Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Laptops, Tablets, and Mobile Devices > BIOS Requests ONLY!
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2022, 01:02 PM   #321
adnanasim80
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: bucks
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Hi everone,

i have HP Elitebook 840 G2 (bois chip Winbond 25Q128FVSQ) which has admin bios password.

I have used CH341a to read the bios but when I use HP unlocker to remove password by dragging BIN file to RCUnlocker.exe, I get message missing unloackable content (screenshot attached).

Could you please help me removing bios password from attached BIN file. Thank you
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture.PNG (10.1 KB, 45 views)
Attached Files
File Type: zip 840G2_Bios.zip (19.4 KB, 5 views)
adnanasim80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2022, 01:08 PM   #322
SMDFlea
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10,370
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by adnanasim80 View Post
Hi everone,

i have HP Elitebook 840 G2 (bois chip Winbond 25Q128FVSQ) which has admin bios password.

I have used CH341a to read the bios but when I use HP unlocker to remove password by dragging BIN file to RCUnlocker.exe, I get message missing unloackable content (screenshot attached).

Could you please help me removing bios password from attached BIN file. Thank you
You havn`t made a good backup. https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showpo...40&postcount=2
SMDFlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2022, 05:28 PM   #323
robintson
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
City & State: Viena
My Country: Austria
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Hi, RethoricalCheese, I have downloaded your hpunlocktool and I will try it soon on mine EliteBook 840 G5.
Hope that all will work as it should
robintson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2022, 07:21 AM   #324
DonZott
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Kortrijk
My Country: Belgium
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Hello RethoricalCheese,

Amazing tool, I find the information display very usefull.
I use it when i have a bios that is corrupt but still has the info about the system.
This way I can read the info and use it to reprogram the laptop with a clean bios dump using wndmifit.

Would it be possible to add a feature so it can write the info ( Model, Serial, Feature byte, COA, ...) to a text file? Or even better, to write that information to a clean bios dump?

Kind regards and nice work
DonZott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2022, 09:42 AM   #325
corona100
Member
 
corona100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
City & State: Alaska
My Country: U.S.A
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 36
Default Re: RCUnlocker

RC unlocker need update not working with G6 on Hp
corona100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2022, 12:37 PM   #326
RethoricalCheese
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Tartu
My Country: Estonia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,253
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonZott View Post
Hello RethoricalCheese,

Amazing tool, I find the information display very usefull.
I use it when i have a bios that is corrupt but still has the info about the system.
This way I can read the info and use it to reprogram the laptop with a clean bios dump using wndmifit.

Would it be possible to add a feature so it can write the info ( Model, Serial, Feature byte, COA, ...) to a text file? Or even better, to write that information to a clean bios dump?

Kind regards and nice work
It's easier to do it with uefitool.

And about G6. What's the issue exactly? My hundreds of G6 unlock nicely.
RethoricalCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2022, 03:02 PM   #327
onizzbox
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
City & State: Rio de Janeiro
My Country: Brazil
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 629
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by RethoricalCheese View Post
It's easier to do it with uefitool.

And about G6. What's the issue exactly? My hundreds of G6 unlock nicely.
@RethoricalCheese
Perhaps this is the request, although the MPM data is not required, depending on the model.
Attached Images
File Type: png 2022-03-28_17-46-45.png (46.2 KB, 78 views)
onizzbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2022, 10:19 PM   #328
RethoricalCheese
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Tartu
My Country: Estonia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,253
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Well yes, but there's no point in using it like that. You can just use uefitool to extract that region and then use uefitool again to replace it on a new bios.

Last edited by RethoricalCheese; 03-28-2022 at 10:21 PM..
RethoricalCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2022, 10:52 PM   #329
onizzbox
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
City & State: Rio de Janeiro
My Country: Brazil
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 629
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by RethoricalCheese View Post
Well yes, but there's no point in using it like that. You can just use uefitool to extract that region and then use uefitool again to replace it on a new bios.
@RethoricalCheese
Among some new generation models, after unlocking it is necessary to edit the MPM directly through the BIOS setup. This is the reason for the presentation of MPM in my patch.
e.g HP 830 G8 EliteBook
onizzbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2022, 01:14 AM   #330
tony stark
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
City & State: pune
My Country: india
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 17
Default Re: RCUnlocker

can you share this tool..?
tony stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2022, 03:14 AM   #331
DonZott
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Kortrijk
My Country: Belgium
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by RethoricalCheese View Post
It's easier to do it with uefitool.

And about G6. What's the issue exactly? My hundreds of G6 unlock nicely.
Hi,

Thanks for the response, i'm fairly new to Uefitool and editing bios files. Do you have any tips where I can find information/tutorial on how to find/extract that specific region and import it into a clean bios?

I was thinking of something that's more automated. If it is even possible.

I don't have any issues with G6.

