Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Power Supplies and Power Supply Design
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2021, 04:18 AM   #1
johnis82
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
City & State: Florina
My Country: Greece
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 15
Question Corsair TX-750 problem with finding component

Hello guys i have opened a dead Corsair psu and i found a burned ic with 7 pins. Because i can't find any schematics for this PSU ,I said to ask a question here. Thanks in advanced!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20211030_214202.jpg (1.31 MB, 18 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20211030_214330.jpg (2.40 MB, 28 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20211030_214345.jpg (1.75 MB, 27 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20211030_214404.jpg (1.66 MB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20211030_214414.jpg (1.25 MB, 21 views)
johnis82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2021, 06:24 AM   #2
victorcas
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
City & State: Málaga
My Country: España
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 12
Default Re: Corsair TX-750 problem with finding component

I have a Corsair CS750M and it uses a TNY278pn. Im not sure if its the same. Maybe you can check the datasheet and see if it fits.

Usually, when those components explode, it means there is something in short...

On the side of the big capacitor there is a resistor that seems to be broken. Did you checked that?
victorcas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2021, 08:57 AM   #3
johnis82
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
City & State: Florina
My Country: Greece
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 15
Default Re: Corsair TX-750 problem with finding component

First of all thanks for the fast reply, i appreciate that! No i did not see that but i needed to find first the ic and then watch around the board for other component defects. Hmm you mean the little one next to the rectifier capacitor?(big one) do you know the value for this too?
johnis82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2021, 09:06 AM   #4
johnis82
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
City & State: Florina
My Country: Greece
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 15
Default Re: Corsair TX-750 problem with finding component

victorcas Do you have a schematic diagram for your PSU?
johnis82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2021, 05:42 PM   #5
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 7,995
Default Re: Corsair TX-750 problem with finding component

The top of the ic was likely still in the case somewhere, did you check? Check the trace side of the board, if it is a TNY278pn, pins 5~8 (source) are connected together.

Last edited by R_J; 11-06-2021 at 06:04 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2021, 01:09 AM   #6
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 118-127V 59-63.5 Hz-> actualizo: pérdido de voltaje
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6,029
Default Re: Corsair TX-750 problem with finding component

IIRC, I have a later TX (TX850M) with much better cap choices.

IIRC, that one doesn't look better than a later CX, cap-wise.
__________________
ASRock B550 PG Velocita

Ryzen 5 "Vermeer" 5600X

16 GB G. Skill Ripjaws V F4-3200C14D-16GVR

Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 6600 XT

eVGA Supernova G3 750W

Samsung 970 Pro 512 GB NVMe SSD




"¡Me encanta "Me Encanta o Enlistarlo con Hilary Farr"!" -mí mismo

"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Today's lesson in pissivity comes in the form of a ziplock baggie full of GPU extension brackets & hardware that for the last ~3 years have been on my bench, always in my way, getting moved around constantly....and yesterday I found myself in need of them....and the bastards are now nowhere to be found! Motherfracker!!" -Topcat

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747

Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 11-07-2021 at 01:11 AM..
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2021, 08:37 AM   #7
victorcas
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
City & State: Málaga
My Country: España
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 12
Default Re: Corsair TX-750 problem with finding component

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnis82 View Post
First of all thanks for the fast reply, i appreciate that! No i did not see that but i needed to find first the ic and then watch around the board for other component defects. Hmm you mean the little one next to the rectifier capacitor?(big one) do you know the value for this too?
No, I have no idea... It seems to be a 1/2W resistor with a 1% tolerance. It may be used for current measurement. The value is impossible to read. It looks something like "green - brown - ? - ? - brown". You can check it with a multimeter to see if it is actually broken.

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnis82 View Post
victorcas Do you have a schematic diagram for your PSU?
No. It is almost impossible to find a schematic of a modern power supply, especially the Corsair ones. I think the only way to find out the broken components is to compare it to another Corsair PSU.

That power supply seems to have a single layer PCB, so you can follow the traces and try to draw a schematic. With that, you might be able to find compatible components.
victorcas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2021, 10:14 AM   #8
johnis82
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
City & State: Florina
My Country: Greece
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 15
Default Re: Corsair TX-750 problem with finding component

Thanks for the info guys i'll open it again and see if i can find anything.
Thanks again for your time
johnis82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:33 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?