 20 inch max with HDMI and all the legacy ports heck maybe make it a wide crt with smart features so you could watch netflix and newer widescreen media on it and that would be awesome! My newest crt is a 2006 LG 30FS4D it has HDMI and slim 15.9 inch depth, and I use it all the time to stream new stuff to it. love the crt.
__________________
My Computer: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, Asrock X370 Killer SLI/AC, 16GB Geil EVO X DDR4 3000, 500GB WD Black NVME and 2TB Toshiba HD,EVGA GTX 1080 SC, In-Win 303 White, EVGA SuperNova 750 G3, Windows 10 Pro
BigTroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2020, 03:59 AM   #29
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 23,154
Default Re: apple dumps intel as chip provider for macs

micro-crt on a phone would be cool!
http://catacombs.space1999.net/main/...umcomlock.html

stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2020, 06:56 PM   #30
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 118-127V 59-63.5 Hz-> actualizo: pérdido de voltaje
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,295
Default Re: apple dumps intel as chip provider for macs

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTroll View Post
My newest crt is a 2006 LG 30FS4D it has HDMI and slim 15.9 inch depth, and I use it all the time to stream new stuff to it. love the crt.
2006=That's the latest year of manufacturing that I ever saw printed IRL on a CRT, IIRC. It was a Samsung TV, IIRC.

I think that was back in 2015.

--

OLED technology per-se, is a patent-minefield! I suggest that competitors go back to plasma, if not CRT!

Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 06-26-2020 at 07:04 PM..
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2020, 07:23 PM   #31
BigTroll
Badcaps Veteran
 
BigTroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
City & State: Jefferson
My Country: LAMBDA SOND
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,072
Default Re: apple dumps intel as chip provider for macs

Quote:
Originally Posted by RJARRRPCGP View Post
2006=That's the latest year of manufacturing that I ever saw printed IRL on a CRT, IIRC. It was a Samsung TV, IIRC.

I think that was back in 2015.

--

OLED technology per-se, is a patent-minefield! I suggest that competitors go back to plasma, if not CRT!
Yeah not only that but the TV actually says made in korea, I do have a newer samsung slimfit from 2007 its a 27 inch 4:3 with 2 hdmi and digital tuner but its suffering from faint horizontal lines at the top of the screen they go away somewhat when it warms up. the latest crt tv I have ever seen was a RCA my girlfriend had it when we started going out, it was a 2009 RCA walmart china special.
BigTroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2020, 07:46 PM   #32
dmill89
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Harrisburg, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: apple dumps intel as chip provider for macs

Quote:
Originally Posted by RJARRRPCGP View Post
2006=That's the latest year of manufacturing that I ever saw printed IRL on a CRT, IIRC. It was a Samsung TV, IIRC.

Back when I worked retail in college we still sold a couple CRT TVs until around 2010 (all cheap Funai junk under various labels, at that point price was the only reason anyone was still buying a CRT), but the parts may have been old stock at that point.

Last edited by dmill89; 06-26-2020 at 07:50 PM..
dmill89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:32 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?