Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > General Electronics Technical Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-16-2021, 03:30 PM   #1
DarinC
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
City & State: Walla Walla, WA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Reusing power supply from HP LaserJet RM1-5315

I'd like to repurpose this power supply into another project. Could someone give me tips on what to connect to get it to power on. I assumed it would be simple like turning on an ATX (connecting green to ground) but I haven't figured it out yet.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 512hjBkY2cL._AC_SL1000_.jpg (39.2 KB, 34 views)
DarinC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2021, 06:21 PM   #2
DarinC
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
City & State: Walla Walla, WA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: Reusing power supply from HP LaserJet RM1-5315

I guess its not as simple as I would have imagined
DarinC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2021, 06:24 PM   #3
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 7,995
Default Re: Reusing power supply from HP LaserJet RM1-5315

Based on the picture you provided (from amazon) there is no way to tell. Post clear hi res pictures of both sides of YOUR board and we may be able to trace the circuit.
There are two optocouplers on this board, one is likely for power supply feedback regulation, the other one could be the one that powers on the supply.

Last edited by R_J; 12-23-2021 at 06:38 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2021, 07:32 PM   #4
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 2,474
Default Re: Reusing power supply from HP LaserJet RM1-5315

The PC board has text labels for the wires, such as "3.3V" and "REMO" on the small connector...
I don't think it ever really shuts off? Unless it goes into some low voltage mode like Canon printers.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2022, 11:25 AM   #5
faraday28
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Jakarta Pusat
My Country: Indonesia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12
Default Re: Reusing power supply from HP LaserJet RM1-5315

Yes you can power this up, but once you plug the Line Input it will running, there is no standby mode. Standby mode in printer usually only on the main board, the power supply is actually running 100% but it doesn't draw much because the main board goes to standby mode.

Attached picture for explanation what parts on your power supply.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 512hjBkY2cL._AC_SL1000_.jpg (217.2 KB, 10 views)
faraday28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:29 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?