Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Power Supplies and Power Supply Design
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2021, 02:48 PM   #1
shelby5041
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
My Country: united states of america usa
Posts: 1,402
Default Dc power supply in cnc not working

Hi
I hsve a cnc mill that uses a dc power supply that outputs 12vdc and 42vdc

Last time i used machine no issues..about 1yr ago

I used it today and i somehow dont have 42v output from ps...the 42v output is only measuring 1.4v

12v output is good

Can someone assist me?

Due to design im not able to remove ps currently

See photos...i have 3 machines use same ps i posted 2 pics for better views
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2021-08-27 16.44.04.jpg (1.30 MB, 38 views)
File Type: jpg 2021-08-27 16.53.45.jpg (1.50 MB, 32 views)
File Type: jpg 20210811_140444.jpg (916.0 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg 20210804_113905.jpg (543.0 KB, 25 views)
File Type: jpg 20210804_164922.jpg (1.00 MB, 21 views)

Last edited by shelby5041; 08-27-2021 at 03:19 PM..
shelby5041 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2021, 04:54 PM   #2
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 7,086
Default Re: Dc power supply in cnc not working

Well, you'll need to do some tracing.

Do you get voltage across the big capacitor at least?
Looks like wire colors are reused quite frequently making it tough to trace wires without having the device in hand...
eccerr0r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2021, 05:03 PM   #3
shelby5041
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
My Country: united states of america usa
Posts: 1,402
Default Re: Dc power supply in cnc not working

I havent tried
Would i just multimeter to test at the red black wires at the screw terminals going to the large blue cap?

Like i said i have 3 diff machines with exact same ps configuration so comparing will be possible during troubleshooting

Just the 1 machine is not getting 42v anymore
shelby5041 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2021, 05:54 PM   #4
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 7,086
Default Re: Dc power supply in cnc not working

Can only guess there's some sort of switch on the other side of that pcb but without data, no idea.
eccerr0r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2021, 06:06 PM   #5
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,213
Default Re: Dc power supply in cnc not working

i only see one bridge rectifier so guessing the 12v is derived from the 42v . says to me it might be simple like a poor connection . or a short .

Last edited by petehall347; 08-27-2021 at 06:28 PM..
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2021, 06:26 PM   #6
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,425
Default Re: Dc power supply in cnc not working

remove the screws holding the board to the cap and flip it over
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2021, 06:41 PM   #7
shelby5041
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
My Country: united states of america usa
Posts: 1,402
Default Re: Dc power supply in cnc not working

I will test voltage across the large cap and then maybe try remove board if i can tomorrow

The thing is im not comfortable with large capacitors and electronics in general...so i may not try and remove it....there is,really nothing much on other side of board from what i can see ..though.there are 3 transistor looking components that are mounted to aluminum heat sinks

As i said the 12v output is ok
Just no 42v output as it should be...measures only 1.4v

Last edited by shelby5041; 08-27-2021 at 06:49 PM..
shelby5041 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2021, 09:51 PM   #8
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 7,086
Default Re: Dc power supply in cnc not working

Sorry we need to see what the items on the other side is so we can reverse engineer it, unless you can find the schematics to your device... What may look like a transistor could be an IC.
eccerr0r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2021, 02:33 AM   #9
shelby5041
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
My Country: united states of america usa
Posts: 1,402
Default Re: Dc power supply in cnc not working

I understand..ill see what i can do

Schematics not avail..machine proprietary and 25yrs old

Compsny was bought out no info avail from new compsny

...thank you

Last edited by shelby5041; 08-28-2021 at 02:35 AM..
shelby5041 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2021, 04:19 AM   #10
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Some times Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: Dc power supply in cnc not working

Does the output from the transformer go to 42 volt board first or does it go to the 12 volt board first

Because I noticed that the 42 volt board has diodes in the upper right hand corner I would check those diodes first

Second where is the 12 volts coming from is from the 42 volt board or somewhere else
__________________
9 PC LCD Monitor
6 LCD Flat Screen TV
30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
1 Dell Mother Board
15 Computer Power Supply
1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *


These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board ( VFD Failure Five Years Later )
2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2021, 05:56 AM   #11
shelby5041
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
My Country: united states of america usa
Posts: 1,402
Default Re: Dc power supply in cnc not working

Thanks..the 12v and 42v both output on the board with the huge cap

Everything starts at the large donut shaped transformer
shelby5041 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2021, 07:17 AM   #12
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Some times Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: Dc power supply in cnc not working

Does it have two separate winding on 12 volts and one for 42 volts if it does then look at diodes for the main filtering capacitor on that board because if you do not have any voltage on that capacitor then this would be the first place to check but make sure that your 42 volt winding has ac voltage on the secondary winding

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 08-28-2021 at 07:20 AM..
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2021, 07:24 AM   #13
shelby5041
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
My Country: united states of america usa
Posts: 1,402
Default Re: Dc power supply in cnc not working

hi samsam
i do not know sorry

i will check the voltage on the large blue cap today

if you look at the large donut transformer it has multple wires coming out of it..the yellow and orange go to the 12v side of the capacitor board and the red black goes to the 42v side of the cap board ..im not into electronics but to me it seems the large transformer is outputting 2 diff voltages..is this possible?

i guess if i get good voltages from the cap the issue will be on the cap board..if i get no or low voltages from the large cap then i would imagine the issue could be with the transofrmer or rectifier?

Last edited by shelby5041; 08-28-2021 at 07:42 AM..
shelby5041 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2021, 07:33 AM   #14
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Some times Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: Dc power supply in cnc not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by shelby5041 View Post
hi samsam
i do not know sorry

i will check the voltage on the large blue cap today

if you look at the large donut transformer it has multple wires coming out of it..the yellow and orange go to the 12v side of the capacitor board and the red black goes to the 42v side of the cap board ..im not into electronics but to me it seems the large transformer is outputting 2 diff voltages..is this possible?
Yes this is possible and it done all time thanks for letting me know that it does have two different winding for each voltage

Like I said earlier I would first check and see if you have ac voltage on the 42 volt winding from the transformer if you do then check the diodes with a volt meter on diode test and make sure that you do not have any open or shorted diodes for the main filtering capacitor input if you have voltage on the capacitor then you need to trace where the voltage goes from there on that board and figure out where you lost the voltage
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2021, 08:14 AM   #15
shelby5041
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
My Country: united states of america usa
Posts: 1,402
Default Re: Dc power supply in cnc not working

Maybe good news...i have 45v at large cap so that means trans and rectifier good
shelby5041 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2021, 08:26 AM   #16
shelby5041
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
My Country: united states of america usa
Posts: 1,402
Default Re: Dc power supply in cnc not working

Here is pic
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20210828_102522.jpg (611.5 KB, 15 views)
shelby5041 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2021, 09:44 AM   #17
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,425
Default Re: Dc power supply in cnc not working

that board looks almost new! even the molex pinstrips are the latest type!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2021, 10:26 AM   #18
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Some times Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: Dc power supply in cnc not working

Now the question is where are you losing the 42 volts at you need to trace the circuit on the board and see where you lost the voltage at
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2021, 12:05 PM   #19
shelby5041
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
My Country: united states of america usa
Posts: 1,402
Default Re: Dc power supply in cnc not working

Lol...not new but high quality made in usa board

25yrs old

Its an old school board so im pretty confident its repairable

Last edited by shelby5041; 08-28-2021 at 12:10 PM..
shelby5041 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2021, 12:06 PM   #20
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 7,086
Default Re: Dc power supply in cnc not working

It looks like at this point all of the "transistors" on the board are indeed ICs. The 12V is using a 7812 IC and 42V *appears* to be regulated by a LM338 - which like the LM317 is actually limited to 33-ish volts. So this IC actually being operated out of range though it's valid to run it this way.

So since the red and black wire terminals on the big blue capacitor is getting the 45-ish volts, you probably need to replace the LM338. These die readily when operating above 30V.

That is if you don't have a short somewhere else which caused the LM338 to die in the first place. This is your #1 priority, then replace the LM338. Goes without saying, make sure the resistors didn't fuse but they should be allright.

Last edited by eccerr0r; 08-28-2021 at 12:11 PM..
eccerr0r is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:54 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?