Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer & Tech Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-24-2020, 01:44 PM   #1
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 23,154
Default m$ fucking W10 again

https://www.zdnet.com/article/window...ering-reboots/
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2020, 07:09 PM   #2
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 118-127V 59-63.5 Hz-> actualizo: pérdido de voltaje
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,295
Default Re: m$ fucking W10 again

For me, the March, 2020 update was bad.
__________________
MSI B450 Tomahawk

Ryzen 7 "Matisse" 3700X

16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 SDRAM

XFX Radeon RX 580 8 GB

eVGA Supernova G3 750W






"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Don't eat yellow snow!" -Salem

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 12:23 PM   #3
ivtec
ivtec
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Fall River, Mas,
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120-60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,464
Default Re: m$ fucking W10 again

Depend on the Hardware you have. if you have older PC Stay away from 2004 win 10 version,some apps don't work ,1909 version is
ok.
ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 04:22 PM   #4
BigTroll
Badcaps Veteran
 
BigTroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
City & State: Jefferson
My Country: LAMBDA SOND
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,072
Default Re: m$ fucking W10 again

I updated to version 2004 on my asrock deskmini a300, and I did have problems, notably it would be a blank screen coming out of sleep, so I ended up removing the graphics drivers and installed a beta amd one, yes radeon drivers still suck but I don't know weather to blame them or windows 10.
__________________
My Computer: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, Asrock X370 Killer SLI/AC, 16GB Geil EVO X DDR4 3000, 500GB WD Black NVME and 2TB Toshiba HD,EVGA GTX 1080 SC, In-Win 303 White, EVGA SuperNova 750 G3, Windows 10 Pro
BigTroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 04:54 PM   #5
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 118-127V 59-63.5 Hz-> actualizo: pérdido de voltaje
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,295
Default Re: m$ fucking W10 again

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTroll View Post
notably it would be a blank screen coming out of sleep
Sounds like when Windows 98 SE kept crashing, won't wake up if I installed the third party monitor driver said to be from Phillips for the 107S CRT, which it turned out I didn't even need for going to 85 Hz on my cheap Phillips 107S CRT.

Of course, the early-2000s was also a time where the BIOS for AMD systems, seemed a lot more buggy! Soyo was possibly the worst for this!
It would keep crashing at low load and usually found the PC crashed, if I walked away! So, they had a BIOS that was said to be from April, 2001, which fixed that.

But there was a work around for the Soyo SY-K7VTA-B motherboard: (KT133)
Lower Vcore by -0.025V, IIRC.

Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 07-14-2020 at 05:03 PM..
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2020, 10:31 AM   #6
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,552
Default Re: m$ fucking W10 again

That is quite interesting.
My Server 2016 machine had its first ever BSOD a few days ago.
Maybe it is related to M$ fuckups then and not memory corruption as I feared.
I did run Memtest86+ and there where no errors found...

Bugcheck code was: 0x00000109
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/win...ure-corruption
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2020, 10:49 AM   #7
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 13,403
Default Re: m$ fucking W10 again

Quote:
Originally Posted by Per Hansson View Post
That is quite interesting.
My Server 2016 machine had its first ever BSOD a few days ago.
Maybe it is related to M$ fuckups then and not memory corruption as I feared.
I did run Memtest86+ and there where no errors found...

Bugcheck code was: 0x00000109
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/win...ure-corruption
Yikes.... I just started test bedding S2K16 on a system....I haven't had this yet, but thanks for the heads-up.

After a round of updates on S2K12, Starcraft1 and AoE don't run anymore. Spit out an error on startup, no idea what's causing it.
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2020, 01:18 PM   #8
ivtec
ivtec
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Fall River, Mas,
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120-60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,464
Default Re: m$ fucking W10 again

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTroll View Post
I updated to version 2004 on my asrock deskmini a300, and I did have problems, notably it would be a blank screen coming out of sleep, so I ended up removing the graphics drivers and installed a beta amd one, yes radeon drivers still suck but I don't know weather to blame them or windows 10.
I just did not try to find out why some apps did not work on 2024,i just reverted to older version 1909 and all was good ,and as they say if it works good don't change.
ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:41 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?