Quote:
Originally Posted by onizzbox View Post
@RethoricalCheese
Perhaps this is the request, although the MPM data is not required, depending on the model.
That's indeed what I'm looking for. Is this something you made yourself?
It would be nice if there was a way to just export this into a clean bios file.

Kind regards
DonZott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2022, 09:58 AM   #332
RethoricalCheese
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Tartu
My Country: Estonia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,253
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Onizzbox, read again, it was not about unlocking.

DonZott, just check out uefitool. It's way easier than manually entering anything. Open your file and search for your SN, then you will see which section it is in. Super simple.
RethoricalCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2022, 09:13 AM   #333
anhbanxoi
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
City & State: Ho Chi Minh
My Country: VN
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 55
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Doesn't work on 32MB BIOS, HP Elitebook 830 G7
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2022-03-31 at 10.10.39 PM.png (142.8 KB, 28 views)
Attached Files
File Type: zip HP.bin.zip (13.84 MB, 8 views)
anhbanxoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2022, 04:48 AM   #334
Vesko356
Sharp Shooter
 
Vesko356's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
City & State: Sofia
My Country: Bulgaria
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by anhbanxoi View Post
Doesn't work on 32MB BIOS, HP Elitebook 830 G7
Post the dump of the second bios chip.
__________________
Doctrina est fructus dulcis, radicis amarae.
Vesko356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2022, 05:54 AM   #335
anhbanxoi
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
City & State: Ho Chi Minh
My Country: VN
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 55
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vesko356 View Post
Post the dump of the second bios chip.
I see only one BIOS chip
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg E450C43B-782C-4AA1-B0C0-3E25675B7863.jpeg (596.1 KB, 33 views)
anhbanxoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2022, 09:45 AM   #336
onizzbox
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
City & State: Rio de Janeiro
My Country: Brazil
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 629
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by anhbanxoi View Post
I see only one BIOS chip
@anhbanxoi
Haven't unlocked your laptop yet?
onizzbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2022, 10:07 AM   #337
anhbanxoi
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
City & State: Ho Chi Minh
My Country: VN
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 55
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by onizzbox View Post
@anhbanxoi
Haven't unlocked your laptop yet?
No I've done that laptop with your provided data & BIOS 32MB. Just wonder where is the 16MB chip and I found that one. There is 16MB IC near Nuvoton chip. So there are many ways to unlock this HP.

1. Via 32MB BIOS Chip and type all parameter
2. Via 16MB BIOS Chip
3. EC program via KB connector

Am I correct?
anhbanxoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2022, 12:42 PM   #338
DukeCrimson
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Hello Everyone. I have a 830G6 laptop with BIOS password locked.

I have tried the following:
1) Desoldered the 16MB Winbond flash (25Q128) on the underside of the motherboard
2) Extracted the BIOS content from that chip and put it into RCUnlocker
3) Erase and wrote in the output from RCUnlocker into that chip
4) Soldered that chip back onto the motherboard

Here's where things become weird. Once I've reassembled the laptop and connected the battery (I haven't even attempted to turn on the laptop), the LED beside the charging port starts flickering (white/orange) and the "Caps Lock" button is lit. When I tried to turn on the laptop, nothing happens.

5) I have also tried repeating steps 1-4 on the 32MB Winbond flash (25Q256), but to no avail.

I have uploaded the files in the attached.

Any suggestions?
Thanks.

Regards,
Melvin.
Attached Files
File Type: zip 830bios.zip (12.88 MB, 4 views)
File Type: zip 830bios_unlocked.zip (12.88 MB, 1 views)
File Type: zip 830ec_v2.zip (7.73 MB, 1 views)
File Type: zip 830ec_v2_unlocked.zip (7.73 MB, 1 views)
DukeCrimson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2022, 01:25 AM   #339
peste
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
City & State: CAMPINA
My Country: ROMANIA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6,052
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by DukeCrimson View Post
Hello Everyone. I have a 830G6 laptop with BIOS password locked.

I have tried the following:
1) Desoldered the 16MB Winbond flash (25Q128) on the underside of the motherboard
2) Extracted the BIOS content from that chip and put it into RCUnlocker
3) Erase and wrote in the output from RCUnlocker into that chip
4) Soldered that chip back onto the motherboard

Here's where things become weird. Once I've reassembled the laptop and connected the battery (I haven't even attempted to turn on the laptop), the LED beside the charging port starts flickering (white/orange) and the "Caps Lock" button is lit. When I tried to turn on the laptop, nothing happens.

5) I have also tried repeating steps 1-4 on the 32MB Winbond flash (25Q256), but to no avail.

I have uploaded the files in the attached.

Any suggestions?
Thanks.

Regards,
Melvin.
write the bios chips with the original content and see if it starts ..
peste is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2022, 07:30 AM   #340
DukeCrimson
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by peste View Post
write the bios chips with the original content and see if it starts ..
I've tried to write back the original contents into the BIOS chips, but the laptop still doesn't want to turn on =(

Any other suggestions?
DukeCrimson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:52 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?