50PB560B -LG common problems?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

50PB560B -LG common problems?

Hey everyone again, Been a few days. My newest project is an LG 50PB560B. Which actually has a very easily accessible service manual(which was nice).

So the initial problem is no power on. This model doesnt seem to even have a standby light. Tested all the power points and everything matched perfectly. Unplugged power board from main and the screen will come on. (i understand theres some way to get test patterns up but i havent figured that one out yet)

I'm highly suspecting the main. The board itself is a pretty simple looking board. but its going for 300 on ebay so not worth it. Im looking at reflowing it, i have everything i need to do that although im not experienced at all at that(Gotta start somewhere?)

Anyone know of the common chips to be looking at on this one? I have the diagrams to actually trace the problem but the test points are so tiny im sure ill short something. If anyone has any idea of the best plan of attack for this one id greatly appreciate the support

Re: 50PB560B -LG common problems?

You could try this repair kit for your 50" LG plasma model 50PB560B:

https://www.shopjimmy.com/lg-ebt6285...0pb560b-ua.htm

I have a similar problem with 60" LG plasma model 60PB5600... My 60" model has only one rear HDMI port, and they were notorious for poor solder. The HDMI port broke off completely when an HDMI cable was inserted. As a result, something was shorted out and damaged the main 156-pin IC LGE8220. I suspect you may have same problem.

Try holding your finger on top of the large LGE8220 IC and see if it gets hot.

You could try replacing the main IC, or buy the kit and replace all 3 ICs.

I doubt reflowing will solve your problem.

Comment