820-2915-B Chime, Boot to OS, Hear sounds, but No Video

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

820-2915-B Chime, Boot to OS, Hear sounds, but No Video

Hello to all. This is my first thread, and I hope someone will help me with this board. I would like to say that I'm new to logic board repairs, but I know how to measure voltage, resistance, know what is diode mode and things like that. Let's start.

I have MacBook Pro 15" 2011 without VIDEO. So it's not problem with backlight because I dont have video signal at all. PPVCORE_GPU is 0V, and it should be as I understand 1.10V when laptop is off, and 0.9V when GPU is initializied. I know it's not problem with GPU because MacBook chimes, boots to OS X, keyboard backlight is working and I can change brightness of keyboard, and also I can hear sound when pressing volume up/down on keyboard. So problem is definitely with PPVCORE_GPU.

So as I said earlier PPVCORE_GPU is 0V, PPVCORE_GPU_REG_R is also 0V. Watching on schematic I'm thinking problem may be with U8900 or GPU VCORE Regulator (if I'm right?) Also I suspect on Q8950 or Q8951 but I dont know how to check them with multimeter, and also I dont understand how can I check does this two MOSFETS are getting signals on GATE from U8900 regulator?

I would apprecieted any help on this. Thanks in advance!

Re: 820-2915-B Chime, Boot to OS, Hear sounds, but No Video

820-2915 will of course have a dead GPU in any case.
    OpenBoardView — https://github.com/OpenBoardView/OpenBoardView

Comment

I don't think GPU is bad because it's booting to OS X. And if it's bad I would disable it and use it with only integrated graphics. I also tried to disable GPU and use only Intel but than backlight doesnt work. So there is definitely some other problems. If anyone have any ideas, please say. Thanks!

Comment

Dead dGPU doesn't necessarily prevent from booting into macOS. Sometimes yes, sometimes no.