Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer & Tech Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2021, 08:57 PM   #21
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 7,079
Default Re: Anybody here still uses Win 7?

No, the Pentium-M and Atom are laptops and incidental use computers... but they are kept up to date.
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2021, 09:16 PM   #22
Uranium-235
Comrade Glimmer
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,815
Default Re: Anybody here still uses Win 7?

what is your main computer?
__________________
Cap Datasheet Depot: http://www.paullinebarger.net/DS/
^If you have datasheets not listed PM me
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2021, 02:01 AM   #23
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 7,079
Default Re: Anybody here still uses Win 7?

Old Sandybridge + Radeon HD 6450... I'm not so certain this 6450 is a whole lot faster than the HD3000 but at least it supports OpenCL.
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2021, 08:18 PM   #24
volkswagenvan
Volks
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
City & State: Michigan
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz.
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 31
Default Re: Anybody here still uses Win 7?

I`m still running Win 7 here.
The wife uses 10 because she has some software that requires it.

Win 10 is kinda like switching the brake and clutch pedal around and
trying parallel park on a hill!
volkswagenvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2021, 09:23 PM   #25
kaboom
"Oh, Grouchy!"
 
kaboom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: PA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,352
Default Re: Anybody here still uses Win 7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by volkswagenvan View Post
Win 10 is kinda like switching the brake and clutch pedal around and
trying parallel park on a hill!
I love it...

__________________
"pokemon go... to hell!"

EOL it...
Quote:
Originally Posted by shango066
All style and no substance.
Quote:
Originally Posted by smashstuff30
guilty,guilty,guilty,guilty!
guilty of being cheap-made!
kaboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2021, 11:30 PM   #26
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 14,993
Default Re: Anybody here still uses Win 7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by volkswagenvan View Post
Win 10 is kinda like switching the brake and clutch pedal around and
trying parallel park on a hill!
That's one of the best ones yet!
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2021, 02:28 AM   #27
televizora
ghettomodmaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Bulgaria
My Country: Bulgaria
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 937
Default Re: Anybody here still uses Win 7?

LI use Windows 10. Some programs no longer run on Win7
__________________
Useful conversions. I don't "speak" imperial. Please use metric, if you want to address me.
1km=1000m=100000cm, 1inch=2.54cm, 1mile=1609.344meters, 1ft=30.48cm 1gal(US)=3.785liters, 1lb=453grams, 1oz=28.34grams
televizora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2021, 03:49 PM   #28
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 7,079
Default Re: Anybody here still uses Win 7?

I don't recall ever using a win10 machine yet...

rejected the downgrade when it was offered on my win7-64/win8.1-32 machines. Do not have space for it.

still don't get why windows7/8.1/... use so much space...
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2021, 12:37 AM   #29
Hondaman
Badcaps Veteran
 
Hondaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
City & State: Clarksville, Indiana
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 841
Default Re: Anybody here still uses Win 7?

I'm still using Windows 7. AsRock 970A-G/3.1 motherboard, AMD FX8150 chip, 16 GB RAM, Radeon 6670 video (second-fastest video card ever made that is completely air-cooled, but I put a 120mm fan on it anyway).

I put my household expenses into a spreadsheet I bought from simpleplanning dot net. I probably don't need to do this, I have enough money and I can reasonably plan my retirement now. But my life -- my documents, spreadsheets, photos, etc can all be managed with the software tools I have now. So why should I upgrade?

When Win7 is really, really no longer supported, well, I have been using Linux since July 1998. Sometimes I have used it 99% of the time, other years my use was 1%. If linux does not like my wifi chip, I may have to use a different distro or just use run an ethernet cable across my kitchen floor. Right now, I plan to use Linux in a post-Win 7 world.

In the past, I have made Office 97 and Office 2003 work with Crossover Office. If I must run Office under Linux in a post-Win 7 future, I can do so. If I must stay with an older version of linux or Crossover, and the browser is not secure, then I'll have to dedicate a machine for my household recordkeeping that will NOT be connected to the internet.

Last edited by Hondaman; 12-25-2021 at 12:43 AM..
Hondaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2021, 08:07 AM   #30
Uranium-235
Comrade Glimmer
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,815
Default Re: Anybody here still uses Win 7?

I have a customer who gets Shuttles XH110 and I get an i5-6500T from ebay and now even though the bios does not say, it will take an NVME drive. After integrating the nvme hotfixes and of course the intel USB 3.0 drivers it will take win7 right out of the box
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2021, 10:45 AM   #31
SluggerB
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
City & State: Philadelphia, PA
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 474
Default Re: Anybody here still uses Win 7?

every PC I have is Win 7. I'll never use Win 8 or 10, 11 looks mildly interesting, but I am likely Win7 until 2023 security updates and then jumping ship to Linux for my online stuff and use a Win7 VM offline for doing anything actually productive
SluggerB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2021, 11:15 AM   #32
Uranium-235
Comrade Glimmer
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,815
Default Re: Anybody here still uses Win 7?

