Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Power Supplies and Power Supply Design
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2021, 11:15 AM   #1
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,255
Question Voltage stabilizer trips RCD ?

Good day folks. A friend of mine asked me to have a look at this fat servo-driven voltage stabilizer. It claims to be 10kVa ! He says it works but it sometimes trips the breaker at the panel (not its own at the front there), despite having a very light load connected to it, or none at all. Unfortunately, I don't know for sure whether it's an RCD that trips here or a regular dumb MCB. Either of them could cause the issue if they weren't sized according and they'd get tripped by the high inrush current - this was my initial hunch, but the thing is he says it doesn't happen at startup, but rather during normal operation, more specifically when the mains spikes/sags and the stabilizer SHOULD do its thing, but instead all it does is pop the breaker. I haven't witnessed this myself and it's hard to replicate, so I don't know for sure.

I plugged it in myself in a different location and sure enough it works as you'd expect: it fires up, the variac inside twitches a bit and you get 220v at the output, so the device itself works. What do you suppose could be causing this and what would a possible fix be, preferably still adhering to electrical safety rules ?
__________________
Wattevah...
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2021, 12:20 PM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,658
Default Re: Voltage stabilizer trips RCD ?

well........
if you put 220v into a big inductor and then drop it to 190 the inductor charge will still be 220-ish.
that alone is not going to please a lot of rcd's and such!
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2021, 12:40 PM   #3
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,255
Default Re: Voltage stabilizer trips RCD ?

Right - that's a big inductor after all. The current lags behind the voltage if I remember my basics. It'd be interesting to know if it's "residual current" part that trips because of an imbalance between L and N or the "overcurrent" part because of the current spike. The curve on the MCB/RCBO whatever it is is guaranteed to be C because that's the most common and it's extremely unlikely to see anything other than C around here for general purposes, unless it's a very specific and highly professional setup, which this ain't.....
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2021, 04:39 PM   #4
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,658
Default Re: Voltage stabilizer trips RCD ?

even the chinese battery-tab spot welders trip a C breaker
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2021, 10:20 PM   #5
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,255
Default Re: Voltage stabilizer trips RCD ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
even the chinese battery-tab spot welders trip a C breaker
D-curve then ?
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:08 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?