For gaming you MUST use win10 for pretty much all the latest games. I don't do any work on it and disabled what I could afa telemetry
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2022, 04:59 PM   #33
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,137
Default Re: Anybody here still uses Win 7?

Happy new year to everyone!

A good friend of mine sold me a cheap Lenovo Ideapad 330 with Ryzen 2700U that is thermal throttled too easily but that's for another thread.

The laptop is very mediocre and has things that I really hate. Many things I hate on this lapptop but the worse is that it has no dedicated Home and End buttons that are so convenient when browsing pages, pdfs, etc

But it costed only 120 euros so I cannot complain.

Anyway, Windows 7 are totally not supported on this kind of hardware and there is really no point and time to experiment with hacks on registry and custom drivers, so I run W10.

What a terrible OS. So many things I don't like. The settings section is a mess, you cannot accomplish anything fast and easy there, also no multiple open instances of settings. If you try to open second instance the 1st one that is already open gets replaced and then you have to reopen it.
goodpsusearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2022, 05:18 PM   #34
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 14,993
Default Re: Anybody here still uses Win 7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uranium-235 View Post
For gaming you MUST use win10 for pretty much all the latest games. I don't do any work on it and disabled what I could afa telemetry
Win10 enterprise (or S2K16) is safe to use for production; telemetry can be completely killed without any 3rd party utilities....nor will any updates magically turn any of it back on. Win10 Home or Pro, I agree...it'd never be on one of my production systems.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2022, 05:42 PM   #35
momaka
master hoarder
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 10,862
Default Re: Anybody here still uses Win 7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by goodpsusearch View Post
... so I run W10.

What a terrible OS. So many things I don't like. The settings section is a mess, you cannot accomplish anything fast and easy there, also no multiple open instances of settings. If you try to open second instance the 1st one that is already open gets replaced and then you have to reopen it.
^ This 100000%
This is exactly what I ran into when trying to configure a Windows 10 PC for a family friend. I've done probably a few 100's of Win10 installs at a previous job, but I never went to configure them in detail past installing the drivers. So this was my first, and I too kept getting bugged like you by a billion small things that just didn't make sense or were completely counter-intuitive. I think Microsoft either has lost track of what goes where in the OS or they really made this shit so confusing on purpose so that no average user can understand what settings are enabled and disabled on their PC by default... and by default, most of the useless shit is enabled!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
FWIW, this post was made from WinXP on a P4 system with Firefox 24.8.1
As nice as Firefox 24 was, it's super-duper outdated and won't render most modern pages well.
Try Mypal instead. It's essentially Pale Moon, but for XP. Will render almost all modern pages OK. Just going to be very slow on a Pentium 4 (ask me how I know this! )

Quote:
Originally Posted by Per Hansson View Post
Of course, any respectable Badcaps user would not touch anything newer than Windows 7 with a 100 foot barge pole!
^ This.

7 is the newest I will go.

If really needed, I might set up a Win10 box just for gaming, as I had a few popular titles refuse to run recently, despite supposedly still supporting Windows 7.

Actually, it was the Epic games launcher - had a problem with it last year where once it updated from version 10 to 11 (IIRC), it stopped working - something to do with function calls within a DLL file associated with DirecX 11. At the time, my system had (and still has) the latest DirectX updates, along with latest GPU drivers (which a few Epic games didn't seem to understand and kept telling me to update my drivers, despite my card being a legacy Radeon that no longer sees driver updates.) So it was something that Epic just goofed up. Luckily, I had an older version of the Epic launcher on another PC. I copy-pasta'd that onto the affected machine, and sure enough I was able to launch the Epic "launcher" (lol!) No problems playing the games once I did that, at least until shutting down / restarting the launcher again. So I had to do the copy-pasta thing every time I wanted to use that PC... and did so for almost a year. Then finally as Epic Games released more updates, their launcher issue literally fixed itself one day... and still is fine. But now FortNut (Fortnite ) is doing something similar for me, so I can't start it.

So anyways... support for Windows 7 stuff is slowly but surely dwindling away. Of course, I'm sure there will be enough "die-hard" fans to keep software supported for many more years, just like whoever made the Mypal browser.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
I haven't made the 'linux leap' because of all the utilities I need.
Same.
I know Linux has a ton of free and very decent (to very good) replacements for some of my Windows software... but it's still not at the point where I'm willing to jump ships.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heihachi_73 View Post
The only issue is the lack of modern browsers, as Firefox 52 ESR can't load a lot of websites these days, either due to failing to render JavaScript elements or the site itself having an a$$hole script that blocks "unsupported" browsers.
Firefox ESR is quite shit, TBH.
I ditched the XP version for close to a year now and I couldn't be happier. It kept pinging my CPU with very high usage every 5-7 minutes at 100% for about a minute or so. And if I happened to be doing anything in FF ESR at that time, it would freeze for the minute or so it was doing this crap. Granted this was on a Pentium 4 PC, which is a dinosaur at this point... but no browser should be doing that kind of resource hogging. With FF 24, this does not happen. Sadly, FF 24 is too old for online use. So I switched to Mypal and forgot all about FF ESR. This is on Windows XP, of course. And if you're on 7, then FF Quantum still supports it and actually runs reasonably well even on very old (but decent enough dual-core) hardware. Vista is probably the worst choice, because FF Quantum no longer supports it. And on that note, I don't know if even Pale Moon does (IIRC, Pale Moon also requires Windows 7 as a minimum.) Meanwhile, Mypal was made for XP... so perhaps it might work on Vista, or perhaps it might not. If it does, then that should solve your problems with FF ESR - or in particular, allow you to ditch it.
In any case, I would probably never use Vista for anything. It has neither the benefits of XP nor 7, so to me, it's one of those OSes that is just very pointless - kind of like Windows ME.

Quote:
Originally Posted by volkswagenvan View Post
I`m still running Win 7 here.
The wife uses 10 because she has some software that requires it.

Win 10 is kinda like switching the brake and clutch pedal around and
trying parallel park on a hill!
LOL!

Pretty much true, unfortunately.

Last edited by momaka; 01-10-2022 at 05:49 PM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2022, 06:20 PM   #36
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 14,993
Default Re: Anybody here still uses Win 7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
As nice as Firefox 24 was, it's super-duper outdated and won't render most modern pages well.
Try Mypal instead. It's essentially Pale Moon, but for XP. Will render almost all modern pages OK. Just going to be very slow on a Pentium 4 (ask me how I know this! )
Any system I've got this on is usually P4 or older. I recall trying to install MyPal on a Tualatin system, it wouldn't....some instruction set was missing (I don't remember which)....but FF24 will run old world internet sites fine....like BCN!

Ohh I know how you know that.....I think in the P4 department, your hoard....err, 'collection' is larger than mine!

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
Same.
I know Linux has a ton of free and very decent (to very good) replacements for some of my Windows software... but it's still not at the point where I'm willing to jump ships.
This completely. I still have a XP32 and a win7 system (my former office system) running just for the utilities. They will never see newer OS's.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2022, 07:46 PM   #37
dragos2009
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Craiova
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 220VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 102
Default Re: Anybody here still uses Win 7?

i have win 10 on all my pc's and i only use 7 on old pc's that can't run 10 or that i need them to be with win 7 or xp (i only have this on a relic and massive hp dv8000 laptop) as i use them as dedicated laptops for various apps and programs that don't run well on 10
dragos2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2022, 08:50 PM   #38
momaka
master hoarder
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 10,862
Default Re: Anybody here still uses Win 7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
Any system I've got this on is usually P4 or older. I recall trying to install MyPal on a Tualatin system, it wouldn't....some instruction set was missing (I don't remember which)
Ah yes, you're right, that would be a show-stopper for older PCs.
To run Mypal (on XP)... or Pale Moon (on Windows 7) for that matter, your CPU needs to support SSE2 instruction set.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
....but FF24 will run old world internet sites fine....like BCN!
Yeah, on that note, I agree - FF24 will still let you get at least to some old websites (IMO, those are some of the best anyways.)

On that note, it may also be a good idea to try Opera 12.18 along FF 24. It takes a lot less RAM to run things, so even a box with 256 MB should be able to handle websites like BCN pretty fast.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
I think in the P4 department, your hoard....err, 'collection' is larger than mine!
Could be.

The hoarder side of me is sure not helping it any, either.

Perhaps someday I'll get to build my own retro PC cafe with these. (That would actually be a blast!) I don't know why I feel so nostalgic about sweaty, crowded PC cafes wreaking of "hot electronics" and cigarette smoke - I'm not a smoker nor have ever even tried it, when it comes to the latter.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2022, 03:16 PM   #39
Heihachi_73
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Melbourne
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 686
Default Re: Anybody here still uses Win 7?

Apparently ReactOS can run Firefox 48, but that implies your PC is actually able to run ROS straight out of the box without ROS completely failing when it comes to drivers e.g. not being stuck in 640x480, 16 colors, no video acceleration, no sound, no ethernet and no USB. I'd rather not be stuck in 1995.

No, I haven't bothered trying it as ROS has been in an alpha state since forever and XP SP3 is still in front in virtually department aside from the open source one. Maybe I should resurrect a crappy old P3/P4 for the cause, but I'm running short of HDDs and power supplies (I have plenty of RAM and CD/DVD drives).
Heihachi_73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2022, 03:28 PM   #40
ivtec
ivtec
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Fall River, Mas,
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120-60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,647
Default Re: Anybody here still uses Win 7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by eccerr0r View Post
Old Sandybridge + Radeon HD 6450... I'm not so certain this 6450 is a whole lot faster than the HD3000 but at least it supports OpenCL.
I have 4 sandy bridge lenovo M series I5 desktops, also use hd6450 on one of them for streaming HDMI output to tv, and it's been great, also use win 10 with google chrome, win tries to impose me Edge when i reinstall system, after i tweak it ,it won't bother me no more. Be aware that win will try also to impose Win updates to install win eleven that's when it may mess up system if your hardware is older as Sandy bridge.it happened to me one time. Besides that win is better than Linux if you have to use it for kids school stuff, and gaming.
ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:59 